We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Caldwell, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed there on August 9th for one night. Arrived at about 4pm, went to a family birthday party, returned at 2am, slept, showered, and left.
We had a single king bed room and opted out of having breakfast included in our rate, already having plans for breakfast elsewhere. We did not have any experience with the restaurant, but would have if we had the time.
There was no wait on check-in, the one person on the staff that we dealt with was very polite and helpful. No problem finding a parking space at 4pm or at 2am. We used a room-key secured side door after finding that there was one close to our room, much closer than the front desk area. The room had everything we needed: coffee maker, mini-fridge, etc. No smell from the cranked-up A/C or anything else. Never heard any noise over the A/C and TV from outside (the courtyard) or the connecting room door or the hallway either for that matter. Other than a few spots on the wallpaper likely damaged by previous guests, the room was perfectly clean, nothing to even nitpick about. [We manage an apartment building and notice _everything_]
Lots of plugs for chargers and what not on the desk.
Tried an HDMI cable in the TV for Netflix/Hulu/whatever via my smart phone, no go - I use it successfully at just about every hotel I stay at.
The TV is straight-on from the couch, but perpendicular to the bed, so the wardrobe blocks it a bit, but not a big deal.
The shower head was a bit low for me, I had to duck, but that goes for 95% of the hotels in the world - I'm 6'3".
With this site and the many others that are available, we actually found the best rate by booking directly with marriott.com with the AAA discount.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    56
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
23
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

You would think that breakfast would be included for the price. I had an overall good experience with the room itself. Staff was friendly and it was ideally located near venues. I could not hook up to the wifi. The rate of the hotel was bumped up for the weekend. They were not military friendly. I was told that there was a flat rate for military. Which was not good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Mike W, Thanks for sharing your experience from the most recent stay with us! We are always honored to serve the men and women which serve our country and apologize the military rate was not available during the time you stayed. We do have a great Bistro which offers a vast variety of items for breakfast, dinner and full bar service. Though it is not free, we feel it offers value to our guests in allowing them to stay in if desired. Please reach out to me directly if ever back in the area as we would love to serve you again in the future!
Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As a global traveler who spends a bunch of nights in hotels annually, this particular Courtyard hotel is just okay.

The hallways are very dark, which makes it feel a bit strange, but the room is always nice. The wall AC units are loud as usual, but it does have AC. This hotel doesn't really offer a room service option, but there is a decent restaurant near by, but it's pretty expensive.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hi Ewokman! Thanks for taking time to share your feedback! Happy to hear you enjoy the rooms... Though we do not offer room service, we do take orders over the phone and can pack to go, making it easy to grab and go. Hope to see you again soon!

Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights this week. The location is perfect - close to restaurants and shopping. Both the room and lobby were very clean. Front desk staff were pleasant during check-in. The hotel does have a bit of an odd layout but it would not keep me from returning to this hotel in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, pre-paying $79/night via the Marriott site for a standard king bedroom. The hotel and room were clean and well-decorated, and the staff were all friendly and professional. Wi-Fi worked well. The dim lighting around the vanity area isn't great for putting on makeup, unless you're planning to go somewhere else that's dimly lit, but that seems to be what hotels at this level like to go with these days. The positioning of the thermostat was such that the airflow from the A/C unit took a while to get to it, so we had to fiddle a lot to find a setting that would keep an acceptable level of coolness in the room without freezing, and the A/C unit itself was a bit noisy for sleeping soundly (we just ended up turning it off at night). We ate dinner at the Bistro both nights, and the food – while limited in selection and somewhat pricey – was tasty and filling. They could use an extra person on staff at the Bistro in the early evenings, because just one person was taking care of all the orders both nights, and it took a while to get our food. We didn't try breakfast because we typically don't eat much for that meal; we just brought breakfast bars with us to eat in our room. There are plenty of other nearby restaurants within walking distance, too (we ate lunch at Panera Bread one day), so you have options. All in all, a decent stay for a short getaway. As a plus, it's only about a 10-minute drive to Merriweather Post Pavilion (where we saw Queen + Adam Lambert) – as long as you don't hit a massive backup of concert traffic along the way!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This location was perfect for my family for the weekend. This location is very clean and has many rooms, some with balconies. I recommend paying the few extra dollars to include breakfast in your hotel rate. The lobby is very inviting and serves food and alcohol for your convenience. Decent sized indoor pool had my kids happy. Many restaurants locally and a 20 minute drive to the Inner harbor and Camden Yards. Staff at the hotel was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was a short drive to Camden Yards ar the inner harbor without paying the high price of hotels near there. This location has a very friendly staff, very clean rooms, a very inviting lobby with a small bar and restaurant area, and an indoor pool. Some rooms have balconies. We decided to pay a few dollars more a night to get the breakfast included and it was well worth it. There are many restaurants all very close to this location. My family really enjoyed the stay there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Address: 8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.