We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Bridge Wine Company

Iron Bridge Wine Company
10435 State Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044
410-997-3456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Iron Bridge Wine Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 204 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hip place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited Columbia, Maryland this past weekend. Got stuck in miserable traffic on I95 coming up from the south so we did not get to our hotel until 8:30 pm on Saturday night. We managed to get 9:30 pm dinner reservations and were hungry and tired. We were very pleasantly surprised with the experience. The place is very small. It was fun looking at all of the wine bottles that line the walls of the restaurant. Our party of four had the trout, veal chop (x2) and the beef shoulder. We had two excellent bottles of wine. Service and food were excellent as well. It is definitely worth a return visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    57
    20
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We do not understand their idea of service. It seems that no matter when we call for a reservation they are booked. Yet when we walk in there are plenty of tables available. We call a day or two in advance and it's always the same story.
Much of the food is good, yet when something is left on the plate they never ask about it, they just stare at it. Yes, the potatoes are over-seasoned and undercooked. They will not ask how dinner was if there is a chance they will not like the answer. We are done with them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Service, food and ambience perfectly well combined for an outstanding dinner. Very recommendable. Ask for the puddin for a dessert!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In a word….amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

To celebrate our anniversary, we decided to try a place we’d never been before. After looking at a variety of options, we picked Iron Bridge and we are really glad. You know the old saying, “Never judge a book by its cover.” Iron Bridge is not fancy looking from the outside, but the inside is nice.

From beginning to end the experience was delightful. Servers were helpful and courteous. Our waiter, Nick, was outstanding. His suggestions were spot-on and he knew about the meal preparation as well as wine pairings.

Nick got us started with the grilled octopus and a shrimp gazpacho. While the gazpacho was very good, I’d say the octopus was exceptional – very tasty and succulent. (Good suggestion, Nick!)

Our entrees were red snapper and duck breast. Nick suggested two wines. After I made my selection he brought a small sample of a pinot noir to try with the duck – whew! Really good.
When we eat, meals are shared to find out who has the best. Now, duck is hard to get right, but they did it. Good flavor, not overly gamey and cooked just right. The snapper was incredible! It was close, but the snapper won that round.

For dessert we had the key lime and a crème brulee. I like key lime and this was good. It comes in a small mason jar with a “crust” cookie. The crème brulee, however, was absolutely outstanding! (Again, thanks Nick!)

During the meal, the servers kept the table clear at appropriate times. The owner came around to check on patrons and we took a moment to talk with him as we prepared to leave – he’s a really nice guy who genuinely wants people to leave happy.

Our experience at Iron Bridge made a big impression on us and we’ll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food--just not Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Small portions and long waits make what might have been a 4 rating, just a 3 + rating. If you have a seat by the fireplace, it might be a 4. A seat by the door might be a 2+ on a cold day. There are other places that are easier to get in and out of the parking lot that will not be so hit and miss.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Bridge Wine Company also viewed

 

Been to Iron Bridge Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Bridge Wine Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.