We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snapper soup heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters' Tavern

Hunters' Tavern
101 East Dover Street, Easton, MD 21601
410.822.1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Easton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Snapper soup heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Have the snapper soup! It's one of the few places that still makes this delicacy from scratch (Maryland turtles) and it's served all year round. Great fried green tomato appetizers, delicious gazpacho with crabmeat, tasty mussels, good burgers . . . and more. Hunters Tavern has a bit of everything for everyone. Located at the Tidewater Inn in historic, downtown Easton Hunters Tavern is where you go in Talbot County for consistently good food, good service and a lively bar scene.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Leave Room For Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Husband ordered soft-shell crab BLT (bacon over-powered the crab), and I had shrimp with grits (too soupy). The dishes were okay but we wouldn't order them again. The hot fudge sundae over brownie served in a Mason jar was delicious!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Vermont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly sophisticated menu and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The menu has some unusual takes on local favorites such as crab and Smith Island cake. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the restaurant and had an exceptionally good meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing flavorful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stoppped here on a Sunday evening on the way home to Virginia. We sat inside because it was a little warm out and we didn't want to sit on the patio (although the patio area was lovely). The service was great. Everyone was very attentive. The menu had lots of variety and all of it sounded delicious. It was very difficult for me to choose, which isn't usually the case. Finally decided upon the soft shell crabs. They didn't disappoint. My friend had the watermelon and crab salad, which was very creatively presented. She said it, too, was delicious. It wasn't too busy, but neither was the entire town. Most shops were closed by then, so there weren't too many people venturing out for dinner. I would highly recommend it and will probably stop in again next time I visit Easton.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great casual bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved that the hotel had a cozy bar area where you could meet friends and family without leaving the hotel!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters' Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Hunters' Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters' Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.