We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright if you really need a dog” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greatest American Hot Dogs (GAHD)

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Greatest American Hot Dogs (GAHD)
7206 Muncaster Mill Rd., Derwood, MD 20855
1 800-570-4243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Derwood
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Specializing in gourmet hot dogs from around the country, Whirly Fries, and Waffsticks. Try "true-to-form" Chicago Dogs, NY Dogs, Jersey Dogs, DC Dogs, WVA Dogs, AZ Dogs... even try the new Rockville Reuben Dog and Annandale Koreatown Dog!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Alright if you really need a dog”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was really excited when I first got the flyer from this place when they opened. I had seen Hot Dog Paradise and all of those shows on Food and Travel Channel. I really wanted to try a Chicago style dog and a "ripper". This place had all of those on the menu. We traveled all the way to the weird industrial location that was listed on the menu received in the mail only to be very disappointed that it was no longer there. No worries though as it turns out they just moved a few miles away to a proper shopping center.

Inside the shop is very small, only a few tables seated very close together. It looks as though they haven't quite settled in yet after being open at the new location for two months. It's too quiet and a little too cramped to comfortably have any kind of conversation so my friend and I took our hot dogs to go. I got the Chicago and she got the Atlanta. I guess they deep-fry all the dogs because they looked like one of those rippers I saw on tv.

The chili on the Atlanta dog was good enough for my very picky friend and I enjoyed mine just fine. I just felt like it wasn't unlike something I could do at home with a great Nathan's hot dog. This concept probably works best in a business location or as a food truck where you're stuck at work and only have a few options. I can't really see myself opting to go there for dinner. Still, good to try if you want to experience a few different types of hot dogs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derwood, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“When you need a HotDog fix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Hard to find a dedicated hotdog restaurant in the Rockville Area. This place which started as a food truck has an amazing selection of dogs and fills any craving you have for the great American food. The dogs are all case dogs and have a great snap when you bite into them. The buns have a fresh made taste. All the topings are fresh. The price is a bit high but the food does not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Holy Hot Dog!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Selection, selection, selection! Menu offers dogs topped with selections that remind you of other locations in the USA - Atlanta Dog to West Virginia Slaw Dog. Fun and creative. The selection and service are fabulous! Offers hamburgers, sausages and sides as well. A small storefront location with minimal table seating for under 30 people - guestimate. Enjoyed a Jersey Ripper and the DC Half Smoke - both hit it out of the park! Friendly staff, (job seekers - heard they are looking to hire) Will be back ASAP!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing and authentic local dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Love this place. If you miss home and miss your local hot dog, this is the next best thing. A Chicago dog that tastes like a Chicago dog -- finally. Plus, there are all sorts of other interesting combos, some that have corned beef, others salami, others kimchi and bulgogi. Pretty solid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, MD
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Remarkable array of hotdog and sausage selections.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you like hotdogs and sausages, this is the place to go. There are so many to choose from. When we dined this evening the food was so hot (and that's good) we had to wait a moment until it cooled down. The sweet potato fries are some of the best we've ever eaten. The only drawback is the limited seating. There are only 3 tables and a counter about 8 feet long. If you live close by, carryout might be a good option. Despite this last part, it's really worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greatest American Hot Dogs (GAHD) also viewed

Gaithersburg, MD
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Greatest American Hot Dogs (GAHD)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greatest American Hot Dogs (GAHD), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.