We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrilled to have Petit Louis in Columbia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Louis Bistro

Petit Louis Bistro
Wincopin Circle, Columbia, MD
410-964-9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Maryland
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Thrilled to have Petit Louis in Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We've travelled many times to the original location in Roland Park & it's marvelous to have this fine bistro nearby. Visited twice ( lunch & dinner) & enjoyed professional servers, quality choices, and a lovely ambience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“New restaurant, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Despite reservations, we were 30 min late being seated. The bartender was entertaining enough, and provided some excellent cocktails as we waited. We were already familiar with the first Petit Louis Bistro in Baltimore, and found this restaurant had a very similar menu - a French-bistro style of dining with a French classics, such as cassoulet or coq au vin.

We're local to this restaurant. I'm looking forward to nice weather, and a table for two by the lakeside.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had dinner at Petite Louis and it was a disappointment. We arrived on time for our reservation but had to wait about 20 minutes or so. The mussel appetizer was just OK. The special scalloped potatoes were a joke - a paltry serving of thinly sliced greasy potatoes (maybe a quarter of a potato altogether) - were not special. The fish was so so. But the worst was the service. Our server forgot about us. Had to ask for utensils. Drink sat empty - nobody asked if I wanted another. Had to track down the server to get the check after a long wait. If you think this will be anything like a good french bistro unfortunately you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant in Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We've been to dinner (February) - excellent food - and then again for Sunday brunch (March). The food at dinner was excellent! It's definitely upscale bistro! My husband had the duck confit and declared it fantastic. He also had the pate maison, which was wonderful, and I ordered it for brunch when we returned. Their salads are also excellent. The mussels were also excellent. Our daughter ordered the steak frites for brunch and finished it - which she never does - and declared it excellent. Two people ordered the omelette and declared it very good. Another daughter had a Croque Monsieur - and loved it. For dessert, I had the sorbet at dinner, and wanted petit fours at brunch but they were out. Three of us ordered expressos and we could not drink them - it was very bitter and full of grounds, and we all like our coffee strong, including my French husband. We're pleased that we now have another great restaurant in the area. They definitely have the menu down, and it looks like they are working hard on the wait staff training still. We've had excellent service, and so-so service, so I'd say it is still a bit inconsistent - but I'm sure they will work the kinks out soon. We loved the wine selection and found it to be sufficiently extensive with a nice price range for all occasions. The atmosphere is elegant casual, and very warm and welcoming! The prices were reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Petite Louis is a surprise. Elegant dining is now in Columbia, Maryland. The staff was attentive and knowledgeable. My wife and I shared the green salad and it was very good with a nice vinaigrette. I chose the Trout Almondine and my wife chose the salmon. The trout was a very nice piece of fish, and since we came late for lunch I was surprised to get such a nice filet. It was classic French Trout Almondine with fresh ingredients, as we all expect these days. My wife loved the salmon and made quick work of it. She said that the sauce was wonderful. For desert my wife chose the creme Brulee, which is British but still a very nice desert. It was much bigger than most, and truly wonderful. I wanted the Pain au Chocolat, but those seem to go early in any French restaurant, so I settled for a black tea, and my wife the cafe au lait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Louis Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Petit Louis Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Louis Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.