We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, great price, hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7146 Old Waterloo Rd, Elkridge, MD 21075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Elkridge
NJ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel, great price, hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I got a room for $90, versus $140 for the Holiday Inn across the road which is old and noisy. The Comfort Inn is new, really clean, and really quiet. The only twist is it is really hard to find...you have to go North on Rt. 1 and enter the residential development, and follow that road around in a large CCW direction to get to the hotel. Best value around, for surer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    53
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
29
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently traveled on business to Howard County, MD and chose the Comfort Suites due to its location in the county. Unfortunately, the hotel was farther from Columbia than I expected and is in the very back of a residential neighborhood. That said, the hotel is very clean, the staff is kind and helpful, and it's a good price. I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Baltimore and we had a few necessities for the hotel: good price, free parking, free breakfast. I saw that this hotel had good reviews and it was just outside of the city. We booked a king suite with hot tub. The first impression was good - pretty standard hotel feel, but there were nice decorations and the check-in was quick and easy. We had a room on the first floor and for some reason the hallway smelled amazing. Like clean laundry.The pool was pretty small, but clean and heated. The room was great - very clean, the hot tub was in working order, 2 TV's (one flat, one standard), microwave, mini-fridge. The bed was quite firm, but we had no problem getting comfortable. The breakfast was good - we stayed for 2 days and the only change was the meat offering - ham the first day, sausage patties the 2nd day. They had coffee, juice, cereal, oatmeal, egg patties, meat, pastry, bread, bagels, croissants, waffle maker, fruit, yogurt... a wide variety. The location is about 3 minutes from the highway, 15 minutes from the harbor area of Baltimore. It's sort of strange, stuck in the back of a subdivision of townhouses. But it was quiet, no road noise to contend with. This hotel was half the price of anything in Baltimore and we were not bothered by the drive at all.

Room Tip: I can imagine the rooms by the pool wouldn't be the best, with a bit of chlorine smell and foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had been to this hotel a few years ago, and thought it was very nice. This trip was not so great. We remembered a hot tub and pool. There's still a small pool, but the hot tub is gone. When we were there, a family was having a very LOUD sleepover party at the hotel, and those kids took over the pool area. We only stayed in the pool about 15 minutes....that's all we could take. We were dismayed that that same family had the two rooms right beside ours. There was hollering in the hallway, banging of doors and noise until late that night, even though we spoke to the front desk about it. We had asked to change rooms, but evidently there were no others available. The A/C and fans in the room made a good bit of white noise, but it still couldn't drown out those kids

I also noticed that even though it's a non-smoking hotel, our rooms smelled of stale cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: Not sure what to say here....make sure there aren't any multi-room groups near you?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our overall experience at the Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway was greatly enhanced by John, who is the Front Desk attendant from 12Midnight to 8am. He consistently went above and beyond his call of duty to ensure that our stay was comfortable and all our needs were always met. Moreover, he did so with a smile on his face!

He was also creative and was thinking 'out of the box' while assisting us with our special needs. He is gracious, has a pleasant demeanor and is certainly in the right line of business given his personality!

I will be sure to recommend the Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway to Friends and Family and look forward to returning ourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I always use Choice Hotels if possible because of the excellent rewards program. I initially made a reservation at the Comfort Inn in Catonsville, MD. Upon arrival, I just wasn't comfortable with the location, just didn't look like a safe neighborhood.

This place was recommended by a friend because she thought it was in a better area. Turned out to be right! The location is actually secluded, and requires several left-hand turns through a residential neighborhood to get there. You will need to back-track out of the neighborhood to find dinner. Breakfast was typical Choice (wish they would replace the powdered eggs).

Very nice, large lobby area and soft chairs for conversations. Staff was efficient and offered an upgrade to the top floor with a jaccuzzi. Hotel appears to be equipped with a combination of flat-screen and conventional TV's, probably phasing them in. This place is VERY quiet, room was very clean, and the linen and bedding were fresh. Shower was easy to control and the pressure was adequate, even on the 4th floor.

Internet connection was fast enough for Netflix, which is my standard rating criterion. If it doesn't, I make a note and avoid the hotel in future.

$99.00 rate for AARP was lowest among the Choice group in the area. Would recommend without reservation.

Room Tip: Would assume any room would be quiet, due to the location of this hotel. There are no restaurants w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The person I talked to about the room before I booked online was very helpful. Told them we needed a pull out sofabed and they accommodated our request. Very nice hotel for the location, just about fifteen minutes drive from BWI. Not forgetting the hot free breakfast. Our suite was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway

Address: 7146 Old Waterloo Rd, Elkridge, MD 21075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Elkridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Elkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway Hotel Elkridge
Comfort Suites Elkridge
Elkridge Comfort Suites
Columbia Gateway Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.