We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting displays, history in every room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allegany Museum

Allegany Museum
3 Pershing Street, Cumberland, MD 51502
(301) 777-7200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Attractions in Cumberland
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Inviting displays, history in every room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The museum is very tastefully done. The rooms beckon you to come in and browse. We have been several times. Some of the displays are the same and some are changed. We like it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After touring the entire museum I was left with a sense of sadness for the people who saw the rise and fall of this lovely city. Seeing pictures of the city at its heights of prosperity had a very surreal impact. This museum says the story of all the people of Cumberland.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Attractive displays of local history & businesses.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Although not what you would call 'extensive,' the museum's well thought out and very well executed displays about local industry and buisnesses was time well spent (approx. 1 hour) to learn a bit more about Cumberland's industries and buisnesses and character over the years. And the price was more than right! (No fee, just a donation box.)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our Museum of American Glass 2012 Glass Gathering activity was held in the Museum. What an awesome experience! The Museum was extrememly accommodating to our group of 88 and went out of their way to make it 'all about glass' for us. The remaning parts of the Museum are very much worth the stop. My grandgirls would have loved the 'Sleeping Beauty' exhibit. There is something for everyone in all the exhibits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Allegany Museum is free and if you are interested in a bit of history. It's worth the time. It's small, but very nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allegany Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegany Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.