We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay. Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay. Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were visiting family in Columbia and this hotel was a good choice to stay. The value was very good.
The rooms are comfortable. A/C a little noisy. Our room overlooked the central lobby. This was good as there was no noise from the rock concert at the nearby Merriweather Post Pavilion.
The staff was helpful and friendly. The lounge and restaurant (for breakfast) were very good value with friendly staff as well.
The central lobby was a good place to meet with the family as we came and went.
All in all, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If there's a "loud" concert at the nearby Merriweather Post Pavilion, ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    91
    34
    22
    7
See reviews for
88
71
34
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montagnola, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend at the Doubletree by Hilton and were pleased with every aspect of it. The property is a little secluded, and consequently quiet, but it is also handy to the freeways for easy access to Baltimore, Annapolis, and the Maryland suburbs of DC. The room was spacious, well maintained and well appointed, and the staff was friendly and solicitous The recent remodeling is evident throughout the hotel. The breakfast was quite good, although a little pricey for the buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

In town for a concert and everything went great. Service, rooms, lounge, shuttle service....all excellent. They understand customer service and cleanliness, which are most important in my opinion. Things like fresh cookies are an added bonus. We paid a bit more to stay here, but it was totally worth it. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Reserved a room for one night for a concert at the local Merriweather Post Pavilion. We were extremely happy with our choice. The Hotel is located just off the highway on a quiet sort of secluded road. We were greeted by a friendly staff in a nicely decorated lobby, received a delicious warm cookie which was a treat after sitting through lunch on the beltway for three hours (what should have been an hour trip). We got a King Room and it was a lovely, clean room, spacious enough for the two of us. There is not much more than a bank and a Walgreens local to the hotel but we found a Food Lion two miles down the residential street. Got showered and dressed and went to the lobby to catch the shuttle. The shuttle runs every half hour they dropped us off just across the street from Merriweather and they were there to pick us up right after the concert. We had a fantastic, stress-free time knowing we would not have to do any driving and will definitely do it again, we have already recommended the hotel to a friend and a family member for concerts in Columbia. Trying to think of any downsides to the place but hard-pressed to come up with anything significant. The drapery in the hotel is just for decoration and does not close, I would have liked to have slept in a bit more but the sun was shining in my face at 6:30 AM and there was no way to block it out. There are "inner" rooms that overlook the lobby rather than the outdoors, I may request one of those next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Everybody here at the hotel is thrilled by your review. We are taking great pride in the results of our renovation and are very proud that our guests are liking it also. On your next visit, if you have any problems with the room or its features, please contact our Front Desk and they will help you with anything you need. Thank you for speaking so highly of us and I am happy that you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are well appointed. Business office was well equipped. Breakfast was exceptional, buffet and cook to order. Friendly staff throughout hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friend and I recently traveled to Baltimore for a festival. The original hotel we booked ended up being a roach motel and our day of traveling had been a disaster. I found this hotel on trip advisor, called them, and not only did they have a great price and were close to where we needed to be. . .they were AMAZING. We walk in, they are friendly, kind, ask about our day, listen empathetically, and offer us warm cookies. Seriously, I wanted to hug them.

We got to our room and it was perfect, comfortable, and exactly what we needed. The beds felt luxurious with faux down comforters and lots of fluffy pillows. We had cookies every time we came in or went out of the hotel (can you tell they were good?). The staff did everything they could to make us comfortable and happy. The hotel was newly renovated and looked great. We also ordered room service and had breakfast at the restaurant; it too was wonderful, though breakfast was a bit pricey. I will defiantly be staying at this hotel and sister hotels in the future. It totally turned the momentum of our trip around and made it perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Rather than wake up at an unreasonable hour to be somewhere in Columbia, 2 ½ - 4 ¼ hours from our homes, at 9:00am we opted to stay local overnight. My parents took care of the arrangements booking 3 rooms for the 10 of us so all I knew was to pack my swim suit as they had a pool.

Was a little concerned when our GPS told us that we had arrived at our destination and all I saw was a Walgreens and a corporate business centre; however, driving a little farther down the road we came across the entrance sign for the Doubletree. I really liked how the hotel was not right off the highway, it gave a nice quiet secluded feeling which is important, especially the quiet part, when one wants a good night rest.

Walking into the lobby I thought I was walking into one of those posh expensive hotels I stay at for work, like the Le Meridian. We were promptly greeted with a friendly smile by the front desk clerk Barry. He checked us in seamlessly and offered us warm chocolate chip walnut cookies.

I thought the cookies were a nice touch as we were on the road over the dinner hour and were a little hungry, plus to me the cookies were there in lieu of a mint on the pillow at turn down.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Doubletree and would stay here again when visiting the family. The staff was pleasant and professional; the rooms were clean and provided comfortable beds; the pool area was clean, inviting and safe; and the bar/restaurant was both convenient and reasonably priced.

My only suggestion would be to offer more typical bar food items on the menu. We were interested in munching a little that evening but aside from 4 different types of flavored wings and a chicken quesadilla the other options on the bar menu for formal dinner items.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.