We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tidewater Inn

Save Saved
You added Tidewater Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 East Dover Street, Easton, MD 21601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Easton
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Right in the heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Historic downtown Easton in around 6 blocks by 4 blocks, and the Tidewater Inn is right in the heart of it. The staff was warm and welcoming, and at the same time very professional. The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable. The WIFI was slow but refreshingly free, so I'll call that a draw. You can't regulate the AC from your room, but the fan in the room circulated the air adequately and also provided some good white noise, since the only real negative is the thin walls.

Room Tip: If you can't get a corner room, see if there's one without neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Russell, Thank you for your review of the Tidewater Inn. We always enjoy hearing kind words about our hotel and staff. We are pleased that you had a good time and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    75
    45
    39
    19
See reviews for
65
113
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Tidewater is a well maintained older hotel at an excellent location. Beautiful mix of historic design in main area and the modern feel of restaurant and tavern. Nice amenities like the fresh fruit flavored water available all day, complimentary coffee in the morning, and free wi-fi. Bathrooms are small (especially sink) but very clean. The room temperature control is set to cool, but the room is equipped with an old fashion looking fan that works great. Outdoor dining available at the restaurant and nice selection of beer and wine at the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Tidewater Inn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to preserve the historic richness of our hotel by accentuating its timeless feel with modern amenities and decor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the historic Tidewater Inn to celebrate the wedding of our niece, Ashlyn. Accepting the fact that the Inn is an "historic" inn, I was surprised to find out that 1949, when it was built, is considered historic. Being that I was three years old when it was built, I wonder if I'm considered pre-historic. Actually, the inn was great. Smallish rooms with great beds. Smallish bathrooms and, I would venture to say, if one was height- challenged, one would need a stool to reach the shower head. Seems that over the years rooms were added, but not so much parking spaces. I was told that meters needed to be fed starting at 8:00 AM if one was unlucky enough to find guest parking full. Having overslept from having too good a time at the rehearsal dinner, I was there at 8:15. Meter maids had already placed a request for $10 payable to the town of Easton. I contacted Mr. Reedy, the Inn manager, and he graciously offered to take the aforementioned "donation" off of our bill. Capped off a perfectly wonderful time.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite which gives you considerably more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the historic Tidewater Inn. Thank you for your positive review! We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed there one night on July 3rd on way to Ocean City, Maryland. Hotel is ideally situated in middle of the town of Easton. There is free parking in the back of the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Stayed in their master suite which I would highly recommend. It is very spacious with separate bedroom. Room was very clean, looked recently painted. Bathroom had two sinks , smallish but adequate shower (no tub). Free Wifi in room worked well and was fast enough for me (although I did not try to stream any videos). Rugs although very clean and a couple of old stains in it. Looked like they really tried to get the stains out but still very visible. The restaraunt in the hotel is great with good food that seemed reasonable priced. they serve free coffee in the morning until 9AM.

The center of town is small enough to be easily walked. St Michaels and the other towns on the Eastern shore are just a couple of miles away. Easton and the hotel are not on the bay. There were several good restaraunts in Easton to sample. The people in the town and the hotel are all very friendly, relaxed and very different from the DC crwod. It was very refreshing!. All in all a nice stay and a great half way point to Ocean City from Washington, DC. I will definitely consider staying there again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of Tidewater Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, especially the staff and the location! Our staff strives to make each guest feel warm and welcome. Our location in the heart of Easton's Historic District is an attribute that many guests love. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Tidewater for a family wedding and found it to be a nice hotel. We had a suite, which was spacious and comfortable for hanging out, and nice to have two bathrooms. Nice. helpful staff, clearly used to weddings and events! Great location in a charming little town with a charming farmers' market and cute shops. BUT we were amazed by their cooling system which had our rooms SO COLD from the AC that we had to put the temp controls up to 100 (F) to get them to even budge above 65, and this in a room with two kids who were shivering in bed. We asked for advice from the reception, and they said they couldn't turn off the AC in the room, suggested turning it very high for a while (it took hours to see a difference!), and offered to bring a space heater. We ended up with windows open, which was ok, but it seemed bizarre how little control there was over the system. I also found the bathrooms a bit too old and leaky taps annoying (and terrible environmentally, as was crazy AC), although they were in keeping with the old feel of the place, which overall I would recommend with the caveat that it has quirks.

Room Tip: Suites are well worth the extra - they are very generous in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Diana,
Thank you for your review. All reviews are important to us, and we use them to evaluate how our hotel is performing. We are glad that you enjoyed your suite and that the staff was very helpful and accommodating to you and your family. We would like to apologize for the discomfort you experienced with regard to the air conditioning. Given tthe historic nature of our property, we work diligently to resolve any issues that may arise with our HVAC system. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope that you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area of the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a lovely overnight at the Tidewater Inn. We were on our way to Bethany Beach Delaware and decided to spend a night in Easton. It was clean, comfortable and relaxing. I would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review! We strive to make our guests' stay memorable and are thrilled you had a lovely time. Hope you had a wonderful remainder of your trip to Bethany Beach and that you will come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. Suite room was very comfortable and spacious. There is a level of attention at this hotel that surpassed expectations, from the front desk, wait staff to the manager. The management was quick to make sure the stay was enjoyable.
Great breakfast buffet. Great charm and great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
On behalf of The Tidewater Inn, thanks for your kind expressions of satisfaction with our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the positive review of your suite. We also appreciate your thoughtful words about our staff, as we constantly encourage and expect staff members to meet and exceed the customer service standards our guests deserve. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 101 East Dover Street, Easton, MD 21601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidewater Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater Inn is a charming Maryland hotel that is located in the heart of the Eastern Shore. It is the perfect setting for corporate retreats, elegant and weddings, or simply a weekend get-a-way. Dine with us at our restaurant, Hunter's Tavern, and savor our chef's gourmet Eastern Shore cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Easton
Historic Tidewater Hotel
Historic Tidewater Resort
Tidewater Inn Easton Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.