We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Difference!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel used to be, in a word .."shabby". Rooms were old and noisy and the place just seemed depressed. I ended up back at this hotel in January 2013 and ..WOW!! - What a difference. This place has undergone a total renovation and Hilton gets an "A+" for this effort and result. Rooms are fresh and clean and 100% - I really mean 100% SOUNDPROOF. Rooms have fantastic beds, crisp clean decor and complementary wireless and wired internet. I was just in a regular room, and it was nicer than most upgraded rooms at other properties. I can't say enough nice things about this renovation. Hilton deserves so much credit for turning this property around and making it a place where you can work, rest and relax. It's a perfect business hotel.

I spend 20+ nights per year in this area, but stopped going to the Hilton years ago because it was so noisy and run-down. When my company booked me in the Hilton for this last stay, I was really upset but other properties were full. What a delightful surprise to have discovered this new and impoved Hilton Doubletree. Anyone staying in the Columbia area - I HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend this amazing property. Staff was super professional and polite and all areas are clean and nice.

Final "super important" thing for me - and I'm sure some of you out there share this issue ... TEMPERATURE CONTROL. The "new and improved" Hilton has individual units in each room. You can set the unit to cool or heat and you can set the fan to remain on so that you don't have the noise when the unit turns on and off. The room was perfect temperature for me (I like it cold - even in winter) - and yet the heat was also fine. Thanks Hilton for listening to your customers.

Room Tip: With the renovation, every room on each side of the building is now fine. In the old days, before t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    68
    24
    19
    6
See reviews for
57
50
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walhalla, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had advanced reservations With confermation. had trouble checking in after a long day on the road thru Washington DC traffic. Price of Breakfast was a little steep. Room was clean and comfortable. I paid for room in advanced. They get your credit card they say for other things during your visit. When I got home and got my statement for my Hilton Honors Visa I found that they double billed me, Called the hotel Direct and they said It would be taken care of. Today is over a month from stay and Thay have not corrected the billing error!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Robert B,
I am very sorry that we made a mistake during your check out from the hotel. After your call to the hotel, we have corrected the mistake and am happy to tell you that correction to your folio occured on December 10th. I hope that sometime in the near future, you will come back and stay. I would like the chance to prove to you that we are a hotel that cares about every little detail. Again, I am sorry we made a mistake and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

After a very long and stressful trip from Houston, i arrived at the DoubleTree and as soon as i walked in the door i was greeted by Shawn at the front desk who was incredibly friendly and welcoming. The very first thing i noticed when i walked into the room was the bed and how cozy it looked.. It was like a giant cloud! The room was spotless and very spacious. There was a confusion, but the issue was quickly resolved by Barry. The restaurant on site had great food and the waitress Maria was sweet and very attentive. There really is nothing negative to say about the Doubletree. I will DEFINITELY return!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

During son's soccer tournement, we stayed at the Double Tree at Columbia MD for 2 nights. Upon checking in on Friday night, the friendly staff was very courtious and helpfull, our room was very nice, large, great bath, overall very comfortable. The only problem was with the heat, but the room did not get too cold. There were plenty of dining options within a short drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A real hidden gem.

Needed a place near Baltimore/Washington/Annapolis in a pinch and found this property. Very convenient at the intersection of Rt. 29 and Rt. 175, but not noisy, the hotel is clean, the staff was very friendly, has an on-site restaurant/bar, and the rooms spacious (although the cleaning fluid used has a disgustingly-sour odor).

Prices were reasonable, including the $9.95 breakfast buffet, and the parking is free (rare in these parts now).

Would return in a heartbeat next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I travel frequently to this area and have stayed at this hotel many times. From the moment you walk in to the time you leave, you will be impressed. Great staff, beautiful decor, clean everything! The whole place always has a clean smell. The pool and hot tub are kept super clean. Neat little fitness center with just the right amount of equipment for anyone that is interested in working out. The rooms are decorated very modernly are clean as a whistle...beds are wonderful. Could go on and on...you will be VERY satisfied. Trust Me

Parrish

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We came to Maryland for an 80th Birthday Celebration and stayed here. Very nice room, great beds, clean hotel, pristine swimming pool and good food. The front desk staff was fabulous, friendly and helpful. One warning, they have lots of rooms with no outside windows, only windows that over look the atrium lobby which is sort of gray, very stylish but odd. We got that sort of room, at first , didn't like the lack of a window that faced trees and sky, asked for another room and got one immediately with no problem. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a room with an outside window, make sure and ask for one,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Columbia Hilton
Hilton Columbia
Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#3 Business Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list