We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ladies who lunch" had a feast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Bridge Wine Company

Iron Bridge Wine Company
10435 State Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044
410-997-3456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Iron Bridge Wine Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 203 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Ladies who lunch" had a feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Really had a spectacular lunch today at Iron Bridge, Soft shell crabs were terrific, french fried made me go off my diet
My dining companion had scallops that were perfectly cooked
We split chicken liver mousse - I loved it and I don't always even eat liver spread.

Service was attentive. All in all, one of my best vista there ever

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    55
    20
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hip place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited Columbia, Maryland this past weekend. Got stuck in miserable traffic on I95 coming up from the south so we did not get to our hotel until 8:30 pm on Saturday night. We managed to get 9:30 pm dinner reservations and were hungry and tired. We were very pleasantly surprised with the experience. The place is very small. It was fun looking at all of the wine bottles that line the walls of the restaurant. Our party of four had the trout, veal chop (x2) and the beef shoulder. We had two excellent bottles of wine. Service and food were excellent as well. It is definitely worth a return visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We do not understand their idea of service. It seems that no matter when we call for a reservation they are booked. Yet when we walk in there are plenty of tables available. We call a day or two in advance and it's always the same story.
Much of the food is good, yet when something is left on the plate they never ask about it, they just stare at it. Yes, the potatoes are over-seasoned and undercooked. They will not ask how dinner was if there is a chance they will not like the answer. We are done with them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Service, food and ambience perfectly well combined for an outstanding dinner. Very recommendable. Ask for the puddin for a dessert!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In a word….amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

To celebrate our anniversary, we decided to try a place we’d never been before. After looking at a variety of options, we picked Iron Bridge and we are really glad. You know the old saying, “Never judge a book by its cover.” Iron Bridge is not fancy looking from the outside, but the inside is nice.

From beginning to end the experience was delightful. Servers were helpful and courteous. Our waiter, Nick, was outstanding. His suggestions were spot-on and he knew about the meal preparation as well as wine pairings.

Nick got us started with the grilled octopus and a shrimp gazpacho. While the gazpacho was very good, I’d say the octopus was exceptional – very tasty and succulent. (Good suggestion, Nick!)

Our entrees were red snapper and duck breast. Nick suggested two wines. After I made my selection he brought a small sample of a pinot noir to try with the duck – whew! Really good.
When we eat, meals are shared to find out who has the best. Now, duck is hard to get right, but they did it. Good flavor, not overly gamey and cooked just right. The snapper was incredible! It was close, but the snapper won that round.

For dessert we had the key lime and a crème brulee. I like key lime and this was good. It comes in a small mason jar with a “crust” cookie. The crème brulee, however, was absolutely outstanding! (Again, thanks Nick!)

During the meal, the servers kept the table clear at appropriate times. The owner came around to check on patrons and we took a moment to talk with him as we prepared to leave – he’s a really nice guy who genuinely wants people to leave happy.

Our experience at Iron Bridge made a big impression on us and we’ll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Bridge Wine Company also viewed

 

Been to Iron Bridge Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Bridge Wine Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.