We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem: Don't judge by the cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maiwande Kabob

Maiwande Kabob
5467 Harpers Farm Rd, Columbia, MD 21044
(410) 992-7754
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Restaurant details
MD
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Little Gem: Don't judge by the cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place looks like a little corner eatery until when you step in and you realize that they make some of the best ethnic foods. we got there at 622pm ordered our food and we were called to get it withing 20mins.

The Good:
Ample Parking
-Fresh Food
-Generous Portions
-The price is right
-Very Delicious Food

The Not so Good:
-Small dining area
-Awkwardly placed TV
-Can get Crowded with people lining up between the tables to pick their orders
-No servers to bring your food so you will have to be attentive to hear your number when its called.

Final Verdict:
-Order your food and take it with you, especially during the busy time (evening, midday)
-Great food and great value

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wow, I saw this restaurant a few times and wandered in for lunch one day out of curiosity. I was surprised and satisfied.

I ordered the chicken tikka. The portion was very large. The chicken was very tender and tasty, the salad fair, the rice had raisins in it (a pleasant discovery), and the naan bread was soft and fresh. The meal cost about $10.00.

o The website is at http://maiwandkabob.com. It lists the menu, prices, and location.
o The restaurant decor is very trendy. There are tables and a few booths in semi-private 'room's.
o I believe the sign said "counter service 11am-4pm". I assume that there is waitstaff in the evenings.
o Plenty of parking.
o Looking at the prices I feel they are very reasonable compared to the size of the portions. If you don't eat very much and don't take your leftovers home you may be disappointed.
o Don't be fooled because it's in the Columbia version of a strip mall.

I really look forward to coming back and trying this place again.

(I don't understand why tripadvisor has to put 'bar scene' on the ratings. There is no bar.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“New location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Maiwand Kabob recently opened a new location at 6131 Columbia Crossing Circle. We visited it there tonight. This is in the shopping center with a Target and a Big Lots. It is a little bit hidden, down towards where Sleepys is located.

The food was the same high quality as at the other location we have visited in the Harpers Choice village center. The decor and service was upscale -- real plates instead of plastic and the food was brought to your table. Very clean and pleasant.

One dish this time were a chicken Malai -- just as good as the last time at the other place. Very tender and flavorful. The other dish was the special of the day --a lamb do piaza which is lamb meat with onions, tomatoe, vinegar and spices.

We had a pleasant conversation with the manager and learned that they have a total of four locations now -- all run by the same family. The other two are in Linthicum and at Arundel Mills.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome authentic kabob place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

I love their juicy chicken tikka kabob and lamb rib chow pan

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hit or miss...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The flavors of the food and seasonings are great- when they serve it properly cooked. I can't tell you how many times my chicken was raw! Why do I keep going back you ask? Well... When they serve it right it's so good! Hate the salad they serve with the entree so I skip that but the brown rice ( once again when served right) is good as well.

The service there is so unprofessional and rude. The food is just what people go back for.

It used to be the best value but now they have raised their prices so it's expensive. But worth a try.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiwande Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Maiwande Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maiwande Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.