We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one wants to sit by the door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Bridge Wine Company

Iron Bridge Wine Company
10435 State Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044
410-997-3456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Iron Bridge Wine Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No one wants to sit by the door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Four of us decided to have an early dinner on a recent Sunday (late afternoon). I called and reserved a spot for us at the Iron Bridge. We have had great food here previously and this visit did not disappoint any of us. The space is compact and (particularly in the winter) no one wants to sit near the front door since it can be a bit chilly. To the owner's credit they have made improvements over time including adding an enclosed entrance to minimize the draft. Personally I'd prefer the table by the door to many others that are set in front of low couches or a combination of couches and chairs.

Among our dishes were ciopino and diver scallops as well as a filet mignon and papardelle pasta. The pork cheeks gnocchi starter was also very good.

Sorry I don't have any photos but we look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    36
    17
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cramped But Worth It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This small restaurant is noisy, cramped -- crowded on most weekend nights and, increasingly, during the week as well. Dinner portions are relatively small. However, the food quality, wine assortment and knowledgeable wait staff make the lively restaurant worth visiting. The owners pride themselves on food preparation and wine offerings. The steaks are prepared to specification and seafood the dishes are uniformly excellent. It is slightly dangerous to pull into the restaurant's parking lot around rush hour if you are headed in the direction of Clarksville. The traffic volume is getting higher by the year and many cars whiz by well beyond the posted speed limit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“eclectic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you want to meet some middle aged singles, this is the spot.

The wine list s OK, the food is always interesting, but you simply do not get much to eat. The plates are pretty, if that excites you.

I like my wife, so I don't go much, and when I go , I make sure I take her

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington,dc
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Just a totally perfect evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The only faults you could find with Iron Bridge would be the small tables and the noise level. Overlooking that, it has some of the best food and the most exquisite service in the area. We started with the roasted Chincoteague oysters, pate, and buratta, then moved on to the scallops, cioppino, and the sous-vide chicken. Everything was pefectly cooked and splendidly seasoned. No salt needed, but not over-salted, just perfect. Our waiter, Greg, could not have been more informative or accommodating. The wine list is well thought out and the flights are the perfect way to sample more than one wine. Go, and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Amazing dinner experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

While traveling in Columbia, Md. on business, I discovered this fabulous restaurant! Absolutely the best, from the service at the bar and excellent wait staff to the warm and friendly atmosphere. The overall experience of dining here was superb! Excellent, well rounded wine list, great variety of seafood and steak, (I got a stri steak special with gorgonzola butter on top), primo salad and sides as well. Dessert (carrot cake) was to die for! I highly recommend this gem of a restaurant when in Columbia!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Bridge Wine Company also viewed

 

Been to Iron Bridge Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Bridge Wine Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.