We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was a Marriott. After checking in, which I was able to do 4 hours EARLY, I was pleasantly surprised by the convenience of the location! I was taking my girls on the North Pole Express train ride and was so excited when the wonderful front desk clerk informed me that we could walk to the train station!

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the free breakfast FANTASTIC! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone planning a train excursion!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristineg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Kristineg4,
Thank you for your review. We're excited to hear that you stayed with us while taking your children to the nearby North Pole Express train ride. I hope you all had a wonderful time! We're pleased you enjoyed our hotel and staff, and we hope you'll plan to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel overall. A couple of issues are the paper thin walls (could hear both neighbors talking) and we were given no direction as to pool, fitness room, etc. by the front desk. Usually, as a Silver Elite member the staff is overly accommodating but I felt they could've cared less if we were there. There were also many empty rooms facing the back of the hotel showing the scenic surroundings so I was surprised we didn't get one of those.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bricktamland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Bricktamland7,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. I'm glad you liked our property and recommend it to other viewers. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us as we look forward to providing excellent service and a warm and friendly welcoming.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for Thanksgiving and found the hotel very convenient. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. It is right on the Great Allegheny Passage bike trail and walking distance to the train station, the very interesting C&O Canal museum and downtown pedestrian area. Nice pool area and hot tub.
A few issues: breakfast both Friday & Sat. (esp. Fri. 11/23) were chaotic. Not enough chairs, people eating standing up, some items ran out. We went down at 8:45 (it closed at 9); my husband got the last hard boiled egg and last yogurt. No staff in sight to ask for help. Trash cans overflowing. We finally got a seat when someone left. Just not a pleasant experience. The lounge is set up more for esthetics than practicality - several curving couches and low tables that take up space rather than provide comfortable eating area for the large crowds.
That morning we were also awakened at 8:30 by a knock on the door from the cleaning staff. Never had that happen so early before - was very annoying as we were still in bed. There was no "Do Not Disturb" sign in the room - we later asked for one so this wouldn't happen the next day. The front desk said that the "cleaners start at 8 AM" - didn't think knocking at 8:30 was unusual, apparently.
The front desk was under-staffed. Usually only one person working or sometimes no one; had to wander around looking for help. Clerks were pleasant when found, fortunately. I wanted to give feedback at check-out when the clerk asked "was everything OK?" but she was on the phone, a customer was waiting and there was no one to give feedback to easily.
All said, we would still stay there again and it clearly is the nicest hotel in Cumberland and in a very good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back (bike trail). We were given a room facing the highway in front and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyPumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
lesbaldy,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites, and we appreciate your business. I'm glad you liked our rooms, pool, and hot tub. Please accept our apologies for the crowded breakfast area and busy staff. Despite the busy holiday weekend, we always strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability. We will work on providing more seating for the breakfast area when large crowds are expected. I appreciate your feedback. We welcome you to come and stay with us again the next time you're in Cumberland.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very nice looks like new Fairfield, located just of the interstate. A nice bright, clean comfortable room, with a complete breakfast. The staff was very professional and friendly. Although we arrived in the dark, we found that there were many shops and restaurants with in a short walking distance. There was some road construction in the area, so pay attention to the signs while driving back to the interstate. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 220ord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
220ord,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. I'm glad you liked our clean, comfortable hotel and surrounding area. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us the next time you travel through Cumberland.

Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was one of the most nicest hotels I've ever stayed in!!! I truly loved it!! The rooms were clean and fresh. The clerks at the front desk were vey nice and very helpful. We also had a great view of the city from our window. The pool was clean and well kept. My family and I truly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Deja L,
Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. It's great to know that we are one of the nicest hotels you've ever stayed in, and we hope you'll plan to visit us again. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good value, good location, 2-3 blocks from the downtown pedestrian mall and right at the rail trail/canal. Fairly new property in excellent condition. Breakfast was fine, staff were friendly. A little complicated to get to/from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Yode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
MrYod,
Thank you for your review. We're delighted you chose to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. I'm glad you liked our property and found it to be of good value! Please come and see us again the next time you visit Cumberland.
Sincerely,
John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Although there was nothing exceptional about the breakfast, the room was nice and roomy and the bed/pillows were comfortable. The staff was nice but they did not go above and beyond by any means. I would not hesitate to stay here again. One disappointment worth clarifying is that I apply for a state government rate, but the agent at the counter told me that they had no available rooms remaining at that rate. So I had to pay for the standard room rate while on government business. I know that the parking lot was not overcrowded with vehicles, so they may need to open up more rooms for state government business travelers, but I did not bother talking to the manager about the issue. I'm hoping next time I come to the area, which is likely, I get a better experience with the service on the rate I will pay. In the past, if something like this occurred, the reservationist would upgrade me to a nicer room while paying the standard rate. And this is how you get top marks by me. Overall, a great place to stay though. Enjoy your visit to Cumberland!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with any kind of discount program, be sure to call ahead as they were booked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Bill D,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. I'm glad you found our property to be a great place to stay, and I'm pleased you enjoyed Cumberland. It's unfortunate that your special rate was not available at the time of your visit. We hope there will be another opportunity for you to stay with us and the special rate will be available then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 3 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
8.9 mi away
Failinger's Hotel Gunter
Failinger's Hotel Gunter
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Address: 21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland Hotel Cumberland
Fairfield Inn And Suites Cumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing