We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Popular Space; need to take reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheesecake Factory

The Cheesecake Factory
10300 Little Patuxent Pkwy, Ste 3070, Columbia, MD 21044-3851
410-997-9311
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 216 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
ATL, GA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Popular Space; need to take reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I had frequented this restaurant a few years ago, so we decided to take our mother out for her birthday on a Saturday night at this restaurant. My husband called earlier in the day to inquire about making a reservation but was informed that reservations are not accepted. Parking -- is CRAZY, this location is in a very congested shopping plaza/area and located next to a movie theatre. After finding a parking spot, our group of 10 made it inside the restaurant at approximately 6:30pm. We gave the hostess our name and the number in our group; she jotted us down and then asked us to stand aside with the many other folks waiting. The smells and sights of the place were wonderful but unfortunately we never got a chance to experience the Cheesecake Factory this time. After waiting five minutes, the young lady informed us that the waiting time would be approximately 3 1/2 hours....so we decided to leave. Next time we'll be sure to try on a day/hour that is not as congested.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    28
    28
    20
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“excellent happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

i go here almost every friday if i can swing it. there are great $5 wine and food specials that you just can't beat. service is fantastic and the restaurant is always clean. food is above average...not spectacular but for happy hour prices you can't beat it. and of course the cheesecake is wonderful. i always look forward to coming here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
“HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My son and I had dinner here, we eat at Cheesecakes often. We had a horrible experience with the guests we were sat next to, it was a small crowded row of tables. Could here everything they were speaking about(was completly inappropriate)! We asked for a manager, they never came to the table. Wrote a letter to corporate, was promised a gift card, never recieved it. They are all about packing you in and making the company a profit, not at all about guest service. If you want a great option that is close, go to Clydes....they treat their guests well!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WIsh it had been a bit better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I always seem to have a different experience at each new Cheesecake Factory spot I try. We went to the one in Columbia next to the Mall on a sunday early evening, with 5 adults and 3 kids. Despite having a packed waiting area, they sat us right away...which was odd, but I wasn't gonna question it, cause I have waited a long time in the past. After being sat right away, the waiting started...wait for the waiter to take our drink order, waited a while for him to deliver drinks, in two shifts because the drinks from the bar took even longer, then waited a again to order food. The appetizers came out pretty quickly but then what seemed like forever for our dinner. which is not great when you've got small kids. Ordering dessert was another mistake...it tasted great, but again...took forever, for a MILKSHAKE! I am beginning to think that any bar or specialty beverage was a mistake. Then...the last straw...we waited forever to get and finally pay our check. The food is fine, I mean the menu is HUGE so everyone will find something. The food was hot and prepared ok, not outstanding, but fine. They did some stuff well, but making us wait, and stalling on the getting paid part...just ground that business to a halt. Isn't the idea to turn those tables over, pronto? Take the money and move on? It took way too long. they use food runners so it's not like it was stalled on the window, it hit the table hot. It had to be a delay in the kitchen. Brava to the hostess and her staff, but boo to the house manager and kitchen manager. Food was way too slow, and hire some more bartenders to handle the order load.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place gets very busy and often has long waits. Our server was excellent. Most of our food was very good however, I was a bit disappointed that the onion rings were cold. And oh the cheesecake...You must take some home even if you don't have room for dessert

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheesecake Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Cheesecake Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheesecake Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.