We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic hotel in middle of historic Easton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tidewater Inn to your Saves list
Tidewater Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 East Dover Street, Easton, MD 21601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Easton
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice historic hotel in middle of historic Easton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed there one night on July 3rd on way to Ocean City, Maryland. Hotel is ideally situated in middle of the town of Easton. There is free parking in the back of the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Stayed in their master suite which I would highly recommend. It is very spacious with separate bedroom. Room was very clean, looked recently painted. Bathroom had two sinks , smallish but adequate shower (no tub). Free Wifi in room worked well and was fast enough for me (although I did not try to stream any videos). Rugs although very clean and a couple of old stains in it. Looked like they really tried to get the stains out but still very visible. The restaraunt in the hotel is great with good food that seemed reasonable priced. they serve free coffee in the morning until 9AM.

The center of town is small enough to be easily walked. St Michaels and the other towns on the Eastern shore are just a couple of miles away. Easton and the hotel are not on the bay. There were several good restaraunts in Easton to sample. The people in the town and the hotel are all very friendly, relaxed and very different from the DC crwod. It was very refreshing!. All in all a nice stay and a great half way point to Ocean City from Washington, DC. I will definitely consider staying there again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of Tidewater Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, especially the staff and the location! Our staff strives to make each guest feel warm and welcome. Our location in the heart of Easton's Historic District is an attribute that many guests love. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    81
    49
    41
    19
See reviews for
69
116
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Tidewater for a family wedding and found it to be a nice hotel. We had a suite, which was spacious and comfortable for hanging out, and nice to have two bathrooms. Nice. helpful staff, clearly used to weddings and events! Great location in a charming little town with a charming farmers' market and cute shops. BUT we were amazed by their cooling system which had our rooms SO COLD from the AC that we had to put the temp controls up to 100 (F) to get them to even budge above 65, and this in a room with two kids who were shivering in bed. We asked for advice from the reception, and they said they couldn't turn off the AC in the room, suggested turning it very high for a while (it took hours to see a difference!), and offered to bring a space heater. We ended up with windows open, which was ok, but it seemed bizarre how little control there was over the system. I also found the bathrooms a bit too old and leaky taps annoying (and terrible environmentally, as was crazy AC), although they were in keeping with the old feel of the place, which overall I would recommend with the caveat that it has quirks.

Room Tip: Suites are well worth the extra - they are very generous in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Diana,
Thank you for your review. All reviews are important to us, and we use them to evaluate how our hotel is performing. We are glad that you enjoyed your suite and that the staff was very helpful and accommodating to you and your family. We would like to apologize for the discomfort you experienced with regard to the air conditioning. Given tthe historic nature of our property, we work diligently to resolve any issues that may arise with our HVAC system. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope that you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area of the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a lovely overnight at the Tidewater Inn. We were on our way to Bethany Beach Delaware and decided to spend a night in Easton. It was clean, comfortable and relaxing. I would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We strive to make our guests' stay memorable and are thrilled you had a lovely time. Hope you had a wonderful remainder of your trip to Bethany Beach and that you will come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. Suite room was very comfortable and spacious. There is a level of attention at this hotel that surpassed expectations, from the front desk, wait staff to the manager. The management was quick to make sure the stay was enjoyable.
Great breakfast buffet. Great charm and great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
On behalf of The Tidewater Inn, thanks for your kind expressions of satisfaction with our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the positive review of your suite. We also appreciate your thoughtful words about our staff, as we constantly encourage and expect staff members to meet and exceed the customer service standards our guests deserve. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Tidewater three times in the last two years, and are planning a return trip later this month. Its central location makes it a natural base for exploring the town and surrounding area. The staff are friendly, and the suites are large and very comfortable. It feels like a home away from home. Easy off-street (but not covered) parking behind the inn. Lots of shops, restaurants, and art galleries in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of The Tidewater Inn. We know your time is valuable, so we appreciate you for taking the time out to evaluate your stay with us. We strive to make our guests' stay memorable. As for the suite, we aim to provide outstanding comfort to all guests, so we are glad you were highly satisfied. Our staff at all levels understands that guests are the heart of our business and deserve exceptional customer service. We are pleased you enjoyed the closeness of the shops and restaurants to the Tidewater Inn. We are lucky enough to have our location in Historic Downtown Easton. We look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just had a lovely stay at the Tidewater Inn this weekend for my cousins wedding. The property is an older historic building but it's very well maintained, clean and comfortable. It's conveniently located among a number of cute shops and restaurants and the staff was very friendly. My only minor complaint would be that the hotel was a tad pricey considering it doesn't have the typical amenities we've come to expect in hotel like gyms, spas, and pools. But it did have a nice restaurant on site where my husband enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater_Management, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Greetings and thank you for your review of our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that your cousin had the wedding of their dreams, and that you had a wonderful time as well!

Thank you for your compliments, including our hotel being well maintained, clean and comfortable. We are also glad your husband enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Hunters’ Tavern.

Please do come back and see us soon, we have some wonderful events in October and
November!

All the best,

Lauren Catterton
Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I are familiar with Easton, so were happy when our daughter decided on the Tidewater Inn as the venue for her reception. We were even happier as the planning unfolded and the event took place. Melanie and the event planning staff could not have been more helpful through all phases. I won't belabor all the positives about the property/location etc. that other reviewers have already mentioned. Let me just say that the wedding reception exceeded our expectations and thrilled my daughter (not to mention mother of the bride). Food was superb and the ability to "spill-out" into the beautiful bricked patio area made for an extraordinary event. If you're considering a "destination" wedding where people can park their cars and enjoy a marvelous small town in a beautiful locale followed by a first-rate reception, I cannot say enough good things about the Tidedwater Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater_Management, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful wedding experience. We are so thrilled that your daughter had the wedding of her dreams, and that your wife was so pleased as well.

Many thanks for your accolades of our event planning staff; specifically, of our events manager Melanie Bennett. A wedding is such an important moment in one’s life, so we do our best to make sure that the event is flawless from start to finish.

We thank you for your positive remarks and kind recommendation of our establishment. We do hope that you and your family come back to visit.

All the best,
Lauren Catterton
Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 101 East Dover Street, Easton, MD 21601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater Inn is a charming and elegant hotel located on the Eastern Shore with roots that trace back to 1712. A romantic hideaway nestled in historic downtown Easton, Maryland, surrounded by boutiques, art galleries, gourmet restaurants and the famed Avalon Theatre. The Inn features 95 well-appointed boutique guest rooms, a tavern style restaurant and banquet rooms. A luxurious retreat just outside of Baltimore, Washington, DC and Wilmington, the Tidewater Inn is appointed with modern comforts, state-of-the-art conference space and exquisite banquet rooms ideal for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Easton
Historic Tidewater Hotel
Historic Tidewater Resort
Tidewater Inn Easton Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.