We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, romantic, a classic any season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Contrivance Restaurant

King's Contrivance Restaurant
10150 Shaker Dr, Columbia, MD 21046-1304
301-596-3455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 220 restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American, European, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming, romantic, a classic any season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The ambiance, the service, the food, always a wonderful experience.
In the summer, the sun porch and the grounds make a pretty setting. In the winter, it's a cozy romantic place. We've had many meals here, taken visitors here, had meetings here, and even a wedding!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    54
    20
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Early Bird Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The restaurant is a bit pricy but if you go to the Early Bird (anything before 6:00) you can get some great deals. We like to go to this restaurant for special occasions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have enjoyed King's Contrivance for many years. So much so we hosted our son's rehearsal dinner there 6 years ago and we're still getting compliments. Excellent setting, service and dining experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and setting, didn't disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been to King's Contrivance periodically for over 30 years, but hadn't been in two years. The whole experience was lovely. From the maitre d' welcoming us by name, looking so "right" in his sports jacket with puffed handkerchief, to the relaxed but efficient service, it was stylish and yet not over-the-top. The food was wonderful, especially the baked brie appetizer and veal oscar. Both the halibut and salmon were very tasty as well. The English Trifle dessert was a light and wonderful as we remembered from year's past. As a special treat, bottles of wine were half price on Friday night!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great service. Food has returned to its former excellence. Nicely done all around. We enjoyed our mid-week dinner.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Contrivance Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Contrivance Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.