We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Ottaviani

Ristorante Ottaviani
25 N. Centre Street, Cumberland, MD
+1 301-722-0052
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Cumberland
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Family owned Italian, Kid Friendly, Offer Gluten Free Entrees and Desserts, Live Music, Outdoor Seating, Catering, Can Accomdate Large Parties
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We're visiting Cumberland from DC, and we loved this place. It was cold outside, but warm and cozy inside. There was even live piano, AND he took requests, and he even played Gershwin. Awesome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    38
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Previous reviews and a #2 TripAdvisor rating brought us to this wonderful restaurant when visiting Cumberland to take in its history. The food, wine and desert was top shelve and reasonably priced, plus a wonderful and romantic atmosphere made for a most enjoyable dinner for my wife and I. It was exactly what we had hoped for and expected!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Our go-to choice for a great meal in downtown Cumberland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We get to Cumberland twice a year. Always enjoy Ristorante Ottaviani for the high quality of their food. Our most recent visit was with two other couples -- both who also wanted to return to the restaurant following earlier visits! Sure, sometimes the kitchen can get a tiny bit behind, but what they produce is exceptional. Our only quibble with the restaurant is their wine program, especially selection by the glass is lacking. Wine needs to meet the quality of their very fine food. Appetizers and desserts are as good as the entrees. Overall a must visit dining spot in Cumberland. We'll be back again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came for our 20th anniversary. When we made a reservation they prepared a special table for us and brought us complementary champagne upon arrival.
Being from the DC area we are spoiled with all the amazing restaurants We can choose from.
Ristorante Ottaviani outshined them all. For our appetizer we ordered the Carpaccio. It was amazing with the bread and olive oil.
For dinner we ordered Civitella Pasta. It was pasta and asparagus with three mushroom and white truffle sauce. Served with the chianti, it was amazing.
My husband ordered the chicken Abruzzo. It was Gorgonzola crusted chicken breast served with pasta over a bed of spinach and mushrooms soaked in balsamic vinegar.
We highly suggest you stop in here next time you're passing through Cumberland.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

What a gem! Loved this place. Not only lovely atmosphere but great service. Will definitely recommend to anyone. Planning another visit soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Ottaviani also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Ottaviani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Ottaviani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.