We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cumberland
maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean and Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this property in March for a high school basketball tournament in Cumberland / Frostburg. I found the hotel to be clean and reasonably priced. There isn't much to do in Cumberland, but the hotel is located within a short walk or drive to various restaurants and bars etc. I did use the walkway behind the hotel to get to the walking path that runs parallel to the water - that was a nice feature of the property. I'd recommend this hotel if your travels take you to or through Cumberland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
galici,
Thank you for staying with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed our walking path and surrounding area. Please plan to visit us again as we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Janine Pinter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    86
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
80
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Short version: the hotel, lobby and rooms look nice and clean / location is convenient / front desk staff friendly / horrible beds / hot water issues / bad breakfast.
We stay in this area when we visit family. We have tried almost all hotels, this one we had not stayed at before.
The matress is horrible! We had a room with 2 queen beds for the 4 of us. My husband and I woke up with a sore back each morning. Matress offers very little support and we kept rolling towards the middle. Very cozy but not beneficial for a good night sleep!
One morning, we stayed 4 nights, we had no hot water to shower. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there were other guests who experienced the same problems. Even when I waited till after breakfast, the water was still cold. Maintenance would show up at 8 AM. He looked, confirmed the problem but could not figure out the cause. Later that day temperatures turned back to normal.
Trina, at the front desk, was very appologetic and friendly (as was everybody at the front desk). She said she would make sure we would receive extra Reward points for our issues with the water and mattress.
Breakfast was very poor and the girl working there not the friendliest. Seemd rushed and overworked. Breakfast similar to the Hampton Inn but much lesser quality. French Toast strips were precooked and kept in the small fridge, to be heated up by the guest. Every morning the same scrambled eggs and sausages, no variety. Oatmeal: like wallpaperglue. Couldn't tell how many days old it was. It was kept in a heated pot and pretty much uneatable. We found 2 Activia yoghurt in the fridge the first day but it was not refilled the following days. We knew it was part of the selection but we had to ask for it each.Too expensive to have available for the guest?
The also offer hardboiled eggs. Pre-peeled and kept in a plastic dish with a bit of water in the fridge. Could tell how long they had been there, they didn't look very good and the same 2 eggs stayed there during our stay (I recognized the markings).
The freshly baked chocolate chip cookies: only Mo-Th ??!?!
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Nesser68,
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your trip. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Janine Pinter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I had to come to Cumberland on business and needed a place to stay for just one night. This hotel exceeded all expectations. The rooms were spotless, the rates very good and the staff friendly. I'd stay here anytime.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Vanns40,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you do have another opportunity to visit us. We look forward to your next visit. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were traveling to Columbus OH, but got caught in the day after Christmas snow storm and decided to give it up. The next exit had the Fairfield Inn and what a lucky find! The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious with microwave and fridge. The bonus was the indoor pool and laundry room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Pdxgirl817,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. We're sorry for the delay in your travels, but glad you found our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you felt welcomed by our staff and enjoyed the indoor pool. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit Cumberland and stay with us again.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was a Marriott. After checking in, which I was able to do 4 hours EARLY, I was pleasantly surprised by the convenience of the location! I was taking my girls on the North Pole Express train ride and was so excited when the wonderful front desk clerk informed me that we could walk to the train station!

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the free breakfast FANTASTIC! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone planning a train excursion!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Kristineg4,
Thank you for your review. We're excited to hear that you stayed with us while taking your children to the nearby North Pole Express train ride. I hope you all had a wonderful time! We're pleased you enjoyed our hotel and staff, and we hope you'll plan to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel overall. A couple of issues are the paper thin walls (could hear both neighbors talking) and we were given no direction as to pool, fitness room, etc. by the front desk. Usually, as a Silver Elite member the staff is overly accommodating but I felt they could've cared less if we were there. There were also many empty rooms facing the back of the hotel showing the scenic surroundings so I was surprised we didn't get one of those.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Bricktamland7,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. I'm glad you liked our property and recommend it to other viewers. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us as we look forward to providing excellent service and a warm and friendly welcoming.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for Thanksgiving and found the hotel very convenient. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. It is right on the Great Allegheny Passage bike trail and walking distance to the train station, the very interesting C&O Canal museum and downtown pedestrian area. Nice pool area and hot tub.
A few issues: breakfast both Friday & Sat. (esp. Fri. 11/23) were chaotic. Not enough chairs, people eating standing up, some items ran out. We went down at 8:45 (it closed at 9); my husband got the last hard boiled egg and last yogurt. No staff in sight to ask for help. Trash cans overflowing. We finally got a seat when someone left. Just not a pleasant experience. The lounge is set up more for esthetics than practicality - several curving couches and low tables that take up space rather than provide comfortable eating area for the large crowds.
That morning we were also awakened at 8:30 by a knock on the door from the cleaning staff. Never had that happen so early before - was very annoying as we were still in bed. There was no "Do Not Disturb" sign in the room - we later asked for one so this wouldn't happen the next day. The front desk said that the "cleaners start at 8 AM" - didn't think knocking at 8:30 was unusual, apparently.
The front desk was under-staffed. Usually only one person working or sometimes no one; had to wander around looking for help. Clerks were pleasant when found, fortunately. I wanted to give feedback at check-out when the clerk asked "was everything OK?" but she was on the phone, a customer was waiting and there was no one to give feedback to easily.
All said, we would still stay there again and it clearly is the nicest hotel in Cumberland and in a very good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back (bike trail). We were given a room facing the highway in front and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
lesbaldy,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites, and we appreciate your business. I'm glad you liked our rooms, pool, and hot tub. Please accept our apologies for the crowded breakfast area and busy staff. Despite the busy holiday weekend, we always strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability. We will work on providing more seating for the breakfast area when large crowds are expected. I appreciate your feedback. We welcome you to come and stay with us again the next time you're in Cumberland.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Address: 21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Cumberland
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland Hotel Cumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.