We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Motel is Awful/ Disgusting/ Scary--Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World

Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicott City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World
Save
You added Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World to your Saves list
8074 Baltimore National Pike, Ellicott City, MD 21043   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This Motel is Awful/ Disgusting/ Scary--Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the WORST MOTEL that I have ever visited. After driving for hours and arriving very late I pulled over hoping for a restful sleep and experienced the total opposite. Unfortunately, I was driving with a child and couldn't afford to continue looking. The clerk was friendly but that didn't make up for the awful conditions.
This place is old and outdated/ small, dirty, dingy rooms with an old television set that didn't work. Small outdated dingy bathrooms- wouldn't dare use the towels! Very cold room/ heat didn't work- very uncomfortable place.
The door didn't seem very secure- I called the front desk that night and several times that morning-- no answer. I had to get the handy man to go and wake the manager after waiting in the office over five minutes ringing the bell to no avail. This place should not be in business.

The place should be checked for Violations by the State. It appears to be something from the dark ages. I would never go near this place again and would advise all others to avoid if you do not wish to suffer.
V.T.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

it was close to the m3 festival. it was late and there was one room left. a room we were told hadnt been remodeled as the other ones. so for $62 a night, we figured, we needed showers and rest. anyway... visible mold. no clean towels. floor was giving way in one area. broken drawers. shower nozzle had low water pressure as if it hadnt been replaced in 25 yrs. piece of random material used as a makeshift curtain. burned out lightbulbs. so gross. housekeeping never showed.we are at comfort inn now and for about $20 more per night i am thrilled.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ellicott City hotels

Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here while traveling through on our bikes. The staff was friendly and the room decor was nice, but the room was a little dirty (old food in refrigerator, unemptied trash and some kind of straw on the floor). The toilet ran very slowly to the point where we thought it was broken, and since they only had one maintenance person for all of the hotel (who was busy helping out with other things) we never got it looked at while we stayed there.

There are not many accommodations in this area and this is by one of the cheapest deals you can get in the NE-Baltimore area cost-wise; just keep in mind you get what you pay for at this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I'm local to the area and this place has a bad reputation. However, I recently needed a room in my price range so I gave it a try. I paid $56 for one of the deluxe room, such as it was. It was small and a little run down but very clean and because my room was towards the back, it was quiet. I slept well and the water pressure in the shower was fine. The room could have used more than one lamp because it was quite dark. I wouldn't go there with kids because there is nothing to do except sit on the bed and watch tv. A state park is super close but you can't enjoy it from the motel because there are no balconies and windows are small.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road towards the back. The deluxe rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Budget price (must ask for and insist on it) best for one/two persons--no frills. Clean rooms, but arrive/call early for best results.
Nice check-in lady--works with customers.
Rooms have unique motiffs representing various world destinations.
Has front entrance room near bed with a cute table and chairs.
Downside: Air Conditoning/fan may not work. Basic showers--no tubs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World

Address: 8074 Baltimore National Pike, Ellicott City, MD 21043
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicott City
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Patapsco ST. Park ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.