We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under cooked food!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Portalli's

Portalli's
8085 Main St, Ellicott City, MD 21043-4649
410-720-2330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Portalli's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 124 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: This is a new Italian restaurant that opened in the former Jordan's Steakhouse. I believe it's been open since December or so. I dined there last night and it was wonderful. This is a fine-dining restaurant.
Catonsville
1 review
“Under cooked food!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well got gift certificates from boss for xmas.. decided to go yesterday..beautiful day, out taking in all the shopping and decided to get some dinner. Ambiance (nothing to write home about..cob webs right above our table..started with cocktails..no Budweiser (oh no fiance's fav) settled for a Yeungling.. order appetizer crab/corn soup was excellent..Arancini was cold in the middle..not supposed to be! had to send back.. decided to order a bottle of wine with dinner.. didn't have first selection oops! not good...dinner came Filet Mignon good but not great! Crabcake supposed to broiled, was not cooked all the way thru..looked like it was albino ( all white) . no flavor.. the sauce that came with it was a terrible compliment.. didn't want to take chance with dessert!
Got the check they gracisouly removed the appetizer and crab cake dinner..would not go back..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    45
    29
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Easter Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We decided to try out Portalli's for the first time for Easter Brunch. Overall things were pretty good. The service was great. The bottomless Bloody Marys and Mimosas were nice (for about $5 extra.) The only complaints we hard were that the main buffet is on the bottom level so you have to go up and down a narrow set of steps a lot. Food wise the omelets were excellent, most of the stuff on the buffet was pretty good except the French toast was extremely hard. They kept the buffet well stocked. The only complaint about the selection was that my wife expected that an Italian restaurant would have at least one pasta dish on the buffet. We will probably try them for dinner in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had dinner here last night and have been many times before. They have great salads and reasonably priced entrees for nice upscale restaurant. Service was also very attentive. It was around 6:30 on Saturday night, a little more than half full. We had spinach salads with a glass of wine each, followed by Ciopinno past dish for me and salmon with crab for TDW. Both were excellent and not too much. We will definitely keep coming here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious ravioli!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The appetizers and entrees were delicious! I highly recommend the ravioli with blue cheese sauce. The appetizers were also very fresh and well prepared. The service was okay. Although it was a Sunday and not busy, the server rushed us and kept taking away our plates or attempted to take our plates before we were done eating. The food made up for the service and I would definitely visit this place again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality food in a quality setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good food, wonderful location, good service! Nice Italian restaurant - a safe choice for any one and any occasion. Will return again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portalli's also viewed

 

Been to Portalli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portalli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.