We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold, musty odor, cobwebs, poor stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Edgewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Edgewood to your Saves list
Motel 6 Edgewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1709 Edgewood Road, Edgewood, MD 21040 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Invitation Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Edgewood
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mold, musty odor, cobwebs, poor stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Edgewood for a recent nearby sports tournamenet. I am a Best Western Rewards member and have stayed at other locations throughout the country but have to say, this was one of the worst locations we have experienced. There was mold on the wallpaper and floorboards between the 2 beds and on the springs of one of the beds; musty; moldy type odor. Cobwebs with spiders/bugs in the corner behind the front door. Mold in the bathroom shower No one was behind the front desk at check out time, around 11 am; Landscaping area outside of the hotel needed a lot of work - lots of weeds, heavy plant growth that needed to be cutback

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    8
    14
    23
See reviews for
28
12
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
keansburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

very well priced hotel , staff does try there best to be helpful and polite,. very easy to reach off route 24 in maryland, very nice mexican restruant with good mexican food and music. small area restruant near buy called my thre sods very good and low prices. gas station located right at turn toi hotel , nice pool.,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful, clean room (king room-non smoking). Had family member in another room with a six year old--not only did they put us side-by side rooms, but they gave us the pool side. :) Also, the pool was awesome--not many places have pools 9 feet deep and allow you to jump in! The staff was very helpful and willing to accomodate your every request. There is a restaurant on site--El Rodeo--which was also superior! I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We wanted a room for family visiting for the holiday. The room was dirty with black mold on the wall. The pool water was green and no one stopped the dogs from going into the pool area. The other guests around the pool were loud, used profanity and threatened to beat their children in front of us. Very shady characters hanging around in parking lot. Landscaping had not been done and grounds were dirty. Carpet was sticky. Clerk wasn't surprised when we cancelled but we had to go to corporate to get the cancellation number.
I can't believe that Best Western attaches its name to this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is ok. It's not the best or worse room I've ever been in. However the designer of the rooms must have believed "big things come in small packages." There was hardly enough room to move around inside the hotel room. Also the doors in the room squeaked like a haunted house door would. All in all it's an ok hotel, just remember. "If it doesn't say micro-machine it's not the real thing."

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped into this place after a long day in DC. We arrived at 1 am, and the room is disgusting. The chairs have a film on them from not being cleaned. The floors are dirty, and I could have done a better renovation on the bathroom. They are pet friendly , but they could stand to clean the rooms better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Friendly front desk staff. I was assigned a room with a king bed. When I got to the room, it was clear that someone else had been assigned the room. The bed was a mess and clothes were in the room. The front desk staff reduced my rate and reassigned me to a room with double beds. The AC temperature setting didn't work. The room needed some fixing up (dents in wall and cracks in ceiling). The place has a pool that I didn't use. There's a decent Mexican restaurant across the parking lot.

Room Tip: It's a crapshoot really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Edgewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Edgewood

Address: 1709 Edgewood Road, Edgewood, MD 21040 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Invitation Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Edgewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Edgewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Edgewood 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Edgewood MD is located at I-95 and SR 24. Dining and shops are nearby. Play golf or go to the beach, 4 miles. Reserve our meeting room. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and truck parking. All rooms include micro-fridges and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Edgewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewood
Edgewood Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Edgewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.