We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Elkridge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Elkridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Elkridge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5895 Bonnie View Ln., Elkridge, MD 21075   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Elkridge
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

While the location of this hotel was convenient, and the staff were friendly, the rooms wer in poor shape. More specifically, the bathrooms were horrible. The first room we stayed in was dimly lit and the faucet on the tub did not work properly. We could not use the toilette at the same time the guests above were showering because there was a leak that dripped directly onto anyone sitting below! We requested another room during our stay and were given a room just as bad. The rooms need updating as well as the appliances inside. The Microwaves and refrigerators were so old, they worked only minimally. Also, if you are expecting the advertised "continental breakfast" you need to wake early (very early) and get there before the breakfast period ends. My husband and I went in plenty of time only to find one bagel and a muffin or two on a platter. We were extremely hungry and were looking forward to something good to eat...unfortunately the hotel failed miserably all around. If you are looking for a convenient location...this is your stop, anything else will require a drive a little closer to the airport for upgrades and comfort.

Room Tip: There is a discount for a multi-night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgebwi, General Manager at Econo Lodge Elkridge, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
We are sorry for the inconvenience that you and your husband experienced at our hotel. We are continuously working on our room condition. We have discovered the problem in the room you were given, and we have taken the initiative to resolve it.

In addition, we do check our appliances on a monthly basis and we do discard any appliances that can no longer be used. We continuously purchase new appliances and we will look into the microwave and refrigerator that were provided in your room.

As for our breakfast, we are currently in the process of renovating our lobby and we promise to have a wider selection for our guests. We have also spoken with our staff on this issue and they were retrained on how to re-fill breakfast items so our guest’s can have the best possible continental breakfast experience during our renovation.

-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    3
    13
See reviews for
8
3
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at!! We had reserved a room at this hotel for 4 nights. The room had HUGE bugs running everywhere when we turned on the lights. After calling the front desk to change rooms, they told us that they were typical for that area and there was nothing they can do about it. We had to go to the front desk and get a remote control for the TV because there was not enough remotes for every room in the hotel. The TV was turning on and off by itself all night long. There was no hair dryer, iron & ironing board, or trash cans in the room. The list could go on and on... needless to say, we checked out the next morning after the front desk did not respond to any of our concerns. I wouldnt even recommend this hotel to people I didnt like...It was that bad!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgebwi, General Manager at Econo Lodge Elkridge, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
We apologize for your unpleasant stay, however we were not aware of the concerns that you had when staying at our property. The bugs in the rooms are a part of the forest conservation area we are located in. We do suggest that our guests keep their room doors closed so the bugs will not have a chance to enter. In addition, most of the amenities that were missing from the room are available upon request from the front desk. We strive to please our guests in any way we can and we would like to resolve any issues our guests may bring to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elkridge hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I stayed at this hotel while I was attending a meeting for a few days. The rooms are not what the pictures on the website look like. They look new. I just wanted to stay at a comfortable, not so expensive place and this hotel worked for me. I did read the other reviews but my experience was different. My room was clean and the service was pleasant. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010 via mobile

Staying in not expensive hotels was regular part of our trip as hotels were just place for night between further driving. We already past couple cheap hotels close to New York that had bad reviews but overall were on decent side considering their price. Expectation for that hotel were the same - and it was huge mistake!!!
This hotel is wors place that I stayed in in my hall life so far.
On good side:
Not bad location (around 1 hour from Washington)
Reasonable price but still more expe sive then 2 other hotels we stayed close to New York.

Rest is bad (in an order of appirence):
Unplesent service in the lobby.
Small and smelly room.
Dirty beds with all sheets covered with wierd holes and spots of brown color.
Dirty towels and broken shower.
Room had microwave (that cheap kind I have not seen in my life) but worst part it was acting as it was working even so after 10 minutes!!! of use food was still cold!!!
And to finish up that killing combo I was not able sleep bexouse room had no insulation from busy outside traffic. In the midle of night I even checked if room had open or no windows at all.

To finalize: sleeping in car would be better choice than using that motel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

It was by far my worst lodging experience thus far. they charged a decent rate, but there was no coffeemaker in the room. I booked the room on the internet, and the info was misleading, because it stated that accommodations included a fridge and a microwave. That was not true, as the microwave is in the lobby. I had to contend with bugs, and the curtains did not adequately provide for privacy. Compare them to the ramada, where for the same rate, a fridge, a microwave are both in the room, and there is a fitness center. I will NEVER stay at an econolodge again.

Stayed April 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I would call this place a fleabag...but that would be disrespectful to fleas. It was abysmal... in every way. Even for an Econolodge, this place was horrible.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgebwi, General Manager at Econo Lodge Elkridge, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for any problems you faced at our hotel. Our property is located right off a few major highways and gives you quick access to Baltimore and Washington D.C. Our rates our very competitive and we give a great value for the amenities that we offer and the location that we are in.

Our front desk staff is friendly and courteous and any unpleasant service from our staff is unacceptable. As for our rooms, we attempt to fix any maintenance or housekeeping issue as it is brought to us. We give our guests clean towels and sheets for their room and we replace any amenity that has a problem. We would like to serve you better on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We knew we'd be arriving late and this was just a stopover before continuing on early the next morning. So I was looking for a cheap place with clean sheets, and a working shower and room heater. I got all 3. Once in the room I realized I needed one other basic feature - a working in room phone - which I didn't get. I could call the front desk, but they couldn't call me and I could reach no other numbers. So, since I got 3 out of 4, you might think there is nothing or little to complain about. Well, the rest of the room was horrible. First, the mysterious red stain on the toilet tank cover (blood, mascara?). Next, the shower curtain rod that wasn't secured to the wall completely so fell out during my shower. While we're in the bathroom, there was the rust stain in the bathtub; and, while there was working ceiling light fixture, there was a huge rusting hole in the ceiling where the previous fixture was. In the main room there was the exposed 2x4 top of the kickwall next to the sink. The finial of my headboard was dangling. Half of the mirror moulding was missing. And the top drawer of the dresser was broken.
Why didn't I ask for a different room? Because I was too tired after a long day's drive and, as I mentioned at the beginning the room met my very basic requirements, with the exception of the phone (which the front desk helped me work around).

  • Liked — Price, convenience to highway
  • Disliked — Condition of room; no breakfast selection, though one was promised
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkridge
Pets Allowed, B...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport
Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washi...
#10 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baltimore Washington Airport
Free Breakfast...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, P...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BW Parkway
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia East - Elkridge
Free Parking, M...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Ramada BWI Airport/Arundel Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Elkridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Elkridge

Address: 5895 Bonnie View Ln., Elkridge, MD 21075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Elkridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Elkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Elkridge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Elkridge-BWI is limited service hotel ideally located just four miles from the Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport in Historic Elkridge, MD. Our hotel is just minutes from popular points of interest like the new Maryland Live! Casino at Arundel Mills Mall, the Inner Harbor in Baltimore, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Stadium, and Pimlico Race Course. Our property is also is very close proximity to numerous American historical sites such as Ft. Mchenry, B&O Railroad museum, Civil War Trails, the Thomas Viaduct, and Washington D.C. to name a few. Guests of this Elkridge, MD hotel are invited to enjoy a quiet retreat from the city in one of the most prominent counties in the country - Howard County. Amenities like the free continental breakfast, free wireless high-speed Internet access, and clean spacious guest rooms with over 200 channels of cable television. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards, coffee makers, and alarm clocks. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available. We also offer park & fly packages for our traveling guests at a fraction of BWI area parking lots. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Elkridge-BWI hotel provides friendly customer service, superior accommodations and affordable rates to anyone visiting in Baltimore area. Experience world-class hospitality at the lowest prices when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Elkridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkridge Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Elkridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.