We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10207 Wincopin Cr., Columbia, MD 21044   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Pros: 3rd floor room in lodge section was clean, spacious, quiet, well-lit, and comfortable. Wonderful bed. Refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee service was greatly appreciated. Restaurant had good food (best sweet potato fries and calamari ever). Free wifi in rooms worked well. Walking distance to mall, restaurants, beautiful lake. Ample parking.

Cons: Hallways in lodge section seemed dirty and musty - time for renovation. No elevator to rooms in lodge areas - big negative. I enrolled in the green housekeeping program and no one even entered my room in my 4 night stay: the garbage was never emptied, and I had to find the housekeeping staff to get more cups, coffee, bags for ice bucket. Odd, to say the least. Service seemed inconsistent: some staff were super, others seemed unconcerned and incapable. Some in our business party said their rooms were poorly maintained or had service problems that went unresolved. No coffee stand in lobby for quick breakfast option.

Overall: Mixed feelings. Okay for short stay. Hotel would benefit from renovation in lodge hallway areas. Some staff need an attitude adjustment and/or more training.

Room Tip: 3rd floor lodge rooms on parking lot side have high ceilings that make the rooms feel spacious. No e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Giannino, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I truly appreciate the time and detail you put into your review of the property - thank you. I will review some of the concerns you had with the Team and esnure that they get addressed. I would like to comment on two items that you mentioned:
1.) The Make a Green Choice is a great program that is working towards Starwood ultimate green initiave goal - it is true that once selected there is NO service to the room unless requested. I apologize for the inconveneince and assure you it was not an oversite but the way the program runs.
2.) We offer complimentary coffee 7-days a week in the morning. Monday through Friday it is in the Lobby and the Lodge A entrance and the weekends it is in front of the restaurant. I am sorry if you missed these daily set ups
I will also work closely with the associates as you mentioned that you had inconsistent service.
Again, thank you for the detail and we hope you will feel comfortable staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    98
    69
    29
    51
See reviews for
77
59
52
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, IN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great view from the Club Lounge. Very comfortable rooms and beds. Room was very clean. Close to many eating and shopping establishments.Very convenient / short walk to the Columbia Mall. The atrium view was very nice. Parking is free and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Giannino, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the property. I agree we have great views from our Club Level - they are even better in July 4th during the fireworks. I will be certain to share your comments with the Team.
We look forward to being able to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

In the year of 2013, not all of their standard rooms have mini-fridge, microwave, and wi-fi. Upon requesting a microwave to use in room, they charge you $25 in order to bring one to you. I asked why there is such fee, she said "it's because someone will have to unplug it from one room to bring it to yours." And there was none available in any other area on the floor, or even in the whole hotel either. The customer service was poor. I did not feel any hospitality. I did not feel welcomed. I did not feel the staff was apologetic or even sympathetic about the situation. I simply told them that I will not return again. Oh, and there were stinkbugs in the room.

If you don't care about the amenities I mentioned, this place is at a convenient location. But I would advise not to pay for such big name hotel for this service.

Room Tip: Ask about the differences in the new tower vs old. The old ones don't equip with the fridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Giannino, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the property - I am very sorry about the challenges with the microwave and fridge; I will certainly review this with our team on property. I realize that you did not feel our customer service was up to speed and I/we take this very serious - this is something that will be adressed. The stink bug situation is one that we are all battling - recent reports list 39 States with serious issues with many on the East coast. We continue to combat them as best we can.
I hope that you will give us another opportunity to improve on these items on a future visit to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location: the Kittamaqundi Lake is just behind the hotel, with scenic trails and some nice restaurants within walking distance. The Columbia Mall is right across the parkway. The rooms are good and well kept with the comfort you expect from a Sheraton. There is one problem, though: the hotel seems to be a popular place for weddings and reunions, so you may experience large lines during check-in or check-out, and worse: sleeping at night may be a challenge. The common areas used for the parties have no sound insulation from the reception area - and the apartments in the main tower are accessed by open aisles that seem to reverberate the sounds of loud conversation and the party noise from the ground floor. The hotel has other rooms in a nice annex that extends to the North where noise is not a problem - but the acess from the reception requires traversing a maze of corridors and stairs, so you may prefer to exit the building instead of walking indoors. Service ranges from great to indifferent - it really depends on whom you talk to. A nice thing about the hotel: it provides shuttle service to locations in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are easily accessible but may be quite noisy (see review). Rooms in other sectors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Giannino, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I truly appreciate the amount and the detail you supplied on your recent stay with us... we always strive to do better and will use your reccommendations to improve. I realize the sound can travel throughout the atrium and we make every attempt to maintain noise levels low especially as the night moves on.
We hope that you will still stay with us on future visits - please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any service....my email is joe.giannino@sheratoncolumbia.com
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

To whom it may concern,
My recent stay at the Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel was horrible. I had booked two rooms, each with two double beds, l through Expedia about a week before my check in date. I had called the hotel directly and asked for conjoining rooms, or at least to have them on the same floor next to each other. The person I spoke to said that would be no problem at all and she would make a note of it. When me, my wife and two brothers went to check in (all of which are in the military serving our country), we were rudely informed that I could not check in because I was "only" 20 years old even though my two brothers are over the age of 21 and were staying in those two rooms. The lady we were speaking to said that we should just call Expedia and change the reservation to one of their names because the other way to do it required her to do more work. After going to take care of changing the name on the reservation, we came back to the front desk and proceeded to check in. However, when she basically threw the two room keys at us, I asked if they were next to each other and all she said was "No it's too late for that we can't help you". A little taken back, I just walked away. To my surprise, not only were the rooms not next to each other, they were not even on the same floor. One was on the third floor and the other on the fifth. Already irritated, we went into the rooms and found that they were only one queen bed in each room when we specifically reserved two double beds. We walked straight back out to the front desk and told them what was wrong and they lady who we were spoke to acted as if she did not want to help us. She said that Expedia should not have even offered us the two double bed rooms and that it is solely Expedia's fault. I, however, made her fix it and asked to speak to a manager. She rudely said that that would be her. Her name was Sharlyene Joseph. I continued to explain how frustrating everything was and again, she took absolutely no blame for anything and just blamed it on Expedia. Getting nowhere, I walked away. We were all standing there with our bags for about thirty minutes and when we went up to her to ask what was going on she threatened to cancel our reservation all together. I highly doubt she was actually the manager, and if she is, she needs to be fired or demoted. She was extremely rude to all of us. When she finally gave the new keys to us, she stopped us from getting into the elevator and told us to go up the stairs for some reason. I found it very unprofessional and rude of her. Our rooms still were not on the same floors. It was my wedding night and had chose to stay at the Sheraton because I thought it would be a pleasant experience. For the one night we were able to take away from work, it was extremely unpleasant. Unfortunately, it turned the happiest day of my life into one of the worst nights. For the service I received I would not have even paid two dollars for those rooms. This was by far a waste of $200.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Giannino, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am in receipt of your detailed information and we have already worked with Sheraton to address this issue. Though an explanation at this point may seem redundant I would like to stress that county laws do not allow us to check in a guest unless they are 21 years of age or older....In this instance I believe we were attempting to assist by cancelling and rebooking under the name of the older person who would be occupying the room with you - regretably this seemed to complicate and possibly start your stay off the wrong way. I am very sorry for all the confusion and the perception you departed with. We are very dedicated to our guest experience and wanted your wedding night to be a special one and not spoiled. I hope that in the future you will be able to join us again and allow us to correct some of these issues.
Please feel free to contact me directly if I can assist in any way - my email address is Joe.Giannino@sheratoncolumbia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had reserved a group rate for my wedding guests to stay at the Sheraton Columbia over Labor Day weekend. The tower rooms are very nice and have lovely views - in particular the corner rooms are quite large and provided a lovely setting for the bridal party to get ready. We were expecting the Lodge rooms to not be as nice, so that is fine.

However, my main complaint is that many guests had to wait over 2 hours to check into their rooms, even though they arrived at or after 3 pm, which is the stated check-in time. One couple actually just gave up their room and stayed in another couple's room after waiting over 2 hours and their room still not being ready. The hotel did not seem particularly apologetic about this inconvenience. The front desk also has very strict security, requiring to see an ID every time you get an extra key.

As others have mentioned, the Tower is rather noisy because of the open concept design. Also, to access the rooms on the 8th floor and above, guests must have a card which is designated for those floors. This was a bit problematic, as we were trying to get ready in one room and had to have the people staying in that room escort us up to the higher floor.

Room Tip: Corner Tower Rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Giannino, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review of the property. I am reviewing your comments with my front office management team as I am very concerned about the length of time it took you to register. We have a wonderful housekeeping staff and rarely have challenges with rooms being available at, or after, 3pm.
Please do not hesitate to contact me direclty if I can be of any further service or if there are more details on the experience....I can be reached at Joe.Giannino@sheratoncolumbia.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I had a very large room that was clean bright and modern. I can't fault the staff that I spoke with. Very helpful and friendly. My big problem was the noise. The hotel has an open atrium and all the rooms open onto this. While it looks very nice, all the noise from people in the floors above and below carry through the open space. More than once I was disturbed from my sleep by the noise from outside my room and from within the hotel. My advise is great place to stay but bring your earplugs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Giannino, General Manager at Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the property - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Due to the nature of the atrium we do experience times when the lobby traffic and lounge patron noise travels. We have put in new wood/glass doors that we close in the evening in an attempt to reduce as much noise as possible. I am sorry for this disturbance and hope that you will continue to stay with us when in the Columbia area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel

Address: 10207 Wincopin Cr., Columbia, MD 21044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#6 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Baltimore's Inner Harbor and the Capitol, the Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel is also near Merriweather Post Pavilion, Toby's Dinner Theatre and The Mall in Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Columbia Town Hotel Columbia
Columbia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.