We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights this week. The location is perfect - close to restaurants and shopping. Both the room and lobby were very clean. Front desk staff were pleasant during check-in. The hotel does have a bit of an odd layout but it would not keep me from returning to this hotel in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    56
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
23
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, pre-paying $79/night via the Marriott site for a standard king bedroom. The hotel and room were clean and well-decorated, and the staff were all friendly and professional. Wi-Fi worked well. The dim lighting around the vanity area isn't great for putting on makeup, unless you're planning to go somewhere else that's dimly lit, but that seems to be what hotels at this level like to go with these days. The positioning of the thermostat was such that the airflow from the A/C unit took a while to get to it, so we had to fiddle a lot to find a setting that would keep an acceptable level of coolness in the room without freezing, and the A/C unit itself was a bit noisy for sleeping soundly (we just ended up turning it off at night). We ate dinner at the Bistro both nights, and the food – while limited in selection and somewhat pricey – was tasty and filling. They could use an extra person on staff at the Bistro in the early evenings, because just one person was taking care of all the orders both nights, and it took a while to get our food. We didn't try breakfast because we typically don't eat much for that meal; we just brought breakfast bars with us to eat in our room. There are plenty of other nearby restaurants within walking distance, too (we ate lunch at Panera Bread one day), so you have options. All in all, a decent stay for a short getaway. As a plus, it's only about a 10-minute drive to Merriweather Post Pavilion (where we saw Queen + Adam Lambert) – as long as you don't hit a massive backup of concert traffic along the way!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This location was perfect for my family for the weekend. This location is very clean and has many rooms, some with balconies. I recommend paying the few extra dollars to include breakfast in your hotel rate. The lobby is very inviting and serves food and alcohol for your convenience. Decent sized indoor pool had my kids happy. Many restaurants locally and a 20 minute drive to the Inner harbor and Camden Yards. Staff at the hotel was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was a short drive to Camden Yards ar the inner harbor without paying the high price of hotels near there. This location has a very friendly staff, very clean rooms, a very inviting lobby with a small bar and restaurant area, and an indoor pool. Some rooms have balconies. We decided to pay a few dollars more a night to get the breakfast included and it was well worth it. There are many restaurants all very close to this location. My family really enjoyed the stay there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

It is functional, it's a Courtyard, nothing extraordinary about it, but it needs some serious cleaning, mainly in the AC and carpets. Stay away if you have allergies, windows only opened a little bit, so it was impossible for proper air circulation of rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hi Mextravelr6, Thanks for taking time to share your most recent feedback. We were disapointed to hear that you were'nt satisfied with your stay. In the future, if you enjoy more outside air, we would be happy to block you in on of our rooms with a balcony door. Regarding this stay, at your convenience, please reach out to me directly so we can address the specific concerns you mention. Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you in the future!

Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My son and I stayed here at the end of June for a hoops tournament in Laurel, MD, about 10-15 minutes away. Nice hotel with lovely staff. Hard to find in the dark; the hotel is located at the back of an industrial park...make the right past the Wegman's and follow the road, go around the circle, past the Extended Stay, and you'll be there. Could use better signage!

Speaking of the Wegman's, skip the hotel breakfast bar (a little pricey but convenient; Starbucks coffee) and go over to Wegman's, which opens very early and pick up breakfast and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Greetings Flipnb, Thanks for taking time to share the experience at our hotel! We like to consider ouselves a hidden gem as we are tucked away in the back of a great little business business park with many restaurants and bars with-in walking distance. Happy to hear you found your way around and located the new Wegmans as well! Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed at this property. This hotel has a great location, that is close to several restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well kept. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Columbia, Maryland area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Nptp84, We were so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel! Thanks for taking to to share this stay and cant wait to serve you again!

Warm Regards,

Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Address: 8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.