We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Updated Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Updated Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Courtyard Marriott was recently updated and has a very modern, clean look to it. We've been staying in the area for a while for work, and after trying several other hotels, settled on Courtyard Marriott. It's sort of a new breed of hotels that has fewer offerings, but does them well - I'd compare it to a Hyatt Place.

PROS:
- Free wireless internet and free parking

- The lobby is very swanky/modern and the cafe is right in the middle. There are plenty of great areas to relax, work or grab a bite. The food is affordable and very tasty. Great breakfast selections as well and everything is prepared fast.

-. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day

- Convenience shop with snacks, frozen foods (there is a microwave there too), toiletries, etc. that is open very late

- Modern rooms with great splashes of color, flat screen TVs and expanded channel line up. The rooms were clean, everything was fully stocked, etc. Most rooms also have a small fridge

- Close to restaurants, shopping, etc. There's a steak house within walking distance

- The staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in is fast, no hassles there

CONS (no major cons really, but just some things to note):
- there is no room service. Their staff is somewhat limited, so if you call down for something (like a blow dryer), it may take a while to get it

- no movie rentals through the TV

- the beds are somewhat uncomfortable, but not terrible. The worst part was the very thin blanket that barely kept me warm. I started requesting a second one to be brought to my room.

Overall, a great affordable hotel. There are a few flaws, but they get the majority of things right.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
21
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

First, LOVE this hotel. The things that stand our are great customer service, a really neat twist on in hotel restaurant offerings with a sort of "diner" in the lobby. Affordable and with a nice selection (even for kids). We were able to buy something and then bring it up to our room .. which was fabulous. The diner itself has cool seats, little TVs at some of the booths and an overall "coolness".

The room was very nice. Sort of Japanese hip ... red shots of color, nice furniture ... just great.

Up until we went to bed, it was one of the best moderate hotels I ever stayed at.

Then we went to sleep. And then we woke up and we woke up and we woke up.

I have no idea what was going on, but the heat was the loudest I've EVER heard. I'm a very deep sleeper, and yet the heat woke me up all night long with a super loud VROOOOM whenever it kicked in. In addition, the room was sweltering. We lowered the heat when we went to bed, and then lowered it again in the middle of the night, but it was just dreadful.

I have no idea what was going on or why it happened ... but we're experienced travelers and not light sleepers.

Unfortunately, it truly marred our experience as we wanted desperately to rest up.

That being said, the hotel is convenient to many restaurants. good shopping, merriweather and much more.

As long as you turn the heat off (I think that's the only solution) .. you will have a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stayed two nights at the thanks giving holiday 2010. The staff were extremely helpful and nice. The rooms are clean, spacious, everything was perfect

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Overall the hotel was great. Clean rooms, clean rugs, no smelly, musty odors. The location is ideal and the prices are excellent. The staff was very polite and helpful. Nevertheless the overall experience was good except for one thing. Are there any honest people left? I left a full size shampoo & conditioner & facial product in the shower. I called the next morning while staying at the Marriott in downtown Philly. The products were never turned in. Why am I not surprised?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We travel frequently and have stayed at many Courtyards but this is by far the best. Our check-in was fast and easy and we were actually greeted with a smile. The rooms were beautifully decorated with very comfortable beds, large flat screen TV which turned in all directions, free wireless and a very clean bathroom. The room colors are very soothing and our room had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard. When we asked about dining in the area, we were given a map with many different restaurants and received a recommendation of the Stanford Grill which is right next to the hotel. Fantastic restaurant! The food was delicious (I had the best crab cakes, made fresh with lump crabmeat and no fillers and my husband had the chicken, another great pick.) When we told them we were staying at the Courtyard we received a free dessert. Also delicious. They had a small band playing in the bar which added to the lovely mood. By far one of the best restaurants we have ever dined at. If you are in the area definitely stay at the Courtyard and enjoy a meal at the Stanford Grill.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

The rooms have red accents instead of the usual blue and green. The effect is noticeable: I liked this room more than I have most Courtyards.

The bed also seemed better than at most Courtyards I've stayed at lately. Synthetic duvet, natural fiber pillows; the bedding could be far better, but it's adequate. Indoor pool and hot tub. Free wireless.

The laundry room has only one washer ($1/load, free detergent) and one dryer ($1/30 minutes). The machines were broken on my last stay here, but they were working this time. Staff were very accommodating.

Like most hotels in Columbia, this one is hard to find: get good directions.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I had my luggage stolen from outside my hotel room door while staying at this hotel. It happened around 2am when we were going back and forth taking things to our car & left some items unattended for a short while. When I went to the front desk the manager on duty was horrible. Said there was nothing she could do. Would not even try to help or be proactive in helping me. There are no security cameras in the hallways either. Unless they get better management at this location, I would not stay here. They are not equipped to provide proper customer service when a situation arises out of the norm.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Address: 8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.