We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crisfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3 South Somerset Avenue, Crisfield, MD 21817   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Crisfield B&B and Inns
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My wife and I travel to Crisfield often, and stay at Marquis Manor at least twice each month.
Marquis Manor B&B is a circa 1900 Victorian Home, with a pristine setting, surrounded by numerous gardens and lots of trees. Nature surrounds you, yet the property is located within the City Limits of Crisfield and only minutes away from shopping, dining, and water oriented activities. The Manor is fully and tastefully decorated from the period. We find the rooms to be spacious and extremely comfortable. We have always found the rooms to be spotless and well equipped with fresh towels as well as accessory items which one may have forgotten.
Mr. & Mrs. Marquis are always very delightful, and helpful. Each morning we are greeted with a delicious breakfast second to none. As far as we're concerned, Marquis Manor B&B is the only place to stay while in Crisfield.

Room Tip: We like all the rooms however, the Cocoa room is our first preference, while the Blue and Gold room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This place was filthy – everything in the house was dirty! The bathroom had a small sink in a cubby hole in the wall. Doesn’t the Health Department inspect? The night we stayed was cold and the room’s only heat consisted of an electric heater - no heat in the bathroom at all. We slept with extra clothing and were still cold. The room never did get warm. We ate breakfast downstairs and had to wear our winter coats. The radiator heat in the main part of the house and the guest quarters was not working. One of the owners stated that they used a wood stove to heat their quarters and that the furnace was not working for the rest of the house. The owners were pleasant but I’ve never had a worse night’s stay. We booked two nights but left after the first night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marquismanor, Owner at Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
This review was done December 9th. We were experiencing furnace problems and let the guests know ahead of time. The night outside temp did not get below 44 degrees for this night. Normally we do not take guests this time of year, but these particular guests had to be in Crisfield for one night so we booked the reservation. We do all of our maintenance and renovations during this time of year and let them know beforehand. This was an unfair review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This treasure is something I wouldn't expect to find in this little bay town. I was visiting on business and attempted to get a hotel room for the evening. Upon pulling into the pines motel, I immediatley left due to its curb appeal which did not seem like a safe or cleanly place at all. Then I went to the only other hotel available which is the paddle wheel where noone was available and isn't in a great location either. So as a last attempt I asked a local at the gas station if they knew of any B &B's in town and he sent me to Marquis Manor, which was a life saver. There was a gentleman working in the yard of the B&B who happened to be the owner, and booked me a room on the spot. I had dinner with the owners at their cafe the Blue Crab and had a tasty wakeup with fresh coffee on the balcany with a gourmet meal. The home isn't a Marriott but thats what I liked most about it. It is over a 100year old victorian. So much character and warmth this house exerts. The price was well worth the care I received and I will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Never before have we felt this comfortable at a B&B. Dave and Carolyn welcomed us and made us feel like this was our home. meals were when they fit our schedule, and they were helpful in arranging access to local attractions. All we had to do was show up and enjoy. Great place for a romantic weekend get away with a variety of activities at your disposal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We went to ride in the Jaycee's Softshell bicycle ride and looked in Crisfield to ensure we started on time. Our friends made the reservation for us to stay and we all had a delightful time. Meals at the B&B and the Blue Crab Cafe were delightful, and positively unique. The home was delightful and showed the care of the work that Dave and Carolyn have done. We enjoyed eating inside for breakfast and having dinner outside (we brought food in) on the beautiful screened porch with the breeze blowing through. We plan to go again at a later date and enjoy the home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We're writing this at the table over one last cup of coffee after a really nice breakfast: veggie soufflé, sausages, toast, with juice, cereals, etc. available. We slept last night like two contented logs in the perfect stillness of this great Victorian house. We wish we had more than one night to spend.

The welcome started at the Blue Crab Garden Café down by the water, which Carolyn & Dave Marquis also own. They both couldn't have been nicer, and what especially stands out is their genuine desire that we enjoy every aspect of our stay.

A word in response to the one negative rating: This is a 19th-century house which when the Marquises acquired it was badly in need of restoration. They've done a great job and are continuing with the work, which they do in the slow seasons and do their best to keep out of the guests' way. As owners of an old house ourselves we appreciate their effort and applaud the result. When you call for a reservation, if you have concerns about this or anything else, you should feel very free to ask, and we're sure you'll get a straightforward answer from these exceptionally nice and friendly people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Birthday coming up August 20, what to do, Poconos plans fell through. Have always wanted to go to Crisfield and Taniger Island. Started looking at places to stay and found Marquis Manor. Problem was that I have been burned before with making reservation on line. Decided to call and talk to Carolyn then see how I felt. She made me feel like I was talking to a friend or family member so the reservations were made. My wife has never been to a B&B so quesions during the whole trip down. Meet on arrival by Dave who immediately made us feel welcome. Meet caroyn a hour later and again felt welcome.All weekend long even thou there were other couples there Carolyn made us feel like we were the most important couple there. They took us to the Tiki bar at night and served us breakfast in the morning with Carolyn cooking on Saturday and Dave on Sunday. Oh yes the wife says you must go to there Cafe and get the crab soup, Dave makes it, its to die for. Bottom line is I have done a lot of traveling in my life and Dave & Carolyn are the friendlest hosts we have ever been aroud. When you add that to the frendly local peopel we will be back. In fact we called a couple of days later and booked for September bet had to cancell, will be ging in November.
Will never forget my birthday weekend.
Sam & Debbie

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 South Somerset Avenue, Crisfield, MD 21817
Location: United States > Maryland > Crisfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crisfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service Bed and Breakfast which caters to outdoor activities (Jane Island State Park) such as golfing, kyaking, fishing, crabbing, bicycling, hunting, eco tours and local heritage and cultural pursuits of the Cheasapeake Bay. We also specialize in weddings, private parties and corporate packages and are near enough to Ocean City and Chincoteage for a trip to the Atlantic Ocean. Our location in the historic area, with walking distance to everything, makes Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast an ideal destination for those that seek a unique experience near the Bay. Time stands still, traffic is nonexistent and your relaxation is our main priority. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.