We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb pizzas, okay service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coal Fire Pizza

Coal Fire Pizza
5725 Richards Valley Rd,, Ellicott City, MD
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 143 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Superb pizzas, okay service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I had eaten carry-out pizza from here about a year ago, but with a Living Social deal that required us to dine in (the deal promises a "Slice of Pizza," but if I am not mistaken, you receive $10 or $20 worth of food for $5 or $10), we decided to give the actual restaurant a try.

The wait was outrageous, even if it was a Saturday night. We had planned to have to wait, but since we arrived super early (before 5 p.m.), we thought we might find some empty booths. Nope. The bar was empty, though. Stupid restrictions on the Living Social deals...

Once we were seated, we decided that pizza was going to be our preferred fare, as it is the signature item here. Some tips, courtesy of our server: 1. The signature sauce is the best topping for the pizza-a combination of sweet and spicy. "Spicy" is really spicy. The "sweet" option is not very tasty. Go with signature, but choose some spicier toppings. I had the banana peppers and spicy sausage with the signature sauce. Yum!!! 2. The smallest size is good enough for 1-2 people. 3. Eat the pizza in-house; do not order carry-out. It is hotter and more "fresh" when you eat in the restaurant. Definitely a noticeable difference in quality.

The only complaint we had all night was the shotty service we received. The waitress was friendly and helpful, but we hardly saw her. One of her other tables was so frustrated that they asked to see the manager! We also needed to speak to the manager at one point, but it was due to our haste; we needed to make it to a movie by a certain time, and we got stuck waiting for the bill for nearly 15 minutes. Not cool.

Definitely worth a visit for the pizza, but beware of the slow service. Do not arrange to do something immediately after, or you will cut it close!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really yummy pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Fun little pizza joint! The thin-crust grilled pizza with the 'signature' sauce and specialty toppings was delicious! Great service too! They offer a full bar! Wine list is available, just a bit limited. Salad dressing was terrific- garlicy and slightly sweet. They should skip the 2 canned black olives they put on the salad plate; they didn't add anything. I really enjoyed this little place and will return.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Really Great Thin Crust Pizza...Best in Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We ate outside, but what a wonderful pizza restaurant. We had a Margarita pizza that was superb as well as a turkey sandwich which was great. Really fun place. We'll be back. The inside dinning are was very family friendly and very nicely done. The bar was pretty small but they had a fine beer and wine list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sit In The Bar Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

A small bar with a few tables. Sitting is limited, but the service is great & no kids. The calamari, the wings & pizza very good or better. Happy hour prices makes this even a better value, but you must be sitting in the bar area.. The pizza is half price & the drink prices are greatly reduced. Nice selection of beer & wine, but only two beers on tap. The pizza also reheats nicely a day or two later.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The pizza's pretty good altho sometimes comes out a bit on the scorched side. Avoid the wings - they're dreadful.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coal Fire Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Coal Fire Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coal Fire Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.