We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

OK, can't give a Courtyard 5 stars because...well...they aren't shooting for 5 star accommodations. That said, they are shooting for 5 star service and while I would normally give a good Courtyard a 3 star review...this facility deserves 4 stars because the service is excellent.

Clean hotel with decent rates. Will absolutely stay here again when on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello 44CUSE,
Thank you for choosing us during your travels through the Columbia area! We were happy to hear we exceeded your service expectations during your stay. The team here takes a lot of pride in their service and we are glad it gave you an excellent experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
All the Best,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    56
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
23
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This Courtyard is not up to Marriott's normally high standards. The lobby was nice but the room looked dated and there were major stains on the floor. Had we not been so tired, I would have requested a different room. It just didnt feel clean. I also agree that it's hard to find. I would hate to try to get there on a dark, rainy night. Marriott needs to improve their food quality to go along with the new lobbies.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear BARINR,
Thank you for choosing our location while traveling to Columbia. Though I was happy to hear you liked the new Lobby and Bistro, it sounds like we also had some opportunities to improve on. Though the entire hotel has been renovated including rooms, lobby and fitness center, we are always looking for ways to improve and we appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the experience you described and please feel free to reach out to me directly so we may discuss.
Warm regards,
Len Goodman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a very comfy and friendly hotel with everything at hand which is good because it is not easy to find the hotel and there is very little in the vicinity. You need a car for this location but once you arrive the friendly staff make it worth the search. Bathroom fans are unreasonably noisy. Leave the light off to avoid the noise and have a romantic bath

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had no problems finding the place even tho the roundabout threw us off a bit. The front desk was ok and room was typical for 3 star place. The carpet in elevator needs replacing, and needs a bit refreshing in places. We stayed for 3 nights while in Columbia.

The breakfast type nooks had personal tv's in them which were nice. The breakfast is freshly cooked and was great, not a continental breakfast but proper meal.

Had windows that could be properly opened and go out on small balconies, which was pleasent.

It was fit for purpose and no real complaints

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The staff was incredibly rude. It was almost like they were trying to be mean on purpose. We left the tv on in our room and came back to a call saying someone was complaining about the noise (We were gone for about 30 minutes). We apologized and turned off the tv, and went to sleep around midnight. All we were told was to please turn down the tv. The next day at around 5pm, we got a call telling us to leave the hotel within the hour. We were given no notice, and not told untill the last minute.. all because of one complaint because out tv was on too loud for a short period of time. If you stay at this hotel make sure that you don't make any noise, or else they will kick you out without refunding you ANYTHING. My spouse is a recent Operation Enduring Freedom vet, and we were looking for a quiet romantic weekend together. I advise you to go to the Extended Stay America next door. We went there after we were told to leave and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend vacation to Baltimore. We got the room using points on our credit card. Clean, well kept, and comfortable room close to a lot of restaurants. Only complaint was the EXTREMELY loud fan in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights w/2 adults, 2 children. Room had 2 queen beds plus sofa bed, which was AWFUL. The coils of the mattress poked thru and you could not sleep on it or sit on it as a bed. Made squeaking noises every time you moved. When we arrived the pool was closed for maintenance, and the room had 2 large smashed strawberry stains on the carpet, and mold in the shower. Mgr and housekeeping came and looked and fixed the problem right away, mold reappeared after 2 days,, but was taken care of w/note to housekeeping left on the bed.
Room had 2 seperate bathrooms, one w/shower and sink and the other w/sink and toilet. This was very convenient w/4 people in the a.m.
Breakfast was great!! Scrambled eggs, breads, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit cups and fresh fruit. Donuts and 4 kinds of cereal plus make yourself waffles and a different meat everyday. We had sausage links and patties, ham and bacon and a southwest egg scramble. 4 different flavors of juice and coffee. Kids loved the breakfast.
We used the senior rate which was less expensive than the AAA rate by almost $50.

Room Tip: We were on first floor and had no noise, and it was very convenient to breakfast area and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Address: 8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.