We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, new hotel. Convenient to bike routes (GAP/C&O)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pa.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Very nice, new hotel. Convenient to bike routes (GAP/C&O)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife, son and I stayed here for two nights in June when we were riding part of the Great Allegheny Passage bike route. It couldn't be more convenient to both the GAP and the C&O paths, as the C&O path runs right behind the hotel's rear doors and the start of both trails is a five-minute walk away at the old train station. This is a very new hotel (opened 2009, I believe), and is nicely appointed in common areas and in the rooms. I'll first talk about the hotel and its amenities, and then comment on how bike-friendly they are.

We reserved a king-bed room and requested a roll-away bed for our son, which was waiting outside the room door for us when we checked in. Upon opening looking at the room, though, it was obvious that there was not enough room for the cot in the room (well, it would have fit, but we would have had to crawl over the beds due to no walking space). I went down to the desk and mentioned this to the clerk, who found a suite room for us, but we had to pay a bit more per night (not much, though). First lesson: don't book a king room at this hotel and expect to put a roll-away in it. Not going to happen. Pick a room with two beds or one of the very nice suites.

The suite we ended up in was very nice, with a sitting area with a pull-out sofabed, and a separate area with a king-size bed (the sleeping areas were not separated by a door or wall, though, so be aware of this. There was also a refrigerator and microwave in the room. We were very happy with the setup and felt it was well worth the extra cost, especially since we were staying two nights.

Regarding the hotel's staff, every single person I spoke with was extremely helpful and friendly. Shockingly so, in fact. Rarely have I encountered this in hotels. I interacted with several front-desk clerks, the maintenance man, and several breakfast staff people. All were pleasant and went out of their way to help us.

Breakfast: the Fairfield advertises a hot breakfast, and they did have a very nice spread **when it was fully stocked.** The first morning we had to wait for a short time to have the eggs and sausage restocked, but the second day it was empty for the entire time we ate breakfast, well over 30 minutes. The attendant kept saying the eggs and sausage were cooking, but they never showed up. Otherwise, they have the now standard compliment of American hotel/motel breakfast offerings, from make-your-own waffles to cereals and some breads. For the size hotel they have, they need to figure out how to keep the hot food that they advertise actually stocked. We weren't the only people grumbling that it wasn't restocked. Also, they have a very nice, good-sized breakfast eating area, but not nearly enough tables to fit everyone who wanted to eat. Add some more tables, please!

Speaking of eating, be aware that if you are without a car the eating options in the area are limited. In the nearby Canal Place shops there is a very good, small pizza place that we can highly recommend. Surprisingly good pizza and a very friendly and accommodating owner. It also serves ice cream. Also in Canal Place is the "Crabby Pig," which we ate at the second night. We weren't too impressed by it, especially given the prices. My $20 steak was overcooked, for example. There are a few other restaurants in the old downtown district nearby, but all were closed on the Sunday we were there. Also nearby are a Wendy's and a Taco Bell. Queen City Creamery ice cream and deli is also not too far away.

Finally, about whether this hotel is bike-friendly: I give it a qualified "yes." For us, they were really helpful, allowing us to keep our 10-foot long triplet bike in one of their conference rooms for two nights, and not blinking an eye as we rolled it through the lobby. However, if the rooms were being used, we would have had to lock our bike outside all night to a small bike rack that they have on the side of the building. They have a good-sized concrete slab there, with the bike rack and a convenient hose setup as a "bike wash station" (nice touch!), but they really should have more secure facilities for bikers. Hopefully as they start to realize how much of their business comes from bikers, they will take this more seriously. Probably 1/3 of the cars in the lot had bikes on the back, and several more were locked outside. Just look at the reviews on TripAdvisor to see how many bikers stay there. I encourage the hotel to create some sort of covered, lockable storage area on the concrete slab outside. A simple roof with a lockable chain-link fence around it would show that they are serious about taking care of their bicycling guests.

Value-wise, I thought the prices were kind of high for the area, but they are competitive with the nearby (and much older) Holiday Inn. I guess it's location, location, location, as the Fairfield looked nearly full both nights we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear BriWas,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel on your family’s bike trip! We appreciate your feedback, both the positive and negative. Thanks especially for recognizing the entire team – they are dedicated to a high standard of service and were all smiles as I shared that part of your review! I regret the slow service at breakfast, and apologize for that; please know I have addressed this with our restaurant team. We hope you come back to see us again on your next ride.

Yours truly,

John Sherman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    107
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
81
94
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks county
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

while our stay was nice upon returning home i saw a row of bites on my abdomen that were not there the night before

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. The hotel is situated within walking distance to area attractions and restaurants. Great continental breakfast.

The only criticism is that I think it is slightly overpriced for the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Hoping to stay in a hotel near the Great Allegheny and C&O Towpath bike trails, we found this hotel and are really glad we did. It's new, clean, comfortable, and convenient to shops as well as being located right on the bike paths. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were very good and the hotel worked to accommodate bicyclists (such as having a bike washing station for riders whose bikes became dusty on the C&O path).
The city of Cumberland has figured out something that other US cities need to learn: encouraging biking can provide a great potential boom to the economy of your town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Great Alleghany Passage and the C&O Canal. We could look out our hotel room window and the trails. It was wonderful to ride right out of the hotel rather than have to drive to a trail access area. The Western Maryland Railroad was a very short walk away as well as restaurants and museums. Friday evening a live band played on an open stage and everyone seemed to be having a good time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Friendly and accomodating. Clean and comfortable. Great Breakfast. Stopped here while bicycling the C & O Canal Towpath and the Great Allegheny Passage Rail Trail.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Several friends and family stayed here for a weekend. We chose it over the aging Holiday Inn and are glad. There aren't many hotels in Cumberland and it's the best and newest. The friendly and responsive staff put us on the top floor, away from noisy elevators and vending machines, per our request. The hotel seemed fairly full, but we were not bothered by noise. I think the even-numbered rooms are quieter than the opposite side, due to road noise. The friendly housekeeping staff honored our request to not disturb.

The room size was fine for one person, a bit cramped for more. Very clean and fresh. Comfy mattress and plenty of pillows. Nice flat screen TV, although the satellite signal was spotty one day and some channels skipped in and out; not as much selection as other hotel chains. Cheerful decor. Good closet and plenty of drawers and accessible outlets and lighting. Didn't use the wifi but it's the typical hotel setup in the rooms and lobby. Roomy bathroom and there was shampoo, conditioner and soap; smallish tub. Quiet fan. In my king room I could not see the bright, blinking smoke detector light from the bed. The blackout curtains did not completely cover the light--they could cover more area to do the job. No microwave or fridge. Didn't need it for this trip but always appreciate it for longer stays.

The free breakfast buffet was great with a wonderful attendant. There was a wide variety of food--eggs, meats, fruit, yogurt, cereal and waffles. My only complaint was there was a long wait to use the waffle machine--they should have at least two.

Within walking distance are three fast food restaurants, but for anything else you'll need a car. Downtown Cumberland is tricky to navigate, but I found the hotel's highway signage perfect for locating the property.

Room Tip: Top floor end rooms away from road are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Address: 21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Cumberland
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland Hotel Cumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.