We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark but Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Destin, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dark but Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is clean and beautiful. We stayed in a king suite. It was well-decorated and had a little kitchenette with a small refrigerator/freezer, wet bar, microwave and lots of counterspace. The living room had a "window" overlooking the center atrium from the fourth floor. The only natural light is way on the other side of the atrium from windows high up. The entire room was very dark, even with all the lights on. The bedroom is separated from two double doors. It was large and sleekly decorated. The bathroom has plenty of counter space and there is an extra counter and sink outside of it. Morgan's restaurant has good wings, the artichoke dip was very good, the crab dinner was just "ok", as was the vegetable panini. The gym is very clean with newer equipment - one bike, two ellipticals, two treadmills, weights and exercise balls. We did not use the pool. The staff was very kind, sweet and friendly! The hotel does not show up right on GPS, so beware. It will take you to an office complex on the same street.

Room Tip: Do not get a room with just an atrium "window" if a very dark room bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear CaraAmica,
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of my hotel. My entire staff appreciates the generous words about their customer service. I am working on trying to get more lighting into the Atrium rooms. Thanks again and come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    78
    31
    20
    7
See reviews for
67
62
33
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here several times a week for most of a year. The hotel is great, and the front desk staff really make the difference here. They went out of their way to make my time there great. Shawn, Barry, Fabiola,and (my favorite), Norma really made it like home while I stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Matthew C,
Thank you for the great review. I am very happy that we have given you the kind of experience you expect over the long run. We aim for consistently great service for all guests. Thanks again for the great review and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The front desk staff was very nice, the room was clean and very comfortable, and it was overall a good experience. There was a tour bus full of people that were loud and talked in their rooms until 2 am. Not loud enough to complain about, yet loud enough to keep me from sleeping

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jennifer T,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of my hotel. I am sorry you did not sleep better but I appreciate your nice words about the hotel and the staff. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

this was a great hotel, staff went out of their way to help us, bed was awesome, price was good. highly recommended. we were in town for a friends wedding and the staff took us there in a shuttle so we did not have to take a cab. the room was clean and easy to find. the room was a great size and it had internet and tv with a guide for the channels, we loved it we would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Tammi M,
Thank you very much for the very kind review. Come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is my home away from home. A place of friendly faces and relaxation. This has been my spot for when I was going through school, excellent place for business and leisure time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for relaxation, or quiet time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Tonya E,
Thank you for the kind and heartfelt review. We are always striving for the hotel to feel like your home away from home. Take care and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg PA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent for the Columbia area and if attending concerts at the Merriweather Post Pavillion. It is also very close to a large shopping mall. I only stayed one night and the air conditioning unit was really loud and annoyed me all through the night. Otherwise it is a very nice hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Sandra C,
I am very sorry that our air conditioning unit forced your stay to not be perfect. We are continuing to replace units that are noisy. I am always on the hunt for new technology that will make each room comfortable and noise free. Please come back and give us another try the next time you are in the area. Thank you and take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just got back from the Doubletree in Columbia, Md what a nice time. Went with three of my girlfriends for my birthday. We were greeted with a warm cookie, which was wonderful. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, refrig,microwave, hairdryer, coffee pot, etc. We loved the shuttle that took us to the concert at Merriweather Post Pavillion and also pick us up at 11:00 and took us back to the hotel. What a GREAT service!!! The area was lovely and we always felt very safe. The only reason I didn't give a 5 rating was we did not have enough towels and we did run out of toilet paper. Which we call the front dest and they did send it right up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear cpsmile,
Sounds like you had a great birthday! I am happy that we could help make it a special time. I am sorry that you ran out of supplies in your room, but am happy that we responded in quick order. Come back next year and hopefully there will be a show you can attend. Happy Birthday and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.