We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bartlett Pear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Easton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bartlett Pear Inn
Save
You added Bartlett Pear Inn to your Saves list
28 South Harrison St, Easton, MD 21601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Easton B&B and Inns
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Christmas trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I always stay at the Pear when I visit family in Easton. This visit over the Christmas holidays met the same high standards as my earlier visits. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our usual room which was immaculate. There were some new additions to the staff since my last stay. Aside from the bartender who was rather grumpy, the others surpassed my expectations -- professional, engaging, and most helpful. Although I was under the weather during part of my stay and couldn't enjoy the complementary breakfast every day, the two that I did have were outstanding. Delicious and beautifully presented. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
119
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Last year we had our anniversary dinner at the Bartlett Pear. This year we also stayed at the Inn for two nights, had our wonderful dinner there, and topped it off with a one-on-one sauce-making class conducted by Jordan Lloyd. The Inn is lovely -- quiet and spacious -- and perfectly clean (which is unusual for a B&B). The restaurant -- food, ambiance, service -- is on a par with the very best restaurants we go to in Washington DC, our hometown. It is Superior! The food is wonderful, without being pretentious, the staff is trained to anticipate the diners' wishes. Alice and Jordan are wonderful hosts. We'll be back -- as often as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are not B&B people, but we stayed at the Barlett Pear for the Waterfowl Festival because we could not find another place that would allow our large breed dog. Alice and the staff were very kind to our dog and to us. The location was perfect. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was nice. We decided to book again for next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forelle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As others have mentioned, the staff is exceptional. My husband and I were asked several times if our room was comfortable, warm enough, etc. We stayed in room #2. The room was nicer than the photo on their web site (was surprised at that). The bathroom, however, was 'cosy' with a pedestal sink which left a limited space for our toiletries. That was not a problem for us ... but you might chose another room if you want a larger bathroom. We were so comfortable at the Bartlett Pear that I attempted to enter our room without a key. The decor was not your typical 'grandmother's style,' but understated and lovely.

We had dinner in the bar because they were booked in the dining room. Our waiter, (Justin) was excellent, and our meal was great. Justin offered a lot of information on the various dishes and how they were prepared. He was very knowledgable about their wonderful wine selection. Don't miss dessert! Yum-O!

We may find ourselves back on the Eastern Shore in the not too distant future. While there are many B&B's in and around the area, don't bother to look beyond the Bartlett Pear. You won't regret the choice.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and lovely ... bathroom a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I could tell from the Internet pictures that this inn was cute, but I remained skeptical because sometimes inns look nicer on the web than they do in reality. Well, here's one inn that will surpass your expectations the minute you walk through the door!

The decor is chic, yet comfortable, with purples and grays throughout the first floor accented by artwork from local artists. Although "pear" is in the name, they don't go overboard with it - a cute little pear here and there. We had two rooms, both were clean and comfortable and offered L'Occitane toiletries, which I thought was a nice touch. Don't look for a reception desk when you first walk in, there isn't one, but it didn't take long for someone to come and greet us.

Breakfast is served from 0830-0930 in the dining room downstairs. The only disappointing element is that there was not a menu option. The inn was serving eggs Benedict, not one of my favorites, but they kindly offered to fix eggs, toast, and bacon, which were delicious. The bread was fantastic. The coffee was really good, French press I think. We did not eat dinner at the inn, but I think reservations are recommended, as the dining room is small. We did visit the bar before heading up to bed. The bar area is small and has a cool vibe. They tried to get a bit edgy with the cocktail menu and it didnt work with the particilar drink i ordered, but i applaud the effort.

I can't wait to return and would recommend it without hesitation to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Super Fantastic. These are the only words I can use to describe the Bartlett Pear Inn. We have now stayed at the BPI on four different trips to the Eastern Shore. Every stay has been exceptional. The owners Alice and Jordan go above and beyond to make every guest feel special. They pay attention to every detail. The rooms are immaculate. The food is spectacular. The service is professional. I love the fact that Jordan features farm to garden cuisine. Each item on the dinner menu is prepared to perfection. The bar is an intimate place to pause for a cocktail. The breakfasts prepared by Jordan are superb: from the eggs benedict, to the omelets, to the house-prepared pancakes. This is the only place we will stay on our trips to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This charming, lovely small inn (and wonderful restaurant and small intimate bar) is in a picture-perfect town--Easton, Maryland. At the helm, and steering a wonderful course, are the equally charming young husband and wife team: Alice and Jordan. You won't find better anywhere--hosts and hostel. It's, well, peachy--oh make that peary.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a small suite that is sweet. But all rooms, each unique in decor, are special and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bartlett Pear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartlett Pear Inn

Address: 28 South Harrison St, Easton, MD 21601
Location: United States > Maryland > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jordan and Alice Lloyd have proudly taken this beautiful 220-year old home and turned it into a full-scale fine dining restaurant, upscale cocktail lounge and world-class inn. Jordan has extensive knowledge and more that 15 years experience in all phases of restaurant management. He has worked for three four-star chefs and two five-diamond, five-star establishments including Michel Richard Citronelle, Per Se in New York, Auberge du Soleil in Palmetto Bluff, SC, Christian Delouvrier La Goulue in Miami, Florida and most recently The Four Seasons of Washington D.C. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bartlett Pear Hotel Easton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bartlett Pear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.