We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised would be an understatement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gachi House of Sushi

Gachi House of Sushi
BWI airport terminal A, Bwi Thurgood Marshall Airport Pier a & B, Ellicott City, MD 21240
(410) 859-4250
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 139 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Walpole, NH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Surprised would be an understatement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Sushi and airport are not normally things one associates with something good. It was right next to my gate, I had an hour to kill and I was hungry. The sushi bar was full, but there were nearby tables and a counter to order. I looked in the refrigerator case, the fish looked fresh and the people happily eating the maki rolls seemed pretty happy, so I took a chance. In short this was really good sushi. The special rolls were creative (I had trouble deciding), the salmon sushi was cut perfectly and melted in my mouth. If this sushi bar were in my town I would be a regular. It was really, really good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BWI's Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

BWI's hidden gem. If you pause for a moment and think "airport sushi?" just get over it and grab a seat. This is the tops, no kidding. Fresh and wonderful. Well worth the walk to Concourse A from B or C. And the only way you can get here is if you are inside the terminal holding a boarding pass, so you're in an exclusive club. Maybe worth routing your trip through BWI just for this. On terminal B, they have a shop with pre-packed. It is also very good if you don't have time to get to the restaurant. Concourse A also has breakfast - way better than burger doodle. Try it you'll like it.

My favorites are the Crispy Soft Shell Imperial, Spicy Tuna Trio, and Georgetown Roll, but it's always a tough decision.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crytsal Lake, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Sushi (And a Real "Destination")”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I just had a 3 hour layover in Baltimore airport and my boss and I were starving. Gachi was right across from our arrival gate and we decided to "risk" it. Boy, I sure do wish I had a lot of reasons to fly through BWI. Their outlet in Terminal A is where they make all the sushi and it has a few seats at the sushi bar. Terminal B has a grab and go, but the stuff is still made fresh and whisked over there. I found out they just have been ASKED to build another one in Terminal D. That is how good this stuff is. Also, the proprietor, Budi, is a delight. If you get a chance to talk to him, ask him his story about coming to America and starting this business. He is a delight!

A couple of examples of WHY it is so good: He gets the fish fresh daily from a small fishing port near Baltimore. He prides himself on making the all-important sushi rice perfectly. His masago nigiri (flying fish roe) is a lovely presentation of three different kinds/colors. His trio of tuna is delicious. Everything I saw come across the counter looked a good step above your standard sushi restaurant. The prices for his sushi were good (in airport restaurant terms) but his alcohol prices were a little high. That was not enough to stop me from ordering two.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Satisfying for a Fast Food Grab 'n Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I did not have time to enjoy the sit-down restaurant in Terminal A but did have time to try the Gachi Grab 'n Go location in Terminal B. My selection was the caterpillar roll with cooked shrimp and a side of seaweed salad. It was all quite fresh and very tasty. The price was reasonable as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sushi to-go or dine-in? Breakfast, lunch, dinner or on board snack?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

In a sea of burritos, bagels and other sundry unhealthy options emerges Gachi House of Sushi at Terminal A @ BWI! A swank little oasis awaits you in the middle of changing planes to transform your travel experience. No longer do you have to scarf down a plain, rubber bagel smothered in cream cheese to hide the fact it doesn’t taste of anything other than carbs you don’t need. I am happy to tell you that you now have a viable choice…breakfast sushi, smoked salmon, egg and cheese, or the trademark “Frushi”(fruit sushi)…made with salmon, cream cheese, cucumber, mango, kiwi, escolar and caviar (for breakfast no less!) . Or if on the other hand it is a midday flight or early evening flight and you find yourself with a longer than usual layover, stop by the trendy sushi bar and taste a broad range of sake with a little miso soup. Of course if you are on the go, there are prepared sushi and edamame for your inflight gastronomic delight. Give it a go, you’ll never stop at one of those get me through this flight kiosks again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gachi House of Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Gachi House of Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gachi House of Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.