We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 NIGHT STOP OVER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“1 NIGHT STOP OVER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was the 1 night stop over for our ride from Rockwood, PA to Taylor's Landing, MD on the Great Allegeny Passage/C&O bike trails. It was clean, comfortable and a great grab-n go breakfast. Close to restaurants and city center with in walking distance...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear CarolW617,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re pleased to hear our clean comfortable rooms and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Best,
Janine Pitner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    100
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
73
90
21
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bowie
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a bicycle-friendly hotel. We came to ride the Great Allegheny Passage and C&O Canal Towpath. The hotel sits right in front of the access point to both. There were no problems with bringing the bikes to the room. The hotel also has a bicycle washing station at the end exit from the building. The free breakfast was excellent and the staff is very friendly. This has to be the best hotel in Cumberland.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear John G,

Thank you for your kind review. I’m pleased to hear that our associates delivered service which exceeded your expectations and made for a good experience. We have a great team comprised of dedicated people who genuinely care about providing each guest with an exceptional stay. I’ll be certain to share your compliments with our team. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Best,
Janine Pitner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed in three different hotels and a rental home during my 10 day trip. The Fairfield in Cumberland was by far the cleanest, friendliest, and had the most courteous and helpful staff.
Odd location, but who cares?! Once there, you forget your troubles and embrace the quaint surroundings. Every single person I encountered went out of their way to make sure everything was just perfect...Thank you, Fairfield for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Terri R,

Our associates understand and believe that our valued guests deserve an exceptional stay and we will continue to push daily to find new ways to WOW our guests. I will be sure to share your very nice comments with our team; they work hard to ensure guests feel at home. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again.

Best,
Janine Pitner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way to Washington D. C. The hotel is right off exit 43C on I-68. Easy to get to.

The reception both when we checked in and when we checked out was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The hotel was clean, the room was very nice and included a small refrigerator. We always like having a fridge to keep our bottled water and snacks cold. The bath was very nice, too. All the usual amenities were available.

We loved that there was an indoor pool and whirlpool. (There is also an outdoor pool.) The whirlpool was a welcome place to be after driving for six hours.

The free breakfast was fairly usual, but I will say that they served eggs, hot sausage and hot cereal, which even the "better" hotel we stayed in later in D. C. didn't offer.

There are several restaurants in the area. We tried a Thai restaurant that is also part of a Chinese restaurant. Ordering off the Thai menu, we found that it was surprisingly good, although the decor of the place was not all that special. It's on the National Highway, about 5 miles from the hotel. Many other choices for restaurants around the downtown area, too.

Overall, I think this hotel is a good value.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking to book a room away from the interstate. We didn't, but happened to get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear AJH532,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is encouraging to hear that your stay was enjoyable; our associates strive to provide a pleasant experience. Your kind comments are appreciated and we look forward to a return visit.

Best,
Janine Pitner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Pros: The room was nice and clean. It is located right on the GAP trail and the C&O Tow Path trail. We were even allowed to bring our bikes into our room. Also the pool and hot tub were nice.

Cons: After riding our bikes 40 miles we came back to the hotel to find our keys were not working. We went to the front desk and they told us they thought we had checked out that morning even though we had prepaid for two nights weeks in advance. We went back to the room and found that the maid had not visited yet. We went to the pool and returned an hour later to shower but the maid still had not been in even though it was 4:30. My husband went back to the front desk for clean towels. He was told the maid would be coming in 15 minutes. At that point he told them to forget it because we both wanted to shower and go eat dinner. So, our room was not cleaned. The next morning breakfast was a disaster. Apparently one of their microwaves had broken and there was no hot food. The girl was trying to get caught up, but the place was packed and she just got further and further behind. The coffee was empty the whole time and I had to go back to my room to make a cup there.

I know stuff happens and the hotel did send me a small gift certificate to use towards a return visit to the hotel within the year which was very nice. I would still recommend this hotel and probably stay again mainly because of its location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Betty E,

It’s nice to hear from you. I'm sorry to the frustrating hiccups you experienced during your stay. Your sincere review, which highlights strengths and areas for improvement, is extremely valuable as it allows us to improve future guest experiences. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I was in Cumberland on business and used to stay with another brand which is no longer there. I decided to try the Fairfield Inn and was very pleased with the staff and the appearance of the hotel...I would definitely stay there again. The only drawback is that this is the better hotel out of the ones in Cumberland so it stays booked. so if you have to check out and check back in there will probably be no vacancies!! This happened to me when I tried to check back in on the same day....oh well; guess that's good for them!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sherri N,

It’s wonderful to hear from you. Your kind review serves as encouragement to our team who work hard to provide a pleasant stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Best,
Janine Pitner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I traveled to Cumberland on business and found the Fairfield Inn very convenient and well maintained. The Inn is walking distance from downtown and is adjacent to the C & O Canal with biking and walking trails. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and the views of the mountains and the river are wonderful. Their continental breakfast offers a better selection than the normal eat and run fare and the food is quite good. I will definitely be back when I'm in Cumberland.

Room Tip: Western exposure rooms have a view of downtown,the river and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear mwc713,

Thank you for taking the time to write; we appreciate your feedback. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed our clean rooms, friendly service and wonderful views in addition to our location. We look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip.

Best,
Janine Pitner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Address: 21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Cumberland
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland Hotel Cumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.