We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Absolutely Worse Place I Ever Stayed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Elkridge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Elkridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Elkridge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5895 Bonnie View Ln., Elkridge, MD 21075   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Elkridge
Sykesville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Absolutely Worse Place I Ever Stayed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Where do I start to say how bad this place was. If they offered negative rating this place deserves one. I had a room roadside and you could hear the traffic and day & night. When I went to shower I found a neglige behind the bathroom door and no towels in the bathroom. When I went to the desk they gave me 1 towel and said they would deliver more. They never did. The next morning the breakfast was a joke. A small selection of the tiniest mini muffins I have ever seen (they were cute but not fit for a meal) and the smallest bagels on the face of the earth. They did not have cream for the coffee. Then to further compound the pain of the visit a made walked into my room without knocking. Management offered me a $10 refund. I accepted but it never posted to my credit card statement. To add insult to injury they did note it in the folio so I did not get the points for the $10. So I was actually penalized for my trouble. I have been a Choice Gold Elite member for 3 years but I am now rethinking my brand loyalty. I do enjoy the Choice Suites and I understand this is lower end but frankly this does not even meet the standards for a ghetto hotel. If it was an apartment complex the owner would be a slumlord.

Room Tip: Don't stay here but if you must insist on a room away from Route 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    3
    13
See reviews for
8
3
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The internet info,per the econo lodge site,says things about this motel that are'nt true..For example:It indicates that there are flat screen tv's in all of the rooms..There are None.They only have big fat tv's and a cable box,with nowhere to plug my ps3 to,for internet+games.*
THe site also states that a microwave+fridge is in all rooms..They are not..At the front desk,I was told that they are unable to move micro-fridges around and that,select rooms had them.The rooms are small,the construction of the parking lot is weird..I'm in town on Business,but was looking forward to the stated Amenities.It seems clean and quiet,no probs there..I would recommend this motel,just for a place to relax..just bring your own tv if you plan on using a ps3 or such..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My daughters and I stayed at this hotel one night between attending a Baltimore Orioles game and heading out to Delaware. I liked the location and the price was ok. Not super cheap, but acceptable. When we got there, it looked clean enough. Some construction was taking place. Parking spaces are somewhat limited. I had two front desk clerks, one apparently in training. The main man was very nice, and quickly checked us in. When we got to our room (which faced the road and had a slim walkway...so to park you had to either park on the side with only a few spaces, or on the opposite side of the motel. Not really a big deal. However, when we got to our room, it had not been cleaned yet (to be fair, we were an hour early.) I went back to the lobby, and explained what happened. The main front desk man disappeared for a while after explaining it. After waiting a bit, he gave us another room on the second floor. I really have no complaints about the room. It is a standard inexpensive hotel chain room. Nothing fancy but fine for a one night stay. However, what really was terrible was the next day at 'breakfast.' I have never in my many years of traveling ever had a more meager breakfast. I have had one that was worse, but never this meager. There were, literally, a choice of: muffins, bagel, or something resembling a biscuit. There was coffee, but NO MILK or half/half, creamers, etc. The different front desk guy would put out just a few things at a time, and they would quickly disappear every time someone else came in so there was virtually no food. And since I am restricting carbs, I had to go without food. At least it caused a fit of hysterics between myself and another woman staying there. My girls found it funny as well. Seriously, pathetic. Check out went fine. Just be forewarned to bring your own food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

7/2/2013 I often stay for business and found the experience to be really good. The rooms were clean and the staff was really friendly. Super fast internet and attentive check-in personnel who accommodated my every need. Good air cold/heat and secure area, I always feel safe.

Room Tip: Ice machine is located in breakfast area which is fine, its overseen by hotel staff. Mcdonalds, Burg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed in many rooms, but this was the worst hotel I have ever been to.

I can get over the fact it was incredible filthy (sheets had stains, shower had mold, cockroach in the corner) but there was a very loud drunken party outside my room that went on all night. I think one hour of sleep is all I got.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elkridge hotels

Boston, MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

After booking my room, I read the reviews and became scared to stay here. I was driving from Boston through DC though and the location and price were perfect for my route. So I stayed one night. It is right off a main drag, on a hill with parking out back. So some rooms over look the street and the others the parking lot. There are no interior hallways so in that way it is more like a small, two story motor inn. Everything in the room worked. The shower, tv, air conditioner, bed was fine, it was clean, no bugs, etc. So that was good. But it was indeed gross. Almost like, no matter how hard to clean, it will never look good. Sadly, I have to say that it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It is just unappealing in every way. And there is no way I would have drank the coffee. Breakfast is not at all worth your time. Just expect to grab breakfast somewhere else and you will be fine. It is doable, but definitely not a place I would go back to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

No room service.....Ice machine on ground floor only. .......... .......................... ..........................

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Elkridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Elkridge

Address: 5895 Bonnie View Ln., Elkridge, MD 21075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Elkridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Elkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Elkridge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Elkridge-BWI is limited service hotel ideally located just four miles from the Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport in Historic Elkridge, MD. Our hotel is just minutes from popular points of interest like the new Maryland Live! Casino at Arundel Mills Mall, the Inner Harbor in Baltimore, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Stadium, and Pimlico Race Course. Our property is also is very close proximity to numerous American historical sites such as Ft. Mchenry, B&O Railroad museum, Civil War Trails, the Thomas Viaduct, and Washington D.C. to name a few. Guests of this Elkridge, MD hotel are invited to enjoy a quiet retreat from the city in one of the most prominent counties in the country - Howard County. Amenities like the free continental breakfast, free wireless high-speed Internet access, and clean spacious guest rooms with over 200 channels of cable television. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards, coffee makers, and alarm clocks. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available. We also offer park & fly packages for our traveling guests at a fraction of BWI area parking lots. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Elkridge-BWI hotel provides friendly customer service, superior accommodations and affordable rates to anyone visiting in Baltimore area. Experience world-class hospitality at the lowest prices when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Elkridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkridge Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Elkridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.