We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roughly typical for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Roughly typical for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was clean and reasonably sized. Having a refrigerator in the room was an unusually nice touch at this price. The bed was really strange for me - the mattress was quite firm and yet not supporting. Most hotels have soft mattresses that give me back trouble. This time my back was fine but I had great difficulty getting comfortable and falling asleep.

As promised, we were offered warm chocolate chip walnut cookies at check in, which were tasty enough. Check-in and check-out were efficient and trouble-free.

The location is a little awkward - the hotel can be seen clearly from the main road, but once you're actually on Twin Knolls, even the sign is set back so far that it's hard to see. If it wasn't for the steadfast encouragement of my GPS unit, I'd have been sure I was on the wrong road.

We were in town to visit friends and it's the only hotel in Columbia that's less than twenty minutes from their house. If another hotel in reasonable distance opened up, we'd try it. If not, we'll stay at the DoubleTree again and make do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    100
    35
    25
    9
See reviews for
96
71
34
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Travelled for business. Found this hotel online. Got a great rate. Conveniently located. Warmly greeted by friendly staff and choc chip cookie. Room had refrigerator, free wifi, coffee/tea maker, desk, lounge chair. There wasn't anything I was missing. Room was clean enough. Did not eat here so can not comment on restaurant. Had indoor pool (did not use) and 24 hr small fitness center with a few treadmills, ellipticals, bike, dumb bells. Not a lot of equipment but the machines were newer and good brands. Happy I chose this hotel for the price and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently attended a business meeting at the Doubletree in Columbia MD.. The hotel was obviously just redone. The rooms were so big and the decor was very upscale. I do not normally like atruim hotels but this lobby did not appear cold as they sometimes do. It was warm and full of people going about their business. An inviting space. I had breakfast in the dinning room. The staff could not be nicer or more accomdating. The Front Desk also. Great stay and I would recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our suite was an interior room with no window - the only window overlooked the atrium, which itself has no windows, so there is zero natural light. To compound the problem, the ceilings are maybe seven feet high with no overhead lighting and few lamps. There does not appear to be any housekeeping staff. We asked for someone to come and make up the bed, which was unmade, and a maintenance guy came by with flat sheets, one pillow, and no blanket.

Room Tip: Ask for one with windows. Not something you would normally think to ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ella V,
I am very sorry that you did not have a good stay at my hotel. It is true that I have interior rooms that look out over my 4 story Atrium. The Atrium does have a 4 story glass wall that overlooks my pool and the outside of the hotel. This outside exposure does wash the entire Atrium with natural light. I do apologize that you needed help with your room when my housekeeping staff is at its smallest. It is our fault that your pull out sofa was not made up on your arrival. I hope on your next trip to the area, we can find you a room that suits you better. Thank you for your feedback on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had such a good time that we did not want to leave. We looked forward to that hot buffet breakfast every morning. It was definitely a good deal to get the breakfast package with our room. We were given coupons for every morning when we checked in and the warm cookies that we received were very delicious. Our whole experience was outstanding and we will gladly r

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Mill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent experience. The hotel was spotless and the customer service was top notch. The accommodation were great and I felt safe and able to relax during my stay. Try the Maryland Cream of Crab Soup and the Buffalo Wings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel has a grand presence when you enter which makes you feel as though you stepped into a resort/spa area. We were warmly greeted by the evening staff who were more than accommodating with assistance. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. It was a great experience in the Columbia location. Our company will be using this hotel again to host meetings and conferences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.