We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Typical Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The rooms are a bit on the small side but it all works pretty well. Our room was very clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable. Internet was free and the connection was strong. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Stanford Grill is right up the stairs outside the door for great dining. Other than the fact that it is a little off the beaten track it is a great place to stay. I got a very good rate and was completely satisfied with our stay. I would stay here again without hesitation.

We did not eat at the hotel or use the pool or health club.

Room Tip: It is a very quiet location so noise will not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the review Zabelle! We like to think of our selves as ahidden gem tucked away in this quiet business park. Happy to hear everything went well with your stay and that you even had an opportunity to enjoy Stanford Grill right out the front door. Another excellent establishment. Keep in mind we have our own Bistro conveniently on property as well which is open for breakfast, Dinner, Starbucks all day and offers full bar service in the evenings! Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    59
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
24
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a work meeting nearby. The hotel was cleaner than expected. The service was excellent from the front desk and the cafe. Overall it is a standard courtyard hotel. The room set up and couch was nice. The furniture was a bit awkward with the closet blocking the TV, but the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to review our property! We are very happy to hear of your experience with our staffs service and cleanliness. Key ingredients to a Great stay! If back at our hotel in the future the TV is on a sliding tray and this can be pulled out for improved viewing... Hope this helps. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently spent two nights at this property and really did not like it. It has been updated, but my room had several stains on the wallpaper and several stains on the carpet. Stains make me worry about how dirty a hotel room can be and ruins the stay. The bed was not very appealing either. A few sheets and a thin bedspread was pretty much it. The TV remote was "sticky". The whole room just made me very uneasy. The breakfast at the little cafe near the lobby was good, but again, tables were not very clean and there were greasy finger prints left on the dividers between the tables. For the price charged, I was expecting a lot more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your feedback. We take a lot of pride in the service and product we offer to our guests and clearly we did not deliver as expected. For this I am very sorry. I have reviewed this information with the team to ensure we are taking appropriate action to improve and identify if any of these are trends. Please feel free to contact me directly if ever back in the area as we would love another opportunity to serve you and show how a typical experience is at the Courtyard Columbia MD.

At Your Service,
Len Goodman
General Manager
410/290-0002
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We needed to book three nights in a hotel with a good rate, close to family in Columbia for a summer get-together. Location was excellent, and our room was comfortable, quiet, and extremely clean. I often plug stuff into outlets behind nightstands, and even the area back there was completely dust-free! Wow. Front desk staff was helpful, and parking area was close by and well lit. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review our property! So happy to hear things went well... Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The room was fine. But, I was told there would be a refrigerator in the room. I called ahead of time and was told there was a refrigerator. I asked at the front desk when I checked in and was assured there was a refrigerator. There wasn't. I called the desk at 5 pm and made them aware of the situation. They said housekeeping would get me a refrigerator. I went out to dinner - checking in with the front desk first. Yes, yes, there would be a refrigerator. When I returned to my room at 8:00 -- no refrigerator! Not a huge deal if that's not on the list of things you need, but after being assured four times that there would be a refrigerator and there is none, it is a big deal. I had a choice of hotels to stay at ... next time I will make a different choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback Divecat13. I am truly sorry the experience you described on your recent stay. As you can imagine, we are also greatly dissapointed that a simple request to provide a refridegerator was not handled properly by our team. The staff here at the Columbia Courtyard takes great pride in service and clearly there was a break in the process and some miscommunication surrounding this task. We will evaluate the procedures utilized and refresh all on appropriate handling to ensure guest satisfaction moving forward. At a time convenient to you, please contact me directly so I may get a few more details on this sitution to further assist in preventing for future guests. Thanks again for taking time to share feedback and I hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We needed a hotel close to the Howard County Fair Grounds and, although 19 miles away, our needs were well met. Although apparently almost 20 years old, the hotel doesn't show it's age. The room was quiet and comfy with a king and sofa bed. The bathroom served it's purpose. We did not have breakfast but they do have a very nice patio for evening drinks. We love Marriott products and this one fits the bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share feed back on your recent stay Rbandron! We are very proud of our brand and hotel, happy to hear this was the right fit for you as well. The annual Sheep and Wool festival in this area is one of the best, hope to see you again next year! Thanks again for staying with us and sharing your feedback.
Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was good and the service is above average. Location is great for going to the city and site seeing. Also, safe location for jogging and walking. The only downside is that the hot tub was out of commission due to facility improvements. I wish the website had mentioned this since I was traveling with my family. Otherwise good stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your feedback Bighalloween! I was happy to hear that it was a great experience with the exception of our pool deck expansion. This is a work in progress which we are really excited about. I hope you will be back again soon to see the final product!
Warm Regards,
Len
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Address: 8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.