We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lucky Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were traveling to Columbus OH, but got caught in the day after Christmas snow storm and decided to give it up. The next exit had the Fairfield Inn and what a lucky find! The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious with microwave and fridge. The bonus was the indoor pool and laundry room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Pdxgirl817,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. We're sorry for the delay in your travels, but glad you found our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you felt welcomed by our staff and enjoyed the indoor pool. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit Cumberland and stay with us again.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    92
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
85
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was a Marriott. After checking in, which I was able to do 4 hours EARLY, I was pleasantly surprised by the convenience of the location! I was taking my girls on the North Pole Express train ride and was so excited when the wonderful front desk clerk informed me that we could walk to the train station!

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the free breakfast FANTASTIC! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone planning a train excursion!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Kristineg4,
Thank you for your review. We're excited to hear that you stayed with us while taking your children to the nearby North Pole Express train ride. I hope you all had a wonderful time! We're pleased you enjoyed our hotel and staff, and we hope you'll plan to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel overall. A couple of issues are the paper thin walls (could hear both neighbors talking) and we were given no direction as to pool, fitness room, etc. by the front desk. Usually, as a Silver Elite member the staff is overly accommodating but I felt they could've cared less if we were there. There were also many empty rooms facing the back of the hotel showing the scenic surroundings so I was surprised we didn't get one of those.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Bricktamland7,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. I'm glad you liked our property and recommend it to other viewers. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us as we look forward to providing excellent service and a warm and friendly welcoming.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for Thanksgiving and found the hotel very convenient. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. It is right on the Great Allegheny Passage bike trail and walking distance to the train station, the very interesting C&O Canal museum and downtown pedestrian area. Nice pool area and hot tub.
A few issues: breakfast both Friday & Sat. (esp. Fri. 11/23) were chaotic. Not enough chairs, people eating standing up, some items ran out. We went down at 8:45 (it closed at 9); my husband got the last hard boiled egg and last yogurt. No staff in sight to ask for help. Trash cans overflowing. We finally got a seat when someone left. Just not a pleasant experience. The lounge is set up more for esthetics than practicality - several curving couches and low tables that take up space rather than provide comfortable eating area for the large crowds.
That morning we were also awakened at 8:30 by a knock on the door from the cleaning staff. Never had that happen so early before - was very annoying as we were still in bed. There was no "Do Not Disturb" sign in the room - we later asked for one so this wouldn't happen the next day. The front desk said that the "cleaners start at 8 AM" - didn't think knocking at 8:30 was unusual, apparently.
The front desk was under-staffed. Usually only one person working or sometimes no one; had to wander around looking for help. Clerks were pleasant when found, fortunately. I wanted to give feedback at check-out when the clerk asked "was everything OK?" but she was on the phone, a customer was waiting and there was no one to give feedback to easily.
All said, we would still stay there again and it clearly is the nicest hotel in Cumberland and in a very good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back (bike trail). We were given a room facing the highway in front and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
lesbaldy,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites, and we appreciate your business. I'm glad you liked our rooms, pool, and hot tub. Please accept our apologies for the crowded breakfast area and busy staff. Despite the busy holiday weekend, we always strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability. We will work on providing more seating for the breakfast area when large crowds are expected. I appreciate your feedback. We welcome you to come and stay with us again the next time you're in Cumberland.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very nice looks like new Fairfield, located just of the interstate. A nice bright, clean comfortable room, with a complete breakfast. The staff was very professional and friendly. Although we arrived in the dark, we found that there were many shops and restaurants with in a short walking distance. There was some road construction in the area, so pay attention to the signs while driving back to the interstate. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
220ord,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. I'm glad you liked our clean, comfortable hotel and surrounding area. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us the next time you travel through Cumberland.

Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was one of the most nicest hotels I've ever stayed in!!! I truly loved it!! The rooms were clean and fresh. The clerks at the front desk were vey nice and very helpful. We also had a great view of the city from our window. The pool was clean and well kept. My family and I truly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Deja L,
Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. It's great to know that we are one of the nicest hotels you've ever stayed in, and we hope you'll plan to visit us again. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good value, good location, 2-3 blocks from the downtown pedestrian mall and right at the rail trail/canal. Fairly new property in excellent condition. Breakfast was fine, staff were friendly. A little complicated to get to/from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
MrYod,
Thank you for your review. We're delighted you chose to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. I'm glad you liked our property and found it to be of good value! Please come and see us again the next time you visit Cumberland.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Address: 21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland Hotel Cumberland
Fairfield Inn And Suites Cumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.