We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I see why this place stays busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Gastro Pub

Victoria Gastro Pub
8201 Snowden River Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
(410) 750-1880
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Victoria Gastro Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 108
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I see why this place stays busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family and I dined at Victoria for a weekday lunch. Service was excellent. Our waitress ensured that we, more specifically my 15 month old son, had everything we needed. Food was great. Beer selection is amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    110
    32
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Here for the second time and just gets better! Did the restaurant week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

So I love trying new beers and our server was great by letting me try samples and steering me in the right direction. My boyfriend and I went with the restaurant week for dinner and has great appetizers using local produce! Main dish was either swordfish or pork loin and we tried both which were cooked perfectly! Especially the pork-very tender! Lastly was dessert and apparently they have their own pastery chef...so decorative that I didn't want to touch it! Overall we really e hours our dinner and sat in the back of the restaurant which had warm lighting and rustic flare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

A friend took me here last week before a show at Merriweather Post.

Beer list was pretty good with a lot of beers I can't get in Virginia. Beer sampler is very worth the price since each sample is 5.5oz.

food menu left a lot to be desired. To me, it seemed pretty limited and presentation was too elaborate for what they offer.

They also use a different kind of crouton on salads. Seems like it could be pretzel chips. Very different and very likeable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I really wanted to stop by this place during my work trip to Ellicott City. We stopped by here after dinner for some drinks. We walked in to the bar area and I caught a glimpse of the food other people were eating. It looked like pub food, really greasy and unhealthy. I was glad that night not to have eaten there because that wasn't really what I was in the mood for.

We sat at the bar and ordered two Lagunitas Maximus IPA. Our bill was $20!!!! Maybe it's because Philly is less expensive but that is ridiculous! I will probably find a less expensive bar to purchase my beverages at if I'm ever back in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Per Tripadvisor reviews, we stopped in at Victoria Gastro Pub while in Columbia recently.

The beer and wine list is quite extensive, and a little intimidating. Not bad.

We ordered the cheese plate starter... 3 cheeses which were a sweet goat cheese, cheddar, and bleu cheese with red grapes, grain mustard, house made pickles (taste like bread and butter pickles), and an awesome grilled baguette. This plate was actually the highlight of our meal. Seriously good.

My boyfriend ordered the mushroom and Swiss wagyu burger with smoked paprika fries. The burger came with lettuce, tomato, aioli, carmelized onions, and house pickles. He added the truffle cheese for $2 more. What a waste. First... for a "mushroom and cheese" burger, this thing barely had any of either. The fries were okay, but it was too much. I ordered the black angus burger with smoked paprika fries. It also came with lettuce, tomato, aioli, and house pickles. I couldn't even eat half. The aioli was way to much. Very overpowering spices. We have up on trying to eat anything.

Give it a try if you're a beer or wine drinker. Take for chances with the food. It wasn't for us, but it might have better food to offer aside from the burgers. They have poutine made up with duck fat fries that I wish we'd tried instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to Victoria Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Gastro Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.