We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant afternoon away from the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patapsco Valley State Park

Patapsco Valley State Park
8020 Baltimore National Pike, Ellicott City, MD 21043
410-461-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Severn, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A pleasant afternoon away from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I moved to Maryland two summers ago and have enjoyed Patapsco immensely. My first experience was on a 10 mile trail run that took us up hills, along a river, over bridges and along history. The scenery certainly made for a relaxing and enjoyable run among the trees. Since the first time I went I've returned to hike and bike as well. The park is always clean with the facilities kept up well making for a great afternoon out. I'd recommend Patapsco to anyone wanting a slice of Maryland without having to drive too far from DC or Baltimore.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Country Setting Close to City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you are looking for a natural country park setting with the added bonus of a picturesque river, Patapsco Valley State Park is a good choice. Nice and varied hiking/walking trails, an old-fashioned pedestrian cable suspenion bridge, and many picnicking/recreation areas. Throw in the bonus of loads of historical places from the first chartered railroad in America (the B&O) to the ruins of several private "finishing" schools dating from the 1800s and you have a unique park. And all of it located less than 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Facilities at the Park's several accesses vary, but are generally adequate for your family needs. All in all, a nice alternative to traveling hours to find a rural country setting. Side factoid: the Park was the setting for most of the shooting of "The Blair Witch Project". You will not find the house associated with the movie, though: it was torn down for safety reasons.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very nice for a walk in the woods in thr middle of an urban/suburban area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pock a fine weather day ad you'll enjoy climbing up and over paths and trails.Sounds of teh stream and wildflowers adds to the enjoyment

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good park but be careful there are copperheads!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have hiked here on a few occasions with my family. Kids liked the easy hiking trails but be careful as there are copperheads! The Fall foliage is beautiful here and there are lots of areas to run and play.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Know your neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I mountain bike, trail, run, and hike here at least fours days a week. I bought my house within a two mile drive or ride from the park. There are two swinging bridges, multiple waterfalls, and well marked trails that are easy to follow. There are also pavilions your can rent through the park service.

I sell Real Estate in the area and find clients that have lived here for years and never knew this was right in there own back yard!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patapsco Valley State Park also viewed

 

Been to Patapsco Valley State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patapsco Valley State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.