We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not good for relaxing...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10207 Wincopin Cr., Columbia, MD 21044   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Richardson, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not good for relaxing...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a few times due to it's close proximity to my businesws meeting and it's overall a nice place. There is a lake that backs up to the hotel. The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. There are two sections of the hotel - the main section that overlooks the atrium/lobby and the "lodge" portion that resides next to the main part of the hotel. I stayed in a room that overlooked the atrium and the problem was excessive noise. I could hear all the activity and conversations all hours of the day and night echoing from the hotel lobby and it can be very difficult for a light sleeper like myself to rest. In trying to adjust the room temperature, it was always too cold or too hot and the fan feature did not work which would have blocked out some of the noise. I will say if you stay in the lodge part of the hotel it is quieter, but a further walk to haul luggage. Internet service was very slow. The best part of this hotel is the bedding - very plush furnishings and an extremely comfortable mattress. If they could find a way to absorb some of the noise from the lobby, it would be a much better experience.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaydin, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
I thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay. I am pleased to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments.

I also appreciate you bringing to my attention the noise issue that you have experienced. Rest assured that this is not the norm and we have taken steps to correct this issue. Our water feature in the lobby has helped absorb some of the noise. In addition, we have hired an acoustical company that is installing a special stripping around the doors to eliminate this issue all together.

Once again, thank you for your business, feedback and we hope to serve you again in the future.

At your service,
Orkun Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    90
    60
    28
    49
See reviews for
70
53
51
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This year, my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Columbia Sheraton in July in one of their club rooms. From the moment we entered to the moment we left this beautifully decorated hotel – it was a fabulous experience!! The staff were very courteous and extremely pleasant – that includes the front desk staff; the staff answering the phone; the staff you meet in the hall or elevator and the very lovely lady in the club lounge where we had breakfast. The room was lovely and the bed was awesome - like sleeping on my bed at home - that does not usually happen when I go away. We are looking forward to coming back to the hotel next July and our friends who joined us have decided to join us also. We also use the Columbia Sheraton as a venue for our BWCC Women in Business networking events and we are looking forward to the ones this year. The hotel at Christmas is beautifully decorated. I think that what is said about the hotel is very true - You don't just stay here. You belong.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

From day one of planning our wedding, we have been very pleased with the response and service of the Sheraton staff. Our wedding day was absolutely amazing and definitely exceeded our expectations. We got married outside on the lake terrace on a beautiful day so it was perfect. Everything went as planned!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaydin, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
I appreciate you taking the time to write a comment about our services and sharing with other viewers as well. Congratulations on your special day. Other guests like yourself certainly enjoy our special setting for weddings especially as well. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you on your anniversary if not sooner.

My best wishes,
Orkun Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Walking distance from the the Merriweather Pavilion. Was very quite especially considering we were there for an 80s metal festival. Very nice staff, cute pool area. Over looks a lake. Lots of good near-by restaurants. Breakfasts at the hotel are over priced, but that would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaydin, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
I truly appreciate your note and also sharing it with other viewers as well. I am glad that you enjoyed our resort like setting hotel as it certainly has a lot to offer.

We appreciate your business and hope that you will visit us again in near future.

Thanks again and best wishes,

Orkun Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I stay at the Sheraton in Columbia quite often for business and LA McNight continually provides me with top-notch customer service. He ensures that my travel needs are taken care of promptly, making my business-related stays at the Sheraton thoroughly enjoyable and stress-free. Additionally, LA is always courteous and extremely helpful.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaydin, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2010
I appreciate your comments and sharing with other reviewers as well. We thank you for making our hotel a "home away from home" while you travel on business. LA will also be recognized for exceeding your expectations.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in near future.

Best regards,
Orkun

Orkun Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Bebe Miller and all the staff at the Sheraton Columbia contributed to making our wedding dinner and stay a memorable occasion. Every detail was attended to with precision. The staff, every one, was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaydin, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Congratulations on your special day. I am glad to see that Bebe and other members of our team made your day a special one. I will share your comments with my staff for their recognition.

We hope to see you in near future. Congratulations again and thank you for sharing your comments with other viewers as well.

Best wishes,

Orkun Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipstown, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

we have stayed at many domestic and international SPG properties and were thoroughly impressed w/the Sheraton Columbia - I had emailed Orkun ahead of time w/some special requests and he was kind enough to reply and take special care of us for our anniversary and M3 festival weekend - the staff and van driver were terrific as well - we will definitely be back again next year, and when our business travel takes us to the BALT/DC area - once again thank you Orkun and Sheraton Columbia!

-Freddie & Kim Cinquina Jr.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaydin, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Mr. Cinquina, thank you for your comments and sharing with others as well. Happy anniversary again. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Orkun Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel

Address: 10207 Wincopin Cr., Columbia, MD 21044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Baltimore's Inner Harbor and the Capitol, the Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel is also near Merriweather Post Pavilion, Toby's Dinner Theatre and The Mall in Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Columbia Town Hotel Columbia
Columbia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.