We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were delighted with our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Cumberland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Cumberland Downtown to your Saves list
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S. George St., Cumberland, MD 21502 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cumberland Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We were delighted with our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Found ourselves in Cumberland MD due to a series of circumstances and decided on the Ramada from a small list given to us by another already-booked hotel. We were quite delighted with the wonderful, friendly service, comfortable room (especially the bed), and convenient location very near the Interstate. The bathroom which is often a testing ground in my book passed with flying colors. Even though on the small side it was well-laid out and not at all cramped. The shower controls were EASY to figure out. (Sometimes they can be real head-scratchers) Full breakfast (choice of eggs, bacon, home fries, juice, coffee) is complimentary and served in a charming, sunny dining room with cheerful, efficient service.

One caveat: this is a railroad town and this hotel is situated right next to one. If you do not like train whistles in the middle of the night ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. They are always ready to accommodate you for this. In our case, my husband was awakened a couple of times by the whistle but I slept right through it. Since he fell immediately back to sleep it wasn't a problem for us.

As a bonus, try the Queen City Creamery and Deli right down the street about a half a block. As others have said, it is like a step back into the 1950's. The custard ice cream is delicious. (We had their version of a Chubby Hubby, the flavor of that day). We ate it at the old-fashioned soda counter and wished we could do this every day of the week in our home town. Apparently the deli food is good as well. The staff on that day were all very helpful, contrary to (or maybe in response to) previous complaints. If you like the best of "yesteryear" this place is the way to go.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on street side if you don't like train whistles at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT W, General Manager at Ramada Cumberland Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Silvergypsy45,
Thank you for your very kind words. It is always nice to hear we have exceeded a guest's expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you to our historic Cumberland, Md. Please treat yourself to one of the remarkable train excursions. I am certain you will treasure it.

Sincerely,
CT Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
26
33
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice hotel and place to stay. Overall the staff was great as usual. Stayed as part of a large group. Utilized the conference/party rooms, with food catered. Trains were loud through the evening. Will use them again. See you next year.

Room Tip: Try a room opposite of the rail tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT W, General Manager at Ramada Cumberland Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Good afternoon Jeff,
Thank you for taking advantage of our meeting facilities and being so generous in your evaluation of the hotel. Light sleepers would always be wise to choose the side of the hotel away from the tracks. Another trick I have always used, even at home is to sleep with a fan on to cover up the other noises like slamming doors.

Thank you for choosing the Ramada Inn for your overnight and meeting needs. We can't wait until you return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

It is a nice clean hotel everything is perfect except for the location, being right next to the railroad station, where a lot of trains come by at all hours and it can be a pain to try and sleep. All and all very good. The local proms have been nice being at this hotel before it was Ramada and I'd say the best place for prom. Also if you want to take tour out of town while staying check what Bolman is up to because they are right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT W, Manager at Ramada Cumberland Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Good afternoon Ashleigh,
Thank you for taking the time share your impressions of my hotel. It is always great to see we have met your expectations and I hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.

C.T. Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked the Ramada Inn in Cumberland MD for three nights in April. It's a decent, clean hotel. Located near a historical district of Cumberland. However, we found it impossible to sleep in this hotel. It is located right beside a main train hub with 5 tracks running right beside the hotel. Just view it from Google Maps and you will see the tracks right beside the hotel.
The trains blow their whistles right beside the hotel through the night. Train whistles are very loud. They even woke my wife up when she used ear plugs. Decent hotel, but very bad location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT W, General Manager at Ramada Cumberland Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Frank,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your visit to beautiful Cumberland, Md. I am so sorry to hear the trains caused your wife such discomfort. You are correct, we are a railroad town. CSX has a major training center here. I am still amazed by the size of the shops and seeing thirty plus engines in one place.

Have you ever seen "My Cousin Vinnie", a fantastic Joe Peschi movie that could have been shot here. I think of it everytime I hear a train whistle which truly isn't very often. Perhaps with time you will enjoy the humor of the comparison.

I am writing you under separate letter to again offer my apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you are looking to spend a pleasant day in downtown Cumberland, viewing Baltimore St. and the Canal area, this is the place to stay. It is downtown with highways adjacent and trains right behind. None of that was an issue, as we had a very good night's sleep.
Cumberland can be difficult to negotiate with GPS, as signal is iffy. But the town is very walkable from the hotel. Ask for discounts, ask about free breakfast, and ask about the casino shuttle. The clerk was rather clueless about directions. The casino shuttle is Fridays and Saturdays only (not Sunday like he told us) and it's off 68 EAST, not WEST, like he told us. The wifi is free with a code on the back of your key packet (had to ask about that). The complimentary breakfast was in the actual restaurant, with all of the nice amenities of a good hotel restaurant. A sweet discovery. All in all, a really nice time in Cumberland.

Room Tip: There was a sofa in our king room. Lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT W, General Manager at Ramada Cumberland Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Jayne,
Thank you for letting the world know about our little jewel. Just wait until spring really sets in and the downtown comes alive. I am pleased you enjoyed our latest amenity addition, complimentary full hot breakfast in our restaurant. We will work hard on teaching our employees the difference between East and West. Please come relax with us again.

Sincerely,
C.T. Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Close, on and off the Interstate. Good parking, nice rooms, and reasonable rates. Especially nice to offer military rates. Walk to some nice eateries. Friendly desk staff, tried to be helpful, but had not a clue of the streets of Cumberland. "Wasn't local" and tried to "mapquest" how to walk even a few blocks. It would be nice if the hotel had someone with local knowledge. Other than this, the hotel was worth coming again. Just be prepared to learn the town on your own.

Room Tip: ask for 6th floor, away from elevator, quieter away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT W, General Manager at Ramada Cumberland Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Doug,
All City Hospitality recently purchased this hotel and wish to thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. As a new comer to the area myself I agree lack of local knowledge on the part of our guest representative is frustrating. We will work to create written directions to local attractions to assist our guests while familiarizing our staff.

Please come see us again and enjoy our new "Free Hot Breakfast" in our restaurant.

Sincerely,

CT Weber
General Manager
Ramada Inn Cuimberland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

According to Reservation Counter, free Wi-Fi is listed as a hotel amenity. It's not. The Wi-Fi is through some service called Ibahn. That's ridiculous in this day and age.

Other reviewers noted train noise. To be fair, there's not much the hotel can do about it. That's going to be an issue anywhere in Cumberland. My employer booked this hotel for me since I had business in town. If you are looking to avoid train noise, you might want to stay in Lavale instead.

Room Tip: Stay in a room that faces South George Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT W, General Manager at Ramada Cumberland Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am very sorry to read of your displeasure with our internet service. We do indeed offer free wifi, internet for all our guestrooms and public areas through a a national provider, Ibahn. Instructions on how to sign into our web page and enjoy free internet access are located on the desk in your room or by contacting the guest service agent.

Again, I am very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced while a guest of ours and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
CT Weber
General Manager
Ramada Inn Cumberland, Md.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Cumberland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Cumberland Downtown

Address: 100 S. George St., Cumberland, MD 21502 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cumberland Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Cumberland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Cumberland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cumberland Downtown Hotel Cumberland
Cumberland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Cumberland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.