We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and food pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greystone Grill - Ellicott City - CLOSED

Greystone Grill - Ellicott City
8850 Columbia 100 Pkwy, Columbia, MD 21045
(410) 715-4739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Service and food pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

located in a office building complex, easy to find.Ashley was our server and was delightful.Had a intresting scallop and bacon appetizer,and salmon served on a wood plank. Fish soup and Ceasar salad two glasses of wine at a great price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great... Occasionally”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

A local favorite with great dishes! For an appetizer, you can't go wrong with the bacon wrapped scallops. They're served on a bed of spinach with some chopped tomatos and a delicious citrus beurré blanc. There are only three of them however, which is disappointing, because they are so good! The Greystone salad is delicious, with cashews and raspberry vinaigrette, and if you like wedge salads, the one I had here most recently was the size of my head! I've had steaks here before and they have been terrific, but most recently, I had the Filet Mignon Napoleon, which is a dish with steak medallions, roasted potatos, onions, muchrooms, spinach, and a demi-glace sauce over it all. It was very good, but after splitting the appetizer, and having a salad, I couldn't finish it. My fiancé had the mahi mahi and really enjoyed it with the beurré blanc topping sauce.

Service was good, despite our server continually (and unnecessarily) apologizing. "Sorry I wasn't here when your meals came out" type of stuff.

Prices are a bit high (hence the occasionally in the review title), but I feel they offer Living Social type deals a couple times a year, which definitely makes it worthwhile.

The restaurant interior looks eerily similar to the Wild Orchid Café in Annapolis. They HAD to have the same designer, builder, owner, or something! Come to think of it, both restaurants are in the bottom floor of office buildings as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Odd location, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Like the other reviewers said, it *is* in an office building, so it can be a little hard to spot. Food was very good, service coridal and attentive. A little pricey, but worth it for a nice business-casual style meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Satisfying For A Rare Date Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The restaurant provides a very satisfying experience for the rare chance at a date night. If you have a coupon, groupon or other promotion, it is very reasonably priced. We were at about $100 for a (large) shared appetizer, cocktails, entrees, bottle of wine and a shared dessert, before tax and tip. For the quality of the food and the experience, that's a very, very good deal.

The portions are both large and very high quality. In addition to excellent calamari, the appetizer salad that comes with the entrees is very large and quite well done. The wedge is a classic but if you want to go the healthy route, you will not be disappointed by the house salad. Both red meat and seafood feature, and it was all excellent. Great variety of sides, I really loved the sweet potatoes and apples. Honestly I don't remember what my wife ordered, I was too engrossed in mine.

The cheesecake was an excellent end. Somewhere between super dense New York style and too light, I think it strikes the right balance in weight and size.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It looks like an office building lobby, but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Greystone Grill in Columbia is located off the lobby of an office tower, one of many in the city. This is no lobby deli, though. The food creations are imaginative and delicious and there is a good selection of wines. Service was prompt, courteous, and helpful. The decor is somewhat odd and features lots of wood and stone. If the decor catches up with the food, wine, and service the Greystone Grill will be difficult to match.

Check the website for special deals; the Greystone Grill offers specials as well as reduced prices on wines (by the glass or by the bottle) on certain week nights.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greystone Grill - Ellicott City also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greystone Grill - Ellicott City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.