We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated and very spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Chappaqua, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Newly renovated and very spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

In this trip we stayed in 3 different Courtyards in Virginia and MD. This one was the most spacious, with living room and a very spacious bedroom with 2 queen beds. 2 TVs. 1 bar.
The suite is totally newly renovated. It also has balcony.

Our youngest kid liked it so much that requested us to stay one more night. The pool is new, it is illuminated at night from underneath. The gym is very small.

It is conveniently located 25 minutes from Baltimore, with many fast food and restaurants closeby.

The water in the room is charged, each bottle $5.
No breakfast at morning.
Yes coffee machine and different coffes to make. No tea bags.
No microwave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello OrquidLady! Thank you for your loyalty to Courtyard by Marriott! Sounds like you had a Great trip and maybe we have created another loyal member in your kid... =) If ever back at our hotel or other Courtyards, please feel free to utilize our complimentary microwave in the lobby near the front desk and try out one of our wonderful Tazo teas... I'm sure you would enjoy (my favorite is zen). Hope to see you again soon and share my best with the family!

Warm regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    54
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
23
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The rooms were clean, the staff very helpful and friendly, but NO FREE Breakfast of any kind. Many other Hotels in the area offered a FULL FREE Breakfast and for the same rate or less.

We tried to find a place nearby that had a breakfast and there wasn't any really, just sandwich type places.

I have stayed in many Hotels and although this one was very nice, the lack of a FREE breakfast will keep me from ever going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi Craig! Thanks for taking time to share your feedback... I was happy to hear your experience with the team here went well. Understanding that complimentary breakfast is important to you, I wanted to let you know that we do offer some great dinning experience packages which include anything from breakfast, dinner, both, or even meals for the kids! One of the true benefits of this Bistro is the fact that everything is prepared to order along with the diversity of the menu allowing our guests to order something completely different each day of their stay. Please feel free to reach out to me directly next time you are in the area so we can identify the best package for your needs while in town. Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you in the future!

All the Best,
Len Goodmn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

the courtyard marriott in columbia/jessup maryland was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in a while. just a few miles off 95, in the center of everything. restaurants, shops, stores, anything you could need. right next door was a gem of a find, the sanford grill, which is a must when staying there. just a short walk next to the hotel. the hotel actually had a small cafe on premise that you ycould get food. would definetely stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the Glowing review Debbie! We all enjoy what we do here and hearing feedback like this warms our hearts... Hopefully, next time you are back you will have time to enjoy Stanford Grill, our Bistro, and some of our many other recomendations with-in walking distance! This is an excellent location and our team is excited to serve you again.

Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Overall, this was a good deal. Received a comfortable room offering the classic Courtyard experience at a reasonable price. That is, as of April 2013, the hotel has not been fully upgraded to latest incarnation of the Courtyard experience. That probably explains the great price. Although it’s near the highway, it’s kind of buried behind an office park. Signage is helpful but need to keep a lookout for it. One of the advantages is that the hotel is close to Wegman’s, the amazing super market that also serves hot meals. Get your meals here. Overall, would easily recommend as a place to stay while in the Baltimore-Washington area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
SAC, Thanks for staying with us and sharing your feedback! We do consider ourselves very fortunate with our close location to major roads while nestled in a quiet business park. The best of both worlds! Wegmans just up the road is a nice asset to the community and I'm glad you had the opportunity to experience it as well. Next time you are in the area, we have our very own Bistro with food & beverage options along with many other restaurants with-in walking distance. You can try something new each time you're here! Hope to serve you again in the near future...

warm regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The rooms are a bit on the small side but it all works pretty well. Our room was very clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable. Internet was free and the connection was strong. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Stanford Grill is right up the stairs outside the door for great dining. Other than the fact that it is a little off the beaten track it is a great place to stay. I got a very good rate and was completely satisfied with our stay. I would stay here again without hesitation.

We did not eat at the hotel or use the pool or health club.

Room Tip: It is a very quiet location so noise will not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the review Zabelle! We like to think of our selves as ahidden gem tucked away in this quiet business park. Happy to hear everything went well with your stay and that you even had an opportunity to enjoy Stanford Grill right out the front door. Another excellent establishment. Keep in mind we have our own Bistro conveniently on property as well which is open for breakfast, Dinner, Starbucks all day and offers full bar service in the evenings! Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a work meeting nearby. The hotel was cleaner than expected. The service was excellent from the front desk and the cafe. Overall it is a standard courtyard hotel. The room set up and couch was nice. The furniture was a bit awkward with the closet blocking the TV, but the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to review our property! We are very happy to hear of your experience with our staffs service and cleanliness. Key ingredients to a Great stay! If back at our hotel in the future the TV is on a sliding tray and this can be pulled out for improved viewing... Hope this helps. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently spent two nights at this property and really did not like it. It has been updated, but my room had several stains on the wallpaper and several stains on the carpet. Stains make me worry about how dirty a hotel room can be and ruins the stay. The bed was not very appealing either. A few sheets and a thin bedspread was pretty much it. The TV remote was "sticky". The whole room just made me very uneasy. The breakfast at the little cafe near the lobby was good, but again, tables were not very clean and there were greasy finger prints left on the dividers between the tables. For the price charged, I was expecting a lot more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your feedback. We take a lot of pride in the service and product we offer to our guests and clearly we did not deliver as expected. For this I am very sorry. I have reviewed this information with the team to ensure we are taking appropriate action to improve and identify if any of these are trends. Please feel free to contact me directly if ever back in the area as we would love another opportunity to serve you and show how a typical experience is at the Courtyard Columbia MD.

At Your Service,
Len Goodman
General Manager
410/290-0002
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Address: 8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.