We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright Spot During a Dark Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Columbia
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Bright Spot During a Dark Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I were traveling to the Columbia Area for a funeral service of a close family member. After looking on Trip Advisor we found the Doubletree and being so close to our families home we thought we would give them a try.

On the way up from Savannah we called the hotel and informed Barry at the front desk we were on our way up for the funeral a day early and were wondering if we could add an extra day to our reservation, within two minutes we had our new confirmation sent to our email.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised, the outside of the building looks a bit dated, but the newly renovated lobby was absolutely gorgeous. The very modern look gave the hotel a more sophisticated look. At check in we were welcomed by Marie, she expressed her sympathies for our loss and told us if there was anything we needed to let her know. I was very surprised by this because we just mentioned it in passing to Barry over the phone. As we entered our room we were welcomed by two chocolates on the bed, the sound of classical music playing from the radio, and a hand written card of condolences from the Doubletree Staff and a tin of their famous cookies.

During our stay, every single staff member from the housekeeping staff, to the front desk staff, to the restaurant staff that we encountered made us feel welcome and at home. The overall service, the quality of the rooms and the atmosphere of the hotel was outstanding. The Doubletree made a weekend that normally would be very difficult, more manageable. I highly recommend the Doubletree.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the atrium have no natural light and after sunset the room is very dim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    68
    24
    19
    6
See reviews for
57
50
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were in town for a concert, and had booked this hotel for a great price! Front desk clerk, Maire, was very friendly and helpful upon arrival! The warm cookie given to us at check-in was very good! Upon entering our King room, there was classical music playing, and the decor is "wow!" It's classy and executive feeling! And, most, importantly, CLEAN!! Very pleased!!

The only thing we had a problem with is the shuttle service to the nearby concert. They encourage it, so we signed up. We were told 11:00 pm is the final pick up time after the concert. Before signing up, we asked if it would still pick us up, if the concert didn't let out in time. We were told to call if that happened, and that we wouldn't be stranded. The driver told us 10:45 he would be at the stop. We told him, that there were a lot of people to be picked up, and he said he would make as many trips as needed to get us all back. Well, the concert wasn't over til 10:45. We were the first 2 at the stop, around 10:52pm. Then, at least 30 more people showed up. However, the driver never came!! Apparantly he didn't see anyone at 10:45, left, clocked out, and went home, leaving 30 to 40 people on a street corner for an hour, trying to call taxis!

If you drop off a certain number of people to a concert, you should bring that many people back, not zero people! And, if the hotel offers a shuttle service, then, the shuttle needs to be available for whenever a concert is over! No one wants to leave a concert before the encore!!

Bottom line, Excellent hotel!!! I would stay there again in a heartbeat, I just wouldn't trust the shuttle again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I want to thank you for your kind words about our newly renovated hotel. We are proud of the way it turned out and are very happy you feel the same way. I want to apologize for the way we ran our shuttle service on the night you stayed. We made a mistake and we feel bad about it. We normally run our shuttle until 1 hour after concerts are finished and will never make this same mistake. I am very sorry we did not make your stay with us perfect. I hope that the next time you come to Columbia, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nicely decorated hotel. We booked a junior suite and the room was very large and nicely furnished. Front desk was very helpful and extremely friendly. The bar area has a happy hour with reduced prices on drinks and food. They offer a very nice buffet breakfast. We high recommend this hotel. Will definitely repeat when in the area.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a larger room, book a junior suite. The rooms are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were visiting family in Columbia and this hotel was a good choice to stay. The value was very good.
The rooms are comfortable. A/C a little noisy. Our room overlooked the central lobby. This was good as there was no noise from the rock concert at the nearby Merriweather Post Pavilion.
The staff was helpful and friendly. The lounge and restaurant (for breakfast) were very good value with friendly staff as well.
The central lobby was a good place to meet with the family as we came and went.
All in all, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If there's a "loud" concert at the nearby Merriweather Post Pavilion, ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagnola, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend at the Doubletree by Hilton and were pleased with every aspect of it. The property is a little secluded, and consequently quiet, but it is also handy to the freeways for easy access to Baltimore, Annapolis, and the Maryland suburbs of DC. The room was spacious, well maintained and well appointed, and the staff was friendly and solicitous The recent remodeling is evident throughout the hotel. The breakfast was quite good, although a little pricey for the buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

In town for a concert and everything went great. Service, rooms, lounge, shuttle service....all excellent. They understand customer service and cleanliness, which are most important in my opinion. Things like fresh cookies are an added bonus. We paid a bit more to stay here, but it was totally worth it. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Reserved a room for one night for a concert at the local Merriweather Post Pavilion. We were extremely happy with our choice. The Hotel is located just off the highway on a quiet sort of secluded road. We were greeted by a friendly staff in a nicely decorated lobby, received a delicious warm cookie which was a treat after sitting through lunch on the beltway for three hours (what should have been an hour trip). We got a King Room and it was a lovely, clean room, spacious enough for the two of us. There is not much more than a bank and a Walgreens local to the hotel but we found a Food Lion two miles down the residential street. Got showered and dressed and went to the lobby to catch the shuttle. The shuttle runs every half hour they dropped us off just across the street from Merriweather and they were there to pick us up right after the concert. We had a fantastic, stress-free time knowing we would not have to do any driving and will definitely do it again, we have already recommended the hotel to a friend and a family member for concerts in Columbia. Trying to think of any downsides to the place but hard-pressed to come up with anything significant. The drapery in the hotel is just for decoration and does not close, I would have liked to have slept in a bit more but the sun was shining in my face at 6:30 AM and there was no way to block it out. There are "inner" rooms that overlook the lobby rather than the outdoors, I may request one of those next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Everybody here at the hotel is thrilled by your review. We are taking great pride in the results of our renovation and are very proud that our guests are liking it also. On your next visit, if you have any problems with the room or its features, please contact our Front Desk and they will help you with anything you need. Thank you for speaking so highly of us and I am happy that you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Columbia Hilton
Hilton Columbia
Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#3 Business Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.