We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff,Nice rooms,Satisfactory food choices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Columbia
nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff,Nice rooms,Satisfactory food choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I recently attended a seminar at this hotel. Rather than drive home and back the next day, I decided to stay for the night. The staff was very attentive and eager to please, since I am a Marriott Rewards member I was given an upgrade to a king suite. This room was extraordinarily nice, more than 500 sq feet of space,two large flat screen tvs, and a seperate bedroom with a king bed. Very roomy, with enough space to spread out, and do any business related chores at the more than ample desk. Breakfast was good with many healthy food selections. There is ample on site free parking. Should you find yourself in Columbia Maryland this hotel is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
21
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I know that Courtyard has standard hotels, layouts, rooms. If you're used to and like the standard Courtyard room, you won't be disappointed. Compared to the Springhill Suites, the rooms are small. The service was fine, but nothing stands out.

Room Tip: They're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The good - Front desk staff is awesome!! Very upbeat and friendly and make you feel appreciated and like a customer! Attentive too!

The mediocre - This hotel is old. Yes, they put some new carpet in, painted some walls, and updated the lobby/front desk/reception area, but it is still old and once you get to your room, you will smell it and experience it. Should have done a complete gut of the room.

The bad - Pubic hairs all in my bed, stuck in the bedsheets, pillows, and there was brown foreign material in the middle of the bed by a small stack of pubic hairs. I'm still waiting on them to come change the bedding (which, in my opinion, has not been changed since at least the prior guest). The desktop had coffee spilled on it that was never wiped up and the carpet is dirty with stains. This room could use some Febreeze or an open window! Also, what's up with the old school air conditioning? Oh yeah, the place is old.

Overall - 3 out of 5 mostly because I believe in Marriott and hope they will clean it up before too long. I certainly would not pay a premium to stay here. The location is certainly not horrible, with plenty of shoppng close by and more about 20 minutes away. I would consider coming back, but will bring sanitizing wipes and some deodorizer (maybe clean sheets too! GROSS!!!). Gave room service a 3 since obviously they don't clean very well. Cleanliness, well you understand after my review. Sleep quality a 3 because I hate down pillows. 3 is high for value, but didn't think they deserved lower. Courtyard and especially Marriott is almost always a great place and value.

PS - Stayed on the first floor in 14x.

Room Tip: If you don't get a good room, talk to the front desk. They are very helpful, friendly, and acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to to review our hotel! I am pleased to hear how friendly, attentive, and upbeat the front desk was during your stay. This property takes a lot of pride in service and the product we offer. Over the last several years we have made significant improvements to the rooms and lobby while planning additional projects to continue progress for this year. Your feed back is greatly appreciated and all concerns will be reseacrched and addressed to improve future stays. Thanks again for your loyalty and choosing us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is probably one of the nicest options in Columbia where you won't find the high end options of some of the main hotel chains. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant though limited in choices has enough of an offering to satisfy if you just don't feel like going out. Plus they have a solid offering of Starbucks. If you are in Columbia, MD, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel after a friend's wedding. The rooms were affordable and the location is nice. Close enough to some restaurants and shopping. Nothing special in the room, pretty typical layout and furniture. The positives about the hotel were that we had a large group of friends returning for the night. The hotel staff allowed us to stay in the lobby, with food and drinks until late hours. They had enough couches and tables for us to have an "after party", including music. Since the lobby is far enough away, no other guests seemed to have problems with our noise level. Highly reccommend if you are staying with a large group and want somewhere to hang out in the evening.

Room Tip: If staying with friends, ask for connecting room. The walls are thick enough that you won't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Everything was clean and in good order. I really enjoyed the style/decor and lighting of the hotel. Nice amenities such as a boarding pass printer and small restaurant/bar. I don't usually comment on, use, or enjoy the complimentary soaps/toiletries in hotel bathrooms, but these were really nice and different - made from seeds and fruits, like quinoa soap and quince lotion.

Gave me a good impression of Courtyard hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel is a great hotel to stay for a night or two. Stayed during November over thanksgiving with visiting family and it was pleasurable. Great redone lobby and rooms. Bathrooms could be a little bit bigger in some of the rooms. (cruise line sized) But overall was a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia

Address: 8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.