We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Columbia, United States
1 review
“A get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It wa a very nice hotel. Pool and hot tube very good. It had a sauna. They gave my daughter and I a freshly baked cookie when we checked in. The internet access was good, when it worked; it kept kicking my daughter off the wifi. The hotel was easy to find and could see from the main road. The staff was very nice, helpful, and welcoming. I would stay there again if I was in that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rose D,
Thank you for your review of my hotel. I am sorry that your daughter kept getting kicked off of the wireless internet connection. We recently installed an entire new system, tripled our bandwidth and doubled our hot spots. I am going to take your issue to my IT folks and get that situation fixed. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    90
    34
    22
    7
See reviews for
87
70
34
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My partner and I recently were married near Baltimore and stayed with 100 of our wedding guests at the Doubletree by Hilton in Columbia and could not have had more professional and helpful customer care from the business managers down to the restaurant staff. Our guests were completely satisfied with room quality and price and loved the space in the atrium and the kid friendly sized pool. We strongly recommend this hotel for your wedding and other special events . . . no matter who you are.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms are surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rob A,
Super review. Thank you very much. We are very happy about how your event turned out and proud that we were able to be your hosts for the evening. Please come back and see us for your anniversary. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is a great bargain, and has everything you want - great rooms, food, pool, hot-tub and fitness center. The staff at the front desk is what really makes it great. They are friendly and cheerful and can really make your day at the end of a long business day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Matthew C,
Thank you for the great review. My staff at the front desk are always proud to get a good review. Please come back soon and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Mama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The DT was an excellent choice for our wedding! We met with Betty Ackam who guided us through the entire experience, all the way to the end of the wedding. I am a very detailed oriented person and Betty understood this immediately and accommodated all of my needs. She is professional, friendly and very organized. The hotel is beautiful and clean as well as affordable for events and guests. The entrance and atrium has been redesigned beautifully. In fact, we had our cocktail hour there and it was gorgeous. The banquet rooms accommodated a place for the ceremony and a larger room for the reception. It was perfect for our 80 guests, dj setup, photo booth, candy table, brownie bar and large kids activity table.The staff were friendly and attentive, especially the front desk staff. The sleeping rooms were exquisitely redesigned to give a spa-like atmosphere. Every minute was perfection!

Room Tip: Dont let the rooms facing the atrium scare you. There was absolutely no noise. Service in the bar co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Deat Pastasmom,
Thank you for all your kind words. We loved having your event here. I am thrilled it went off without a hitch and your are correct, Betty is awesome. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel was very clean, bed comfortable the staff very nice and helpful. I will defintiely stay at the Double Tree again. Actually,I stay at the Double Tree in Nyack NY last Thanksgiving and was truly impress that time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sharon C,
Thank you for your kind review. I am always very happy when someone says my hotel was "very clean". It is important to me that the hotel is spotless. Keep trying other DoubleTree by Hilton hotels around the country, each one has it's own character and personality. Come see us again as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

There was a hole in the ceiling where the lobby meets the restaurant. There were several buckets and a small flow of water pouring from the hole. Disgusting. The ac in the hallway near my suite was very cold and uncomfortable when leaving and entereing the room. The pool was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valerie H,
I am so sorry that you did not have a good stay with us. Unfortunately, we got a pinhole leak in a cooper pipe and we're in the midst of repairing it. I hope that the next time you are in the area, you give us another try. I know you will have a much better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Double Tree is a high class excellant place to stay! The hotel was next door to the place of our educational conference, very convenient, extremely clean, and quiet. I enjoyed the cookies and fruit as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Timothy H,
Thank you for your very nice review. Please come see us again the next time you are attending a conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.