We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food if you don't Mind a Tight Squeeze” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Bella Ristorante

Luna Bella Ristorante
6420 Freetown Rd, Ste 165, Columbia, MD 21044-4062
410-531-0250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food if you don't Mind a Tight Squeeze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

When I walked into Luna Bella, I was like, how are we going to be able to move our shoulders at a table for four with an infant? The tables are very close and there is barely any room at the entrance to wait so people were hovering behind my husband who was right near the door all through dinner. This added to the wind blowing on him from the door opening every few minutes wasn't too fun! However, even with all of those negatives that would often discourage us from going back, we said that we would because the food was delicious! I had a pizza. I love cheese and it was even a bit cheesy for me, but had excellent flavor and crust. My mother had a lovely scallop linguini meal that she liked. My husband had a wonderful scallop dish with crab imperial on it. The waiter that we had was very attentive and helpful. I did feel bad for the wait staff as they had to squeeze through all of the people waiting. Overall, the food was great, the ambiance, not so much!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tucked away good Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Looking for something unique, informal and not a chain, we selected Luna Bella since it had recently won the Best of Howard award (again). The place is a little difficult to find since it is tucked away within one of Columbia's (in)famous discreet shopping centers.

We went there on a Saturday night a bit after 7:30 PM so had to wait about 15 minutes. The atmosphere is cozy and the place is small. The waiting area is a wooden bench in the alcove (we decided to walk around a bit through the shopping area). After selected a nice Chardonnay, we picked the Shrimp Bruschetta as an appetizer. It was very good - rich and creamy with big chunks of shrimp. Next we had a little shared Caesar salad before our entrees of Veal Dominic and Gnocchi with Alfredo sauce. My veal was nicely pounded and topped with prosciutto and melted provolone. I couldn't really taste the prosciutto which I was hoping would compliment the veal. While it was good with the fettuccine and tomato sauce, it wasn't a standout dish. The Gnocchi was decent as all the pasta is homemade.

We skipped dessert for this trip but hoping to go back and maybe try one of their pizzas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find For Lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Pulled off I-95 when we were heading North after Thanksgiving to visit friends in Columbia. They took us to this fabulous place. New Jersey has a well-deserved reputation for its authentic Italian restaurants. Someone from NJ must have moved to Columbia because there is certainly a fine Italian cook behind this great restaurant. Our friends are regulars and they said it is always busy. We had the delicious lasagna and our friends had a cheese bread and a huge bowl of mussels. The mussels dish was a "Wow" dish filled with piles of mussels and the best Italian sauce (gravy) south of New Jersey. It is in a very non-descript shopping center. Everything we saw come out of the kitchen looked fabulous. If you live in that area, you have a gift from the Italian Food Gods waiting for you. Prices were great. Service was outstanding from a very friendly waiter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Try the lasagna!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Cozy but nice atmosphere. Better than the better-known chains. Helpful attentive staff, and really good food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batlimore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The meal was OK. Not bad, not great...just OK. The bruschetta appetizer was, however, outstanding. Service was fair but it happened to be a very busy night. My party of 2 was seated immediately (with a reservation) but service was a bit slow. The disappointing part was the overall loudness of the restaurant. Tiled walls allowed every sound to echo extensively. The management even chose to turn off overhead music in order to lower the noise level. If you're looking for a quiet, intimate dinner, this is not the place. It was also very difficult to find...even with a GPS!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Bella Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Luna Bella Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Bella Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.