We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated ! Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7146 Old Waterloo Rd, Elkridge, MD 21075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Elkridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underrated ! Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Wanted to have a weekend getaway in a suite at reasonable cost. Comfort are definitely under rated and found a new customer!! The service is courteous and professional. The room was amazing for the price!! I loved the hot tub (in room) and the layout of the suite. The only thing I would change is the tv in bedroom(not flat screen but flat screen in living room). Other than that Comfort Suites has 4 stars with me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
25
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were on a long road trip and I had not made reservations because we were not sure how far we would want to travel each day. At 9:00 pm. as we were getting tired, I checked Trip Advisor reviews on my phone for the Baltimore area. The first few hotels all were so expensive and then I read the review for this Comfort Suites and it is a wonderful gem. You can see it from the interstate but getting there is another story. It is necessary to twist and wind through a residential development to get there.However, once there, we were met by great staff, very large and clean room with two large flat screens and a sitting area in our room.We had a comfy bed and quiet room. The breakfast was included the next morning. However, after looking over the selection of pastries and cereals, I asked if they had yogurt and I was brought a nice selection to choose from. We stayed in more expensive hotels during our trip but this was absolutely the best value for our money. Definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This property is a great value. Rooms are clean and spacious. Furniture and equipment is well maintained. Good wi-fi signal. The staff was courteous and helpful. The only drawback may be in the hotel being a bit tricky to locate. It's kind of off the beaten path. Because of this you will have to drive to find eateries and anyone who has been in Washington-Baltimore traffic at dinner time knows what that means. There is a good little Chinese deli across the way but be careful after dark. So pack a lunch and enjoy this great deal. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Probably the best $80 hotel I have ever stayed at. New, clean, and quiet albeit a strange place to get to, at least until their access road is built. A great option when traveling on Route 95 between Baltimore and Washington D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I got a room for $90, versus $140 for the Holiday Inn across the road which is old and noisy. The Comfort Inn is new, really clean, and really quiet. The only twist is it is really hard to find...you have to go North on Rt. 1 and enter the residential development, and follow that road around in a large CCW direction to get to the hotel. Best value around, for surer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently traveled on business to Howard County, MD and chose the Comfort Suites due to its location in the county. Unfortunately, the hotel was farther from Columbia than I expected and is in the very back of a residential neighborhood. That said, the hotel is very clean, the staff is kind and helpful, and it's a good price. I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Baltimore and we had a few necessities for the hotel: good price, free parking, free breakfast. I saw that this hotel had good reviews and it was just outside of the city. We booked a king suite with hot tub. The first impression was good - pretty standard hotel feel, but there were nice decorations and the check-in was quick and easy. We had a room on the first floor and for some reason the hallway smelled amazing. Like clean laundry.The pool was pretty small, but clean and heated. The room was great - very clean, the hot tub was in working order, 2 TV's (one flat, one standard), microwave, mini-fridge. The bed was quite firm, but we had no problem getting comfortable. The breakfast was good - we stayed for 2 days and the only change was the meat offering - ham the first day, sausage patties the 2nd day. They had coffee, juice, cereal, oatmeal, egg patties, meat, pastry, bread, bagels, croissants, waffle maker, fruit, yogurt... a wide variety. The location is about 3 minutes from the highway, 15 minutes from the harbor area of Baltimore. It's sort of strange, stuck in the back of a subdivision of townhouses. But it was quiet, no road noise to contend with. This hotel was half the price of anything in Baltimore and we were not bothered by the drive at all.

Room Tip: I can imagine the rooms by the pool wouldn't be the best, with a bit of chlorine smell and foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway Hotel
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway Hotel Elkridge
Comfort Suites Elkridge
Elkridge Comfort Suites
Columbia Gateway Comfort Suites
Address: 7146 Old Waterloo Rd, Elkridge, MD 21075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Elkridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Elkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway to your Saves list