We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of B&O Railroad Station Museum

B&O Railroad Station Museum
2711 Maryland Avenue, Ellicott City, MD 21043
410-461-1944
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A holiday exhibit of model trains is found at this rail museum in Ellicott City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I took my family to the B&O Museum and was not impressed. It began with a poorly designed parking lot. Patrons enter and exit through the same exact door. The facility is not conducive for access to disabled persons. Many of the exhibits are poorly set up for entrance and exit (again same exact doors are used). Overall not worth the price of admission.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little Museum Packs a Punch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

great little museum to get a real feel for the history of the B&O rail and this historic train stop. Lots to see and read. Learned alot. Cute little gift shop. Around the holidays- they add in a model train garden. Great for young and young at heart. It is located in an old, historic building- (the actual train station) so there are some steep steps which could be challenging for some. We spent about an hour or so.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ellicott City Train Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to take small ones. Model trains abound and kids can crawl around old caboose. Good way to spend some time with those that are into Thomas the Tank. B & O members pay nothing, but adults $6.00 and kids are $4.00.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“So much there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Extremely educational. The docents were eager to tell about every aspect of the history of the station. Don't miss the HO layout in the freight building, as it is a replica of the B&O from Mount Clair (Baltimore) to Ellicott City, or the caboose behind the old turntable. The current "trains go to war" exhibit was excellent, as was the telegraph room.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were killing time before the Red Sox / Orioles game and decided to go to the B&O Railroad Museum. We weren't sure our 10 year old grandson would appreciate the history and beauty of the old railcars.... boy were we surprised! He had a great time! The museum encourages the young ones to climb, touch, push buttons, and use their imaginations! More than once we caught him entranced in his own world while serving as 'conductor' on one of the many railcars on display! Bravo on such a great museum! And, THANK YOU, for the complimentary admission for my husband and I (we're military retirees).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B&O Railroad Station Museum also viewed

 

Been to B&O Railroad Station Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&O Railroad Station Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.